Interview with Acting Transport Minister - Jeffrey Siow

inlinesix

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/acting-transport-minister-jeffrey-siow-on-coe-system-private-hire-cars-and-other-transport-issues
I said so🤭

Noting that the economics of a private-hire car are “much more efficient”, Mr Siow asked: “If you had one COE left to allocate, is it better to allocate it to a private car owner, who then drives maybe two trips a day and leaves the car in the garage?

“Or is it better to share the car among a much larger group of Singaporeans who can have access to the use of a car when they need it? Surely it must be the latter, right?”

Edited by inlinesix

“Mr Siow was director of land transport when NCS and MHI Engine System won a $556 million tender in 2016 to build ERP 2.0, which has the ability to charge for distance travelled.”

Full speed ahead🤭

• Haha! 7

On 6/17/2025 at 8:23 AM, inlinesix said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/acting-transport-minister-jeffrey-siow-on-coe-system-private-hire-cars-and-other-transport-issues
I said so🤭

Noting that the economics of a private-hire car are “much more efficient”, Mr Siow asked: “If you had one COE left to allocate, is it better to allocate it to a private car owner, who then drives maybe two trips a day and leaves the car in the garage?

“Or is it better to share the car among a much larger group of Singaporeans who can have access to the use of a car when they need it? Surely it must be the latter, right?”

I hope SLA (singapore land authority) says the same thing

“If you had one plot of land left to allocate, is it better to allocate it to a GCB, which then occupied by 4 people, sometimes none because went overseas?

“Or is it better to share the land among a much larger group of Singaporeans in the form of BTO? Surely it must be the latter, right?”

• Haha! 22

On 6/17/2025 at 8:54 AM, Gnahp said:

“If you had one plot of land left to allocate, is it better to allocate it to a GCB, which then occupied by 4 people, sometimes none because went overseas?

“Or is it better to share the land among a much larger group of Singaporeans in the form of BTO? Surely it must be the latter, right?”

Better still...while the owners are away...let others rent the gcb macam chalet liddat...to also allow cdc to be used...more better use of everything...😁

Yacht got coe ornot huh? 🤔  Maybe also can live better lifestyle via rental...😂

On 6/17/2025 at 9:05 AM, mersaylee said:

Better still...while the owners are away...let others rent the gcb macam chalet liddat...to also allow cdc to be used...more better use of everything...😁

Yacht got coe ornot huh? 🤔  Maybe also can live better lifestyle via rental...😂

land and COE are both “scarce good” in Singapore

at this rate, I can see COE soon will be like landed property 

if you cannot afford a landed house, you probably cannot afford to own a car too

• Sad 1

On 6/17/2025 at 8:48 AM, Volvobrick said:

Don't be like that lah... Maybe he prevented a 4 POS with a separate card reader..... 

the 4th piece is the cash card cover lah. each sold separately now. 😁

On 6/17/2025 at 8:54 AM, Gnahp said:

He sees no contradiction. It has always been one rule for the ruling elites and another rule for peasants.

Edited by Sosaria

Mai complain. 65 percent chose it. Nothing to dream of, nothing to complain. Got money but not enough for a car? Never mind, nowadays is about travel, travel, travel. And no need to bat an eyelid for 150k reno on small puny BTO pigeon hole and showcase to the world we got the might. Never mind even if it’s kam gong. Haha good job that we voted for this. 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

On 6/17/2025 at 9:19 AM, Gnahp said:

land and COE are both “scarce good” in Singapore

at this rate, I can see COE soon will be like landed property 

if you cannot afford a landed house, you probably cannot afford to own a car too

It is better than you cannot afford to maintain the landed house (property tax) when you are old😂

On 6/17/2025 at 8:23 AM, inlinesix said:

I said so🤭

jNnWbSQ2v8jj0Mgu6iYxaXDVF9VCGaMCNRJdYJYD

This Jeffery totally miss the point that the whole argument is about the financial power of business owner vs private owner when come to bidding for the COE, which drive up COE premium and pricing private owners out of the market.

If LTA really think that priority should be given to PHV owners, the more they should set aside a category for them, to protect the interest of public transport users. The fact is that a fixed quota system for PHV and private owner might lower the premium for specific cat from time to time, which is undesirable from the government coffer point of view.

featured_image_article.jpg

On 6/17/2025 at 10:55 AM, ER-3682 said:

Want to ask Mr Siow,does He drive an EV,or take Public Transport.?

Don;t waste my tax dollar on the wayang of taking public transport.

if possible, i want him to take helicopter.

On 6/17/2025 at 10:48 AM, SGCM928 said:

jNnWbSQ2v8jj0Mgu6iYxaXDVF9VCGaMCNRJdYJYD

This Jeffery totally miss the point that the whole argument is about the financial power of business owner vs private owner when come to bidding for the COE, which drive up COE premium and pricing private owners out of the market.

If LTA really think that priority should be given to PHV owners, the more they should set aside a category for them, to protect the interest of public transport users. The fact is that a fixed quota system for PHV and private owner might lower the premium for specific cat from time to time, which is undesirable from the government coffer point of view.

featured_image_article.jpg

I guess you miss the point rather than him.

Govt don't want car owner who drives 5k/annum.

Govt want car owner to clock 50k km/annum.

That's the greater pic of Car-Lite which i have been saying for a long time.