Lightbringer 6th Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 Was driving home on the PIE earlier when I saw the electronic signboard saying "Accident after Thomson Road Lane 1 4 closed" True enough there was a fatal accident... a trashed motorbike was at the island markings on lane 4 (where the merging lane from a side road to the PIE was)... and a motionless body lying in a pool of blood was right in lane 1... ambulance and police were there. I counted 1 taxi on lane 1, and 2 taxis, 1 van and 1 private passenger car along the road shoulder on lane 4 slightly further up... Sian man... always accident accident... fatal accidents involving motorcyclists are the worst... especially in the wee hours of the morning like 2-3am! Somehow I have a feeling the accident was caused by the taxi on lane 1.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 early morning=no traffic=speeding=accident Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valtino Neutral Newbie May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 saw it on the way back to jurong. R I P to the motorist Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 i am a rider too myself. this evening also, 2 turning right lanes from queensway to commonwealth. idiotic uncle rider dun turn into his own lane, half way thru turn, eat into my lane. i jam brake and then carried on. i switched lanes and suddenly he see the bus in front and just swerved into my lane again. cb kia. i horn him and send greetings to his whole family and stopped further up to wait for him but he just rode on. i dun even ride like this! these old jokers dunno get license from where. they think they riding in 1960 when the roads no car ah? lucky i not cruel if not i go in front of him jam brakes and then ask him he feeling ok or not after he do somersault over my car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 I also just sent a video clip of suicidal motorcyclist suddenly cutting into my lane, speeeding and reckless eaving in and out of traffic to TP. Waiting for their response. These motorcyclists are crazy!!! [hur] If they want to die, I wish they would do it on their own time, and not involve other road users. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 they ride without a care. imagine they cut into our lanes, we brake and cause an accident, damage incurred and they happily just scoot off. time for some consideration on these old and expired riders part. if they cannot ride properly or are too old to do so, pls just take public transport. old ppl fall or kena hit, most probably serious condition. even if they wanna do such stunt, pls get a better powered bike so they can accelerate fast and far. not just cut in and suddenly plop themselves in front of us. i worry if we can't stop in time. even if they deserve to die, its always shocking and heart wrenching to cause hurt to another...........even if they very well deserve it. for us its only inconvenience but for them, lots of physical pain and anguish for their families leh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 Motorbikes always like to squeeze up to the front of the traffic light when all the other larger vehicles are stopped. I have no problem with that. They're impatient so they would move off quickly, right? No! Oftentimes you get motorbikers who squeeze to the front, or worse, right beside you, only to WOBBLE as they struggle to find their balance when they move off. Worse, they move off SLOWLY. If you are so impatient, at least move along with the flow fo the traffic! If you can't balance, take up a whole lane and queue up like the rest of us... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear May 22, 2008 Share May 22, 2008 RIP ... It is sad to see someone surrender their IC in the event of any accident ... My condolences to his family There are always jokers whom like to perform stunts on our road everyday hence everybody here please drive safely Gave a long horn to one NBCB Kia last evening on my way back too Signal liao, jus die die wanna cut in when my ride is just beside him along the expressway He did this to me not once .... but twice ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic May 22, 2008 Share May 22, 2008 Those old uncles have been riding the same way since when there was little and slower traffic. They managed to survive until today, bcoz everyone is busy trying to siam them. One day, their luck will run out... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 22, 2008 Share May 22, 2008 Also about this stretch of PIE, the visibilitly of motorcyclist is really bad at nite. Sometime if you don't look hard, you might miss them in the rear mirror, especially those that suddenly overtake you from the left in their small motorcylce. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yipsy1 Neutral Newbie May 22, 2008 Share May 22, 2008 Defensive driving is the only way to drive here in Singapore. One time, a yellow cab taxi was on the extreme right lane and I was in the middle. The taxi started to slow down quickly and instinctively I slowed down. The taxi just suddenly cut into my lane and then drove to left lane without signalling. Horned at that taxi driver like nobody's business. Moral of the story, dun kiss anyone's backside. Slow down when in doubt. Safety first at all times. Condolences to the family. Let's not waste the only life we have. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
T_orange Neutral Newbie May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 (edited) We must really pity their families. cos' ultimately they live with their deaths. Honestly, I wonder what is wrong with some of these motorcyclists... can ride until get into such fatal accidents. Either they speed or they drive real recklessly... or other people just accidently ram into them. Its just so dangerous to be riding a bike these days. I think the core of the problem is really the attitude and the people riding the bikes. Many of them just seem to have no patience to give way or to wait for others... The thing that I'm always puzzled about is... wait a few more seconds will die meh? Edited May 29, 2008 by T_orange Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reuters Clutched May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 (edited) From the cyclists point of view, they will think that "why don't you give me to me.. won't die right?".. Edited May 29, 2008 by Reuters Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dh15 Clutched May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 A nice car need not be driven fast. Nice car need not be a fast car. But, a nice car can be a fast car. A fast car is a fast car. Fast driver not the same as fast car. A fast car + fast driver = a really really fast car. smlj...lol... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
T_orange Neutral Newbie May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 But, the motorist will think like, "u also can give way to me, rite? won't die one". Its endless. Honestly, it all comes back to one thing... why can't we take initiative to give way. If everyone take the initiative to give way, no will die and no one will end up pissed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sportster Neutral Newbie May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 (edited) I also just sent a video clip of suicidal motorcyclist suddenly cutting into my lane, speeeding and reckless eaving in and out of traffic to TP. Waiting for their response. These motorcyclists are crazy!!! [hur] If they want to die, I wish they would do it on their own time, and not involve other road users. Did you have some on-board camera? Else how you capture the rider while driving? I last ride a bike during my NS days more than 10yrs ago. Each time before I move off, I said a prayer that I'll return home safely for that day. Due to some circumstances then, I give out the bike after 3 months. Had not rode since then and will not be riding in the near future. Taken on public transport/cars all these years. Still remember a friend of mine told me then, that when you are on the road, you need to open your "3rd eye" while riding. Recently, saw a biker stop at the Eunos/PIE junction towards direction of Upper Paya Lebar, he was waiting to turn right towards PIE Changi. I was the 1st car on the right lane going straight, 1 chap driving Mazda3 maybe want to cheong the blinking right arrow cannot brake on time and hit the biker, saw the biker fly towards the middle of the huge cross junction, luckily the cars exiting from PIE turning towards Eunos/Marine Parade direction has not moved off yet. Else I wonder what will happen to him. The rider may drive defensively, but sometimes those kuku drivers cause alot of mishap for these unfortunate bikers. Dont deny riding is a passion for certain group of commuters. Please ride safely and open your "3rd eye" at your forehead Edited May 30, 2008 by Sportster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wry85 Neutral Newbie May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 Most drivers will agree with your give and take statement except those taxi drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Samshio 2nd Gear May 30, 2008 Share May 30, 2008 this one I agree with. encounter so many times. motorccycle cut from the back to the front of the traffic light. then move off slowly, drive slowly and take the middle of the lane somemore. Cause traffic tailback. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...