Ken1898 1st Gear October 23, 2013 Share October 23, 2013 http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/writeup.php?AID=193 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged October 23, 2013 Share October 23, 2013 Ya thats the reason he advise me not to get it. but bonnet I thought got those sound proof material usually? those are conductor of electricity ar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 23, 2013 Share October 23, 2013 but bonnet I thought got those sound proof material usually? those are conductor of electricity ar? If the battery keep rubbing on the soundproof material, it wil wear away quickly n then the + n - terminals touch the metal bonnet, ka boom. Short circuit n u wil need a new battey n maybe several other components. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 If the battery keep rubbing on the soundproof material, it wil wear away quickly n then the + n - terminals touch the metal bonnet, ka boom. Short circuit n u wil need a new battey n maybe several other components. battery rubbing the sound proof will degrade ar? how come? i'm driving cruze and using the green amaron.. did touch the sound proof on my bonnet a bit but not much.. wanted to get the shorter amaron but everywhere cannot find.. went to amaron distributor he quote me $200.. the green one costs me $130.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 i'm driving cruze and using the green amaron.. did touch the sound proof on my bonnet a bit but not much.. wanted to get the shorter amaron but everywhere cannot find.. went to amaron distributor he quote me $200.. the green one costs me $130.. Cruze should not use the green Amaron. There is no way to secure the battery down. You can only use Amaron Pro (black) DIN55 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 Cruze should not use the green Amaron. There is no way to secure the battery down. You can only use Amaron Pro (black) DIN55 Yup. The standard bracket does not allow the green amaron to be secured. So the WS I went improvised with those metal strips to secure the battery in place. Tested and it is really secure.. the Amaron Pro (Black) DIN55 I cannot find any where leh.. do you have any recommendation on where can I find it? I have a tough time to even find a WS that carries Amaron battery.. so I decided to just settle with one.. Previously uses the AC Delco battery.. last less than a year weak liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 Yup. The standard bracket does not allow the green amaron to be secured. So the WS I went improvised with those metal strips to secure the battery in place. Tested and it is really secure.. the Amaron Pro (Black) DIN55 I cannot find any where leh.. do you have any recommendation on where can I find it? I have a tough time to even find a WS that carries Amaron battery.. so I decided to just settle with one.. Previously uses the AC Delco battery.. last less than a year weak liao... should have some 62ah that can fit 55din i think global/amaron/bosch have Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 should have some 62ah that can fit 55din i think global/amaron/bosch have but the height is too tall and will hit a bit on the sound proof on the bonnet. 55 din is lower.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patrickyan Clutched October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 i changed mine at altc at $150 for amaron 60amp. fren changed to bolident at rapid auto at $130. Any frens heard of this brand bolident? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 Yup. The standard bracket does not allow the green amaron to be secured. So the WS I went improvised with those metal strips to secure the battery in place. Tested and it is really secure.. the Amaron Pro (Black) DIN55 I cannot find any where leh.. do you have any recommendation on where can I find it? I have a tough time to even find a WS that carries Amaron battery.. so I decided to just settle with one.. Previously uses the AC Delco battery.. last less than a year weak liao... PM you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 i changed mine at altc at $150 for amaron 60amp. fren changed to bolident at rapid auto at $130. Any frens heard of this brand bolident? Boliden and Trane are made in Thailand, possibly same factory. In my experience, they have high CCA but tends to end up with a shorted cell. If your fren find his battery at 10.x V, that's a shorted cell. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 actually which country makes the best battery? Boliden and Trane are made in Thailand, possibly same factory. In my experience, they have high CCA but tends to end up with a shorted cell. If your fren find his battery at 10.x V, that's a shorted cell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patrickyan Clutched October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 Boliden and Trane are made in Thailand, possibly same factory. In my experience, they have high CCA but tends to end up with a shorted cell. If your fren find his battery at 10.x V, that's a shorted cell. Thanks man bro. if buy a shorted cell means suey liao i guess Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive 1st Gear October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 ANyone interested in a 3+months old Amaron Pro Din 74? BAttery status is like new as checked by the battery shop on removal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 actually which country makes the best battery? If you can get them, batteries made in Japan and/or Germany are generally good quality. Not just looking at the brand, you must look at the country of manufacture. A Bosch or Varta you see here, doesn't always mean it's made in Germany. A "real" Varta that comes from Germany found oe in a Mercedes is the real deal, not the blue or black label you see here. However, quality usually comes with high price. Not everyone can digest that. Locally, Amaron, for some reasons, has good quality. Thanks man bro. if buy a shorted cell means suey liao i guess You won't buy a battery with shorted cell, bcuz it won't work. What I mean is that after some time of usage, certain brand of batteries tends to end up with a shorted cell, and then you need to replace it. If it doesn't end up with a shorted cell, it's usually badly sulphated, has high impedance, and does not provide enough current to turn over the engine, requiring you to replace the battery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kieran1975 1st Gear October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 ANyone interested in a 3+months old Amaron Pro Din 74? BAttery status is like new as checked by the battery shop on removal. How much do you want to sell? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 battery rubbing the sound proof will degrade ar? how come? i'm driving cruze and using the green amaron.. did touch the sound proof on my bonnet a bit but not much.. wanted to get the shorter amaron but everywhere cannot find.. went to amaron distributor he quote me $200.. the green one costs me $130.. The rubbing wil slowly wear out the soundproof material then if metal body touch the + terminal it wil short. What was the Original brand battery that came with yr Cruze? I went Causeway Point tdy n saw the Cruze n Malibu on display there. Spoke to the sales guy there who dun seem to know very much. I just took a couple of brochures for later reading. Previously uses the AC Delco battery.. last less than a year weak liao... Ah I tot as much. GM cars all use AC delco. Oh so the AC Delco battery no good ah? I tot the CCA very high. >600 amh. should have some 62ah that can fit 55din i think global/amaron/bosch have Yes I using Global. Made in Korea. Recommended by Vincent of Eng Wah. Its a good battery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged October 24, 2013 Share October 24, 2013 The rubbing wil slowly wear out the soundproof material then if metal body touch the + terminal it wil short. What was the Original brand battery that came with yr Cruze? I went Causeway Point tdy n saw the Cruze n Malibu on display there. Spoke to the sales guy there who dun seem to know very much. I just took a couple of brochures for later reading. Ah I tot as much. GM cars all use AC delco. Oh so the AC Delco battery no good ah? I tot the CCA very high. >600 amh. Yes I using Global. Made in Korea. Recommended by Vincent of Eng Wah. Its a good battery. AC Delco I asked around all about 1 yr spoil liao.. that's why I wanted to try Amaron.. i think if you secure the battery tight enough won't be that much movement ba.. at least mine still ok!! heh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...