Do You?

Testa_ross4

Open your car bonnet to cool down the engine at the end of the day after returning from a drive? Can feel the engine very hot after turning off the ignition.

I do it as often as I can, either when I am washing the car after returning, or I just stay with car maybe about 2 to 3 minutes and use a cloth to fan the engine bay.

I think it helps save the rubber or non-metallic parts [laugh]

you luv ur car more than ur CO or OC i guess. Normally it is not necessary...maybe when u r stationary and engine is running for a prolonged period of time.

Too right! but just want to know if anybody does this too, in fact I was inspired by the are many, many car lovers here [laugh] before I joined this forum, my last ride was never even polished once for the whole four and a half years of driving and ownership. LOL!

those guys who go for long trips up north, with many continuous hrs of non stop driving,

the engine will get very hot.

So to prevent overheating and let the engine cool down faster, whenever there's toilet break or makan break, usually will pop up the hood to let the engine cool faster b4 the next leg. But in sg context, seldom need to I guess.

Heh Heh yeah, if you talking about up north trips then it is good to pop the hood every now and then at rest points. But the car must be kept within visual distance. [laugh]

yeah.. but you don't see the rubber and plastic melting during your long trip, right?? laugh.gif

anyway tonight jammed like siao.. dizzy.gif

Edited by Beei

Open your car bonnet to cool down the engine at the end of the day after returning from a drive? Can feel the engine very hot after turning off the ignition.

I do it as often as I can, either when I am washing the car after returning, or I just stay with car maybe about 2 to 3 minutes and use a cloth to fan the engine bay.

wah [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

u drive BMW issit? [gossip]

i only open or cool the bonnet if i need to wax it [nod]

The engine gets more than enough cooling from the airflow through the front grilles. You don't need to specially open the bonnet for extra cooling, it will only get hot again.

Agree but don't really have the time to put it into practice! On mine, the coolant temperature can reach as high as 106 degrees after the engine is cut.

Long or short distances driving shouldn't cause the engine to overheat.... if it does, there's something wrong with the cooling system.

Edited by Kklee

[laugh] I have never done that throughout my car driving history. Why not get an auto timer to do the job for you?

Regards,

wah, open bonnet?? no need lah, like that I have to also remove the bonnet insulation cover, so the heat dun get trap inside. laugh.giflaugh.gif

There was another discussion on whether having the bonnet insulation is good anot etc.

Infact, if you ask some of the folks who drive to MY often, some never even bother to turn off the ignition at the R&R. (hee! cos human comfort more important, as it is so so hot.) laugh.giflaugh.gif

you should know how hot the engine get during long drive..

In the case of traveling on NS highway at 110km/h for a few hours, the engine should not get too hot right? I am thinking the breeze, together with the car cooling system, should be able to keep the engine at a reasonable temperature.