Ahliew Neutral Newbie March 19, 2005 Share March 19, 2005 (edited) my personal experience to share: had a little accident with a kerb at ~60km/h while driving to my parents place. i was feeling sleepy throughout the whole journey, while driving on right lane with no cars around. there was a slight bend, my mind switched off momentarily and the next thing i knew, BANG!. i was jolted wide awake, and when i reached parent's place, i inspected the right side of the car and the rims were badly scratched. luckily i was alone and i didnt bang against any other car or persons at the impact, my right ear was jarred and my right arm felt slightly numb. heh moral of the story: sleepy drivers should either stop driving for awhile and rest or stay away from the road. Edited March 19, 2005 by Ahliew ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route Clutched March 19, 2005 Share March 19, 2005 moral of the story: sleepy drivers should either stop driving for awhile and rest or stay away from the road. from my experience, sleepy drivers will be too sleepy to think of that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Potheader Clutched March 19, 2005 Share March 19, 2005 agree.. I have 'fallen asleep' at the wheel before, luckily straight road and long safety dist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 19, 2005 Share March 19, 2005 (edited) One experience I will never forget... When I was studying in Canada, I drove my Civic from London Ontario to a town near Toronto early morning...drive is about 2 hrs. The way there was ok but on the way back, I feel asleep!...Damn! I woke up to find myself driving towards the railings so I quickly countersteered but I guess I steered too much, the car lost control and went down into a ditch. The ditch is about 2m in depth. At that time, I was really fully awake and panicking. The engine was still running so I drove the car up the ditch and parked it at the side. Car body was moderately damaged but most of the damage was from the undercarriage. In the end, the car had to be towed back. After inspection by insurance company, it was writen off coz undercarriage was beyond repair. Only consolation was that insurance paid me back $10.5K but I only paid $10k for the car. In the end, bought an Accord instead for $6K. It's true, u always think u can tahan to your destination but sometimes juz cannot control and will close the eyes. Edited March 19, 2005 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Potheader Clutched March 19, 2005 Share March 19, 2005 If this happened in Singapore.. you would But luckily no injuries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeoman Neutral Newbie March 19, 2005 Share March 19, 2005 .......... bro........take care.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahliew Neutral Newbie March 19, 2005 Author Share March 19, 2005 thanks for the concern bro next time when got the money, maybe going yew lip to do a respray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverine Neutral Newbie March 19, 2005 Share March 19, 2005 Luckily you mentioned London in Ontario...otherwise we know you were sleeping if you'd said LONDON to TORONTO ahahah whahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AngelEye Neutral Newbie March 19, 2005 Share March 19, 2005 Glad u're okie... next time keep "listerine pocket pack" in ur car... then take a few when u're sleepy... the cool mint can help to keep u awake for a while. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 19, 2005 Share March 19, 2005 Hehehe...I know people will be mistaken if I juz said London since most people will assume London UK. Yep, was from London Ontario to Toronto Ontario. Hahaha...imagine driving from London UK to Toronto! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 19, 2005 Share March 19, 2005 Yah man, luckily there was a ditch...come to tink of it. Otherwise would have hit the centre divider if it was in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverine Neutral Newbie March 19, 2005 Share March 19, 2005 Yep...after you hit the divider your car will be divided either you'll be in one of the divided halves or you will also be divided..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic March 20, 2005 Share March 20, 2005 yes I agree to the fullest ........ bro, you are much luckier then me, I also dozed off, next thing I know, car hit something, spun and stopped in middle of road ......... I came out and discovered I had hit a tree ......... subsequently, my car was declared total loss could have been much serious ....... if my seat belts were not on ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 20, 2005 Share March 20, 2005 It's true, u always think u can tahan to your destination but sometimes juz cannot control and will close the eyes. 1. From what I've gathered it may not be wise to pull over at a deserted road if you feel sleepy as you might be inviting "troubles" in foreign land. What is the general repsonse time of towing company in Canada? 2. Written of still have reward money, really blessed. Why an Accord costs less than a Civic? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched March 20, 2005 Share March 20, 2005 bro... next time put some sweets and tidbits in ur car to munch lah. i always do tt and helps to keep awake for a good while. water is good oso. oh yes, chewing gums are good oso. p/s: shell petrol statns are selling ricola sweets @$2 each, buy 2 get 1 free. luckily u only got some scratches to ur rims. see whether use 3M SMR can help or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 20, 2005 Share March 20, 2005 Actually in Canada it's quite safe to take a rest on the side of the road but definitely not in the US. That time, they took abt 1 hr for the tow truck to reach my car. The Civic is a 1992 one whereas the Accord is a 1990 one so I gues that's why it's cheaper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie March 20, 2005 Share March 20, 2005 Dangerous dude. In future just put up at a friend's place or something or you can try something "Power Nap" You sleep for 10 mins provided you set the alarm to wake you up in 10. In doing so, that will last your 2 hrs of activity. Alternative method is wind down your windows and get fresh air. Pilots do that when they feel nausea. Small planes of coz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched March 20, 2005 Share March 20, 2005 better still, ask ur co-driver to accompany u to where u go loh. then wont while driving liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...