Super7 Turbocharged January 6, 2003 Share January 6, 2003 (edited) Was driving this toy (courtesy of a friend, very generous frined) over the weekend..... good fun, superb handling, engine noise too silent for my liking, funky dashboard (sons asked: why dun we get one instead of the Assthreat??), seat belt hard to grab (too far backward), interior storage space no enough (dun have full length console box between front seats), but retro design ...... rear cushions very big/long (at the expense of space for legs)....... expensive toy: - same $$$ i guess can get a basic REX ..... enjoy.... Edited January 6, 2003 by Super7 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 6, 2003 Share January 6, 2003 The clear tail lenses are cool! Your friend upgraded them? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 6, 2003 Share January 6, 2003 Nice car if only I have extra $$$$ for the car & also a landed property Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freemason Neutral Newbie January 6, 2003 Share January 6, 2003 how did the driving go? ? ? and yeah your right, besides the turbo, a rex still gives you an additional of 2 more doors Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched January 6, 2003 Share January 6, 2003 The Mini Cooper looks bigger than your car in the pictures leh. Space wise, is it really more than your car ? Very nice colour combi and cool clear tail lights ! Test drove this car about 3 months back and found the leg room a bit tight for me. Had to 'pump' the seats down and back before I could sit comfortably in it. IMO, its more of a fun 2nd car to have and go out in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie January 6, 2003 Share January 6, 2003 Lucky you brother. It is really a toy. By i still like the older generation of mini.... or what my nieces call, "Mr Bean's car". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 6, 2003 Share January 6, 2003 What a looonng driveway u have. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 6, 2003 Author Share January 6, 2003 (edited) The clear tail lenses are cool! Your friend upgraded them? juz had a chat with my friend:- yeah, he bought the clear lens from PM together with the car..... PM kept quiet..... then on the day of collecting his car, PM handed him a piece of paper:- the words say the clear lens are illegal.... but PM has already accepted his payment for the clear lens and installed to the car ....... my friend was really pissed:- why didn't PM tell him so when he placed the order for these lens....... (and he's quite a regular customer at PM) Edited January 6, 2003 by Super7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 6, 2003 Author Share January 6, 2003 (edited) the Cooper's seats are good (ie big) size.... the old celica seats are 'slim-10' standard, therefore, although the celcia is smaller in internal dimensions, it feels bigger inside..... very deceptive...... celica engine is noisy (shiok), Cooper's very quiet... unless i pressed beyond 4000 before up-shifting...... Edited January 6, 2003 by Super7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 6, 2003 Author Share January 6, 2003 Nice car if only I have extra $$$$ for the car & also a landed property the car depreciates in value, a house maybe can appreciate, but only maybe...... still, no need coe for a house.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 6, 2003 Author Share January 6, 2003 give me a old school Mini, any time ........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 6, 2003 Share January 6, 2003 "...no need coe for a house.... ." Just u wait till 'Land Strata Deed' title comes!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 6, 2003 Author Share January 6, 2003 a sign of lack of $$$$......... neighbours all spent $$$$ re-built or extended their houses into the drive way, me still original 50 years old house with 29 years on celica and 23 years old marriage (this last one very precious.......) .......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 6, 2003 Author Share January 6, 2003 Huhh????......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 6, 2003 Author Share January 6, 2003 actually, i discovered that after you close the door, the window glass automatically inches up about 6mm to make a tight-fit against the rubber gasket strip for air/water tightness...... really 'complicated' setup..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 6, 2003 Share January 6, 2003 Sure u lack $$$$???? Your loooonnng driveway alone probably cost more than my condo liao! haha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 6, 2003 Share January 6, 2003 "..Sure u lack $$$$????..." U can say that again...our fren no $$, world depression big time liao!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 6, 2003 Author Share January 6, 2003 (edited) the handling is very .... ride also quite comfy despite my wife in back seat noticed 'suspension abit hard'.... to me, it's very acceptable..... acceleration not that great (not sure if official 0-100 goes below 10sec or not, juz doesn't 'feel' that fast)....... attracted lots of 'stares' and half dropped jaws.... one small boy almost walked into the drain while head turned to stare at the car going pass.... if it's say about $100k+- it will be a good buy, but at the $120++ my friend paid for it, Edited January 6, 2003 by Super7 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...