Working in Jurong area. What to eat?

The_Bear

This thread is for people working in Jurong Industrial area including Gul, Pioneer and even Tuas.

Lunch is a constant headache of finding interesting food in the myriad of underwhelming canteens that dots the industrial estate.

Most canteens are packed and parking a nightmare during lunch time.

Jurong Point is the only shopping center within the area and it is too packed during lunch. Not to say rather expensive.

JEM and Jcube are too far because lunch is an 1-hr affair for most of us.

So bring in the recommendations for food in this miserable part of the country where finding a good lunch is one of the highlights of another boring work day.

can go to Boonlay Place got lots of food to eat

Taman Jurong also can and gek poh shopping centre

maybe Ayer Rajah hawker centre near my house :D

Edited by Thaiyotakamli

Boon Lay plenty of place to eat.

Boon Lay Hawker centre has nice food too, I almost everytime eat the Teochew fish soup when I used to work around there, but difficult to find parking.

Go Li Li Cheng industry area but food is only average.

Opp the City Harvest church also have few coffee shops with food quite nice.

Think near blk 491 is another hawker centre.

Some have mentioned Gek Poh, Teban garden

Another hawker centre near lakeside have 2 very popular bak kut teh.

Further towards the Jurong East, have one coffee shop with only one stall, very crowded famous for curry fish head if I remember correctly.

Near Corporation road have one Sheng Shiong, there also one coffee shop, but not many stall and food only average, can skip.

Drive pass NTU and into Bollywood, Ivy Singh's restaurant. Food not too bad but longer drive.

Bird park drive there have Ah Yat abalone.

Arena Country Club's Kopitiam - Bak Chor Mee or the Prawn Noodle (which is quite highly priced). Give the Yong Tau Foo a miss cos the old stallowner is no longer there and the ingredients are placed outside from the morning (like MORNING).

Gul Link Canteen (Chan Chye Canteen on Google Maps) - Chicken Rice, Ban Mian, Nasi Padang, Vegetarian and the Soup stall (though if you don't mind the way they prepare their food, it is more than edible when hunger strikes)

Gul Drive Canteen (Along Gul Drive) - Chicken Rice and Curry Chicken Noodle, Ah De's Noodle Shop (Lor Mee, Laksa, Fishball Noodle, Prawn Noodles), the 2 Cooked food stalls have their own supporters so worth a try, the Ban Mian stall.

These are the places I usually venture around.

Just a little update:

Ah De's Noodle Shop at the canteen along Gul Drive closed down today. Not sure where he is going.

There goes my breakfast place...

If I visit Tuas area, usually I eat at the canteen opp MTU, along Benoi Road.

My last time to Tuas area, my ang mo colleague brought me to the canteen along Tuas Ave 3.

Dont ask me abt food. I just eat what is available at the canteens. [:p]

I usually frequent these places

1) Kopitiam at the junction of Lok Yang Way and 3rd Lok Yang Rd - The duck rice, cap cai peng and prawn mee (soup one) not bad.

2) Boon Lay Place - No need to elaborate more. Quite a fair bit of decent food there. Parking can park at the MSCP opposite. Never had any problems with lots availability.

3) Taman Jurong Hawker centre - The teochew muay and the fish head assam laksa quite yummy.

4) Teban gardens - Currently going thru cleaning/renovations. The curry rice there is good.

1. Safra @ Jurong ? There's a Japanese theme food court there....

2. Hawker centre at Boon Lay Place ?

3. Order tin kat ?

Where's this Safra? sorry I sua-ku... [sweatdrop]

sometimes I eat at the foodcentre at Arena Country Club opposite Safti main gate, there also got burger king. the yong dao fu is good, a few other stalls also sell decent food

if you don't mind some walking exercise, there's free parking at the nearby discovering centre, a short 5 minutes walk away

Edited by Maseratigood

sometimes I eat at the foodcentre at Arena Country Club opposite Safti main gate, there also got burger king. the yong dao fu is good, a few other stalls also sell decent food

if you don't mind some walking exercise, there's free parking at the nearby discovering centre, a short 5 minutes walk away

The Yong Tau Fu still good meh?

The ah ma put the ingredients from morning until dunno when...

I prefer the previous stall owner, her Yong Tau Fu can last me the whole day!

By the way, have you tried the new fish soup stall beside the YTF (which was the old ban mian stall managed by the same ah ma at the YTF now but nobody really liked the ban mian...)

High time the Govt relax rulings on mobile food vans /trucks. Building more canteens in industrial estates take up space and basically there is no much business after the lunch hours.

I agree

So far the last time I saw mobile foodstalls was in the carpark outside Kallang Immigration Custome HQ, not sure if there are still there.

The Yong Tau Fu still good meh?

The ah ma put the ingredients from morning until dunno when...

I prefer the previous stall owner, her Yong Tau Fu can last me the whole day!

By the way, have you tried the new fish soup stall beside the YTF (which was the old ban mian stall managed by the same ah ma at the YTF now but nobody really liked the ban mian...)

is it the one run by an old age lady? I ate it last week with my frens but it was the deep fried version we orderd. I was surprised you mentioned in an earlier post that its not good but I guess different expectation/benchmark.

I have not tried the ban mian yet but it looks good, next week I will try it

Edited by Maseratigood

I agree

So far the last time I saw mobile foodstalls was in the carpark outside Kallang Immigration Custome HQ, not sure if there are still there.

Yes they are mobile but their mobility to do business from place to place is limited.Those well schooled guys who sit in their office and trying to formulate policies just have no sense of hawkering business operation and problems. Maybe it's beneficial for them to shadow some of those mobile foodstalls for few days, thereafter writing paper on mobile foodstall policies will be easy as ABC.

Yes, they should spend more time on the ground!!

Over-stringent controls and high fees etc can kill this otherwise useful food trades who serve the public.

Even given that hygiene is a main concern and proper cooking facilities have to be provided, but you are right that the space used for these facilities are used only before/during meal times but left idle at other time --- not a good use of space which is in short supply in Singapore. The same goes for eating areas which are empty / under-utilised outside meal time.

Using modern technologies, mobile 'kitchens' can be as hygienic as permanent ones. Mobile dinning "buses", maybe those which can be converted to normal buses fetching workers in the morning/evening, do not take up permament land but can be parked near factories/offices and serve workers nearer to where they work.

Using counter-style seating (common in high density cities eg Tokyo, New York etc) with the dinners seated / facing the windows in such a dinning bus (or even a double-deck bus), for the same foot print, we can pack more eaters compared with traditional permanent canteens.

Edited by Maseratigood

Yes, they should spend more time on the ground!!

Over-stringent controls and high fees etc can kill this otherwise useful food trades who serve the public.

Even given that hygiene is a main concern and proper cooking facilities have to be provided, but you are right that the space used for these facilities are used only before/during meal times but left idle at other time --- not a good use of space which is in short supply in Singapore. The same goes for eating areas which are empty / under-utilised outside meal time.

Using modern technologies, mobile 'kitchens' can be as hygienic as permanent ones. Mobile dinning "buses", maybe those which can be converted to normal buses fetching workers in the morning/evening, do not take up permament land but can be parked near factories/offices and serve workers nearer to where they work.

Using counter-style seating (common in high density cities eg Tokyo, New York etc) with the dinners seated / facing the windows in such a dinning bus (or even a double-deck bus), for the same foot print, we can pack more eaters compared with traditional permanent cante

Those officials are very well schooled but not very wise.

I agree

is it the one run by an old age lady? I ate it last week with my frens but it was the deep fried version we orderd. I was surprised you mentioned in an earlier post that its not good but I guess different expectation/benchmark.

I have not tried the ban mian yet but it looks good, next week I will try it

I think the previous owner made a better Yong Tau Fu lah...

I shall try it again next week!

Taman Jurong Hawker center

- 2nd floor have Tien Lai Roast meat stall. Don't bother if u reach there after 1130-1145. The queue starts at 1030. Probably too long queue or nothing left liao. One of the best roast meat stalls in SG.

- 3rd floor the teochew porridge or rice stall is not bad

- there's a long queue for Lor mee at the same level. Never eat before.

Taman Jurong food court (Not koufu) - the malay stall food. Not nasi padang but their mee soto, mee rebus, lontong not bad. Long queue as well.

I think the previous owner made a better Yong Tau Fu lah...

I shall try it again next week!

yes, yes, the ex owner made better ones i remember

this current one must eat before 2pm and deep fried version prefered

how often you eat there? i go there once a fortnight

Those officials are very well schooled but not very wise.

they never learn, never walk the grounds.... unless reporters are around?

yes, yes, the ex owner made better ones i remember

this current one must eat before 2pm and deep fried version prefered

how often you eat there? i go there once a fortnight

they never learn, never walk the grounds.... unless reporters are around?

I used to go every morning. But recently, been going a lot to the one at Gul Drive.

The other day I ate the bak chor mee at Arena and there was an earthworm wriggling on the vegetables. [laugh]

This showed they used good organic vegetables!

I used to go every morning. But recently, been going a lot to the one at Gul Drive.

The other day I ate the bak chor mee at Arena and there was an earthworm wriggling on the vegetables. [laugh]

This showed they used good organic vegetables!

[thumbsup] [thumbsup]

no insectcide used!! or the worm jumped from the laksa soup into the veg? traditionists say such worms make laksa more tasty!!

SAFRA Jurong is very near to Boon Lay MRT station.

You are member of Arena Country Club? If we non-member go in can meh?

SAFRA Jurong is very near to Boon Lay MRT station.

You are member of Arena Country Club? If we non-member go in can meh?

i no member of Arena Club, but the carpark is opened to the public and shared with burger king, other restaurants etc... there got club swimming pool visible next to the parking lots, but i have checked what swim suits swimmers wear yet....

they added 'hostel' or 81 type of rooms recently, you might be inerested hor??