Best Korean Car

Cashiertan

The Best Korean Car that i test drive and feel is:

Chevrolet aka Daewoo!!! [:)]

1)Superb Build Quality. Harder steel structure than Most Jap car and korean car

Heard frm SE the build quality is following audi (German) standard. 40% high strength steel for the body thus the heavy body. Even the door close sound like a conti car. LOLZ. I am very sure if a jap car is to knock into a chevvy, it is going to be quite serious repair.

2)Most Luxury Budget Car. Sit in it and i was amazed by the luxurious interior. much better than same priced matrix and almost same as Super Saloon Luxury Edition. But it is cheaper than a super saloon and altis!!!

3)Silent Engine. Hardly can hear or feel the engine.

4)Engine performance is better than Mazda3 and matrix. around the same as sunny and altis but below civic

5)FC - not much data as not much Chevvy ard. but last heard is ard 11-12km/l for a 1.22ton car!!! crappy hyundai matrix can only get max 10km/l

6)Spare parts price - not as Expensive as Conti's but slighty more expensive than jap's

7)Warranty- as friendly as hyundai's. warranty void only on wat u mod.

8)Handling - superb but not as good as focus or mazda3 but cfm abv the civic, altis, sunny, matrix. good suspension

9)Brakes - all disc brakes. brakes is average but can ask SE to adjust to your pref.

10)Spacious - abt the same as altis.

11)bootspace - can fit 2-3 golf bag. Err what boot space does a matrix have?

12)Design/ looks - looks better than any hyundai and city. thou beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Car design by the italian designer.

13)features - ABS with EBD , mini fridge in the glove compartment!

14)Wheels and rims - Stock is 15" and try to ask for sports rim throw in FOC!

Conclusion: A Very Conti Car which is make in Thailand (optra) and korea (other model) but was a Daewoo with Audi Build Quality and GM motor. A Rojak Car but a damn value for money car to get.

Rating 8/10!!!

Con: Heard that the gear got strange noise. but i didnt hear any when i test drove one.

FC not so good as it is a heavy car. Spare parts more expensive than jap cars but should have no problem as the car is thai/korea made. low omv

Edited by Cashiertan

oh yes the loan part.

Downpayment needed : $600-1k+

$5-8k discount off retail price if you use their in-house finace (2.2%-2.45%)

can try to ask for lots of freebies as SE are friendly.

Help my Fren bargain for almost the same thing for a premium version at basic version priced.

[reply]oh yes the loan part.

Downpayment needed : $600-1k+

$5-8k discount off retail price if you use their in-house finace (2.2%-2.45%)

can try to ask for lots of freebies as SE are friendly.

Help my Fren bargain for almost the same thing for a premium version at basic version priced. [reply]

In that case, how much is an Optra 1.6L of premium option?

Regards,

I also don't see that Chevy is a Korean car so not count as the best Korean car! Engine maybe quiet but definitely not the transmission as there is sound coming from there during the pickup!

I'm sorry to burst your bubble but Chevy is more or less now a "Pan Pacific" brand.

The Aveo, Optra and Vivant's heritage is really chapalang. Not that I'm complaining. GM is famous for slapping on badges to sell their cars. Their cars are very chapalang as much as the US is made up of many peoples and cultures. Vauxhall/Opel is GM Europe. Vauxhall in UK, Opel in the rest of Europe! This thing is not new and even Toyota is doing it as well. In Japan, Altis is sold as Daihatsu. If Altis is sold as Daihatsu here, I think nobody will buy even though it is a Toyota [shocked].

The Aveo is sold as Suzuki in some parts of the world [crazy]. Such is GM. Very chapalang in their approach to selling cars. The equivalent to GM is VW but VW has more focused approach to their cars and each company is very distinct though they share platforms.

So it is not 100% Korean, neither is it 100% American. It is pure GM! [laugh]

Explains why I got a manual. For a 1.4L car, better to choose manual. Auto transmissions for such small displacement engines are really slow.

Lets say compare with budget models. Don't say Korean lah!

In this arena are:

Hyundai Accent and Getz

Kia Rio

Toyota Vios

Chevrolet Aveo

The Accent and Getz is competing on price alone. As Mydotcom always complain, the cars are both stripped down by Komoco. No ABS, no airbags. Kinda disappointing but the price can't be beat.

The Rio is actually a very nice budget car. The new Rio HB is great and I would say is the better contender with the Aveo in terms of budget and features. But no airbags or ABS.

The Vios on the other hand is actually the most expensive of the lot. You are getting a Toyota. Gets a lot of rave reviews by users.

The Aveo has the most features for the budget. I don't know how they do it but the formula seems to be working. Maybe it is Starsauto or maybe it is Chevy. I don't know. If the rest of the distributors up the ante and put in the ABS and airbags, this segment will heat up like nobody's business.

Hello! Happy to hear that you're impressed with the Optra...no matter how "chapaleng" it is. But what's with the Matrix hate club though? I'm no fan of the Matrix too...but don't slagg it lah. I'm sure there's some good points about the car...if you REALLY LOOK & LOOK & LOOK & LOOK HARD ENOUGH, heh!

I'm one of the first few Optra owners in SG, so didn't have the experience of other drivers of this model to draw info from. In the end...i fell in love with the feel behind the wheel and the drive! My heart overruled my brain.

hahahaaaa......

genie's one body contour bely good. slim...i like.

your one 'NN' quite handful. i lagi like.

Genie's avatar girl from US. i think urs from Korea.

if only we can hv a girl with mixture of both countries.....

then can call her, Miss Chevnie.

hhheeeeeee......PIZ.

http://www.autoworld.com.my/forum/allposts...eview+for+Optra

read: Optra suspension is tuned by LOtus! really chapalang but i like it! LOLZ[;)]

Also chevrolet is really going to put heat on the other makers to put in more features to our advantage. Which is a good news. Go Chevrolet.

Anyway also just read that Optra:

1)"One example is its exterior length. At 4.5m it can be considered long for this class of mid size car. "

2)Its elegant, sporty design by the world-renowned Italian design studio Pininfarina, the comfort and safety features, new engine and value for money

other than the slightly higher FC average 10-11km/l and the low OMV, I find this car really value for money.

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

ya lor......sibeh 'General' hor......

now then i know brands like Chevrolet, Opel & Saab are all under General Motors.

Hi there,

1. So which is the bets Korean car now? It must be either Hyundai and Kia, right?

2. IMPO, Kia cars look better than Hyundaibut not sure about the interior.

Regards,