CAI - My version

Andrewkb

Can tell us which shop, which level, what brand/model and price ?

A pic will be appreciated [;)]

Check out my new "CAI" [sly] My Stream can cross river liao [thumbsup]

Nope. I mean the headlight. We dun do it for long run, just a short sprint out in the afternoon. Remove headlight, extend piping out of headlight area until the open pod filter is outside the bonnet. [laugh]

You might as well install a proper CAI except mount it the other way around - instead of going down point up, and cut a hole in the bonnet to fit [laugh][laugh] sort of like those really heavy duty 4x4 trucks with snorkels for air intakes so that it can run across rivers.

post-6-1059574676_thumb.jpg

Edited by Andrewkb

BTW, what kind of exhaust manifold the City VTEC has? Cast iron or equal length tubes?

Edited by Mikeckchong

Hi Andrew,

I have been plagued by high fuel comsumption all this while with my Sunny 1.5A (3 year old) ride.

The CAI system is stock. Would you also recommend the same DIY mod for my car as well? Btw, couple of questions.

1. You got the tube and fasterner from SpeedWorks Auto Sport or SpeedWorks Pte Ltd?

2. Address/contact number?

3. Do they do installation as well? How much?

I read that for the Sunny, I will need at least 50cm of the tube. That works out to be approx. $16.40.

Go to the Speedworks at Genting Lane, Mr Loo.

Check Yellowpages.

Installation DIY lah ... suggest you go Friday nite meetup with the MCF gang and I believe they can help you :-)

I would suggest you buy 2ft to 3ft and work from there ...

No. TEC as in a metal plate with 2 wires sticking out. Upon sending current to it, 1 side of the plate becomes extremely cold and other side extremely hot. By removing the heat from the hot side, the cold side gets colder. Just by using air cooling on the hot side, can bring the cold side down to 5 degrees. Bleh! I find the pics then i post for u to see. [:p]

Gymnut..

Do not jump into any crazy idea just because you have your poor consumption probably. Get your Throttle body checked... it could be dirty.

Why don't you use KNN air-filter, good spark plugs like Iridium (can get from VTIM) and get your throttle body checked ??

Doing CAI will not solve the problem.. DO you know that the tube running in your Sunny will be too long and the air-suck in is weak ??? THose, you will not have enuff air at idle and your idle RPM will be off reading...inaddition, your entire car will vibrate

Moreover, getting the tube will not solve the problem for Sunny, even if you want to fix it.. you need adapators.. and for your sunny intake box, the airfilter is horizontal with the throttle point up works.. you will have a "FLAT SPOT" if your air in-ward pressure is too weak.

All Jap cars have this problem (which AndrewKB and i have a discussion before).. Becuase it is too RICH in fuel, the PCV and CAM release Valve released back to your throttle and air-intake will dirty (clock) up your Airintak-passage. WHat I did was pipe out the PCV and CAM release valve to a external device (oil-catch tank) thus do not let dirty fume/oil reburn back in the Throttle chamber. THus, your fuel is dirty and will not combust properly.

You can go to Speedworks and get the tube but I tell you this, you will have problem fixing cos you need the adapters to convert from 3" to 2.45". Speedwork is a retailer and not a mechanic shop, you need to fix it yourself.

It is up to you to trust me or not... if you like can you reply the following question.

1. What oil and grade you use

2. What is the interval of oil change

3. You pulley belt, is it over tighten ?

4. Did you check the state and health of your throttle body.

5. Are you using high flow air-filter ?

6. What is your currently idling RPM ?

Lastly and most unlikely (if you car is not over 100,000km), check your Air-Flow Sensor.. is it dirty or clogged with grims.. clean it. (Caution: HIghly expensive and sensitive.. get a professional to clean for you unless you wannt take risk like I do..)

my 2 cents.. ignore if you wish

Edited by Cool

IF you do the "upwards" air-box, you need to do a "upwards" exhaust.

Remember I mentioned to you that i have a quick release breather from air-intake to allow hot air in get into the tube if I encounter flood ??? THIS IS BETTER MAN !!!

then change shifts on one of the fridays lah

Actually Friday night is my off night but I think I need to spend more time with my kids..... [:p]

Ai yah.....during tomolo's meetup, just go round and do a boot inspection lor......

Would you believe that there is a difference when I accelerate with and without my woofer box with 2 x 10" Kickers? [sweatdrop]