Genes 6th Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 (edited) all i know is, my 7speed DSG is problem free. yes it is jerky at low rpm or speeds, especially during traffic jams. but when i step on it, play with my paddle shifters, hear the boom boom gear changes, i dont mind what little issues it has given me i will not stop buying a vw because of its problematic gearboxes (which i havent experienced). i will stop buying a vw because of its horrendous aftermarket service. I think the aftermarket service for VWs is very very decent. VW's after-sales service, however, is a totally different story. Edited January 3, 2012 by Genes ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 Cos the fully tuned engine is given to Mini and BMW. Haha. the PSA engines are co-developed with BMW you see. If the exact same engine is put into Citroen and Peugeot cars, nobody buy Mini/ BMW liao. BMW 118i 1.6T produces 170bhp. Citroen/ Peugeot 1.6THP produces 156bhp. Mini Cooper S 1.6T produces 184bhp, cooper works produces 211bhp. Then again, each engine is tuned differently for different cars. But I guess the basic design is the same. Thanks. Now I understand why the handling of the 508 is not as shiok as the rest of the 1.6L turbo cars. Silly French, how are they going to compete with the Germans? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 So far my 7DSG still all right, just now went head to head with M6(not mazda) also can match....lol I agreed that 7-DSG is good stuff. Just that a lot of car manufacturers/competitors "red eye" and ty to put in down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 Peugeot 508 rocks ! ------------------------ NoFrillsFactoryOutlet.com Tell me where it rocks. - underperform engine - non working navigator (no SG map) - cramp back seat (even K5 is better) - half FXXX Heads Up display - ugly backside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jensonbutton Neutral Newbie January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 RCZ are not sold as their B&B model right??? unlike those family car which is much cheaper i presume. Jut so you know, the RC-Z is based on a similar platform as the so-called "B&B" 308. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 Jut so you know, the RC-Z is based on a similar platform as the so-called "B&B" 308. you see same platform doesnt mean its going to be sold to the same market. VW Golf and GTi are also same platform but target audience are different. car are not just make up of platform alone, its come complete with other things like gear box, suspension, wheel, Axle and many other. Increase in power, you will have to have lots of those change too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jensonbutton Neutral Newbie January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 maybe an agreement between them such that they get a tune down version but have other benefit?? Seriously, I have no idea where you & proton_neutron get the idea of this so-called agreement & priority. Did any of the manufacturers make a statement on that? But of course these are just your wild speculations Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jensonbutton Neutral Newbie January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 you see same platform doesnt mean its going to be sold to the same market. VW Golf and GTi are also same platform but target audience are different. car are not just make up of platform alone, its come complete with other things like gear box, suspension, wheel, Axle and many other. Increase in power, you will have to have lots of those change too. OK so you missed the point here. If it shares the same platform, most of the components/parts are similar too. Gearbox is essentially the same, which is true for AT. RC-Z is offered manual gearbox Suspension & axle is the same as 308. Disc brakes all-round. Wheels are just aesthetic differences. Like I said, 308 is using a de-tuned engine. Other essential components are similar. This is Peugeot, why are you comparing it with a German marque? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ro181 Neutral Newbie January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 (edited) Hi All, Volvo S60 T4 driver here, thought I'd share the following: - The S60's 1.6L unit pumps out 270 Nm of torque on overboost, and has a useful torque peak of 1600-5000 rpm. - Before settling on the S60 I test drove the VW Passat CC 1.8, amongst others. Interior materials robustness and tactility were about even for both the Volvo and VW. However, the clean and sleek design aesthetic of the S60, especially in contrasting beechwood brown/black leather, lifted the Volvo's interior above the CC's generic VW group interior. - During spirited driving along Jervois Rd, the S60 gripped hard into and out of tight corners, thanks to its torque vectoring Corner Traction Control. The Passat CC exhibited understeer, especially when rapidly entering tight corners. At higher speeds on open roads, the CC also developed a noticeable bobbing motion. The dry-clutch DSG did seem to downshift slightly faster than the wet-clutch Powershift box though. Edited January 3, 2012 by Ro181 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 I think the aftermarket service for VWs is very very decent. VW's after-sales service, however, is a totally different story. ops. my "service" was referring to its inefficient and incapable service centre technicians, inflexible service manager, lack of courtesy car, long waiting time of 1-2 months even with appointment, vw technicians anyhow handle customer car (recently even had an accident). because of these, i think i wont be getting another vw. but when i look/drive the scirocco R, i need to think again. after-sales service.. you mean from SE? mine was very good & helpful, even though she no longer with vw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 7DSG is good. But only for the Wet Clutch one. Dry Clutch more for fuel economy reasons, and meant for 1.2TSI/ 1.4TSI 122bhp models. That suits them best. Decent performance and fuel economy. But anything more, the 7DSG wet clutches is the better option. And yes, the detuned engines are just my speculation. But think about it. If PSA-BMW cars have the exact same engines, who's gonna buy MINI [reknowned for their peppy performance, especially Cooper S models] or BMW 1.6T models [currently applicable to the 1-Series only, but hopefully on the new 3-Series too]. Same for Ford->Volvo as well. The EcoBoost engine was a co-development between them two, but Ford still don't have the 1.6EcoBoost [be it the detuned 150bhp or 180bhp] engine with Powershift. It takes about 6months to 1yr between the Volvo S60 and Ford Mondeo to get the 2.0EcoBoost 240bhp engine as well. Pay a premium to get the full-fledge engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krieger 5th Gear January 3, 2012 Share January 3, 2012 (edited) Bro all printed in the agreement. There are two version of the superb, one is the lower end one n the other is the elegance. I find the elegance one better. drl is now going to be a norm for the upcoming series of superb. Go down harvest n ask for the elegance version n u know wat I mean, with a price tag diff of 32 k, I go for it as I cannot afford to pay full for passat Without getting a earful from my wife... Sad but true I willo buy the passat 3 years down the road when they bring in the 2 .0t n a new service centre Cheers Edited January 3, 2012 by Krieger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 I think the aftermarket service for VWs is very very decent. VW's after-sales service, however, is a totally different story. Aftermarket service or stuff for VW is a bottomless pit..... As far as your wallet or bank goes..... But stock is the best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Aftermarket service or stuff for VW is a bottomless pit..... As far as your wallet or bank goes..... But stock is the best. You mai kay siao hor, I tot you already listed down the number of mods you wanna do? heard from a workshop, they already prebook a appt for a certain golf rabbit....is it yours? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ril3k 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 7DSG is good. But only for the Wet Clutch one. Dry Clutch more for fuel economy reasons, and meant for 1.2TSI/ 1.4TSI 122bhp models. That suits them best. Decent performance and fuel economy. But anything more, the 7DSG wet clutches is the better option. so the superb is on 7spd wet or dry clutch? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jailbird005 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Different league lah, Evoque should compare with Toureg, and win. XC60 can only stand aside. also different league ma..... Evoque- 2000cc(240bhp) vs Touareg 3000V6(280bhp) / 36000cc(333bhp). more likely XC60T6 3000cc (304bhp) compare with Touareg! Evoque shld stand aside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 OK so you missed the point here. If it shares the same platform, most of the components/parts are similar too. Gearbox is essentially the same, which is true for AT. RC-Z is offered manual gearbox Suspension & axle is the same as 308. Disc brakes all-round. Wheels are just aesthetic differences. Like I said, 308 is using a de-tuned engine. Other essential components are similar. This is Peugeot, why are you comparing it with a German marque? okay this i dont know. now then i know. they are using everything the same including brakes and all. so only the car cover is different?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 also different league ma..... Evoque- 2000cc(240bhp) vs Touareg 3000V6(280bhp) / 36000cc(333bhp). more likely XC60T6 3000cc (304bhp) compare with Touareg! Evoque shld stand aside. Actually Touareg's rivals are BMW X5, Volvo XC90 and Land Rover Discovery. Evoque can compare with Audi Q5 or BMW X3. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...