Toilet ceiling leaking

Yr1985

On 8/19/2025 at 11:53 AM, Playtime said:

Toilet ceiling leaking. 

Anyone know fastest way to deal with it.

Hdb wen site feed back say take up to 2 week to respond... knn... like that also can.

Cannot ownself do without accessing upstairs right?

Need to go through hdb…

wait for hdb officer come and check the leak then they will write snail mail to upstairs owner.

Wait for their response and if agree to redo, must use hdb contractor.  

hdb will absorb half the cost and you and upstairs owner absorb 25% each.

That’s why takes very long and essentially you are subsidizing upstairs to reno their toilet

😬😅

On 8/19/2025 at 1:07 PM, Enye said:

Need to go through hdb…

wait for hdb officer come and check the leak then they will write snail mail to upstairs owner.

Wait for their response and if agree to redo, must use hdb contractor.  

hdb will absorb half the cost and you and upstairs owner absorb 25% each.

That’s why takes very long and essentially you are subsidizing upstairs to reno their toilet

😬😅

Correct, also must depend upstairs owner cooperate or not. If the owner one kind, don't want to response to HDB office or don't want to do the repair, then problem liao.

On 8/19/2025 at 1:31 PM, 13177 said:

Correct, also must depend upstairs owner cooperate or not. If the owner one kind, don't want to response to HDB office or don't want to do the repair, then problem liao.

If upstairs bo lui or is tenant, then good luck

doesn’t impact them anyway

😬

On 8/19/2025 at 11:53 AM, Playtime said:

Toilet ceiling leaking. 

Anyone know fastest way to deal with it.

Hdb wen site feed back say take up to 2 week to respond... knn... like that also can.

Cannot ownself do without accessing upstairs right?

no way. just wait for the ding dong between you, upstairs neighbour and HDB officer in charge.

cao cao few months back and forth.

they need to redo the reproofing of their tiles and the lower sides of the walls.

• Sad 1

On 8/19/2025 at 1:57 PM, inlinesix said:

I have been living with the seepage for more than 10 years.

Upstairs neighbour also faces the same problem.

Wah you like rain shower from chio xmm bath water mah

anyway 10 years xmm also become lmm already

😅

On 8/19/2025 at 1:57 PM, Lala81 said:

no way. just wait for the ding dong between you, upstairs neighbour and HDB officer in charge.

they need to redo the reproofing of their tiles and the lower sides of the walls.

At least still got hdb to help resolve lah

My relative stay condo one the upstairs neighbour refused to do anything… just pacify him saying that they won’t use that toilet but they still do

Condo mc also cannot do anything about it

😬

Due to external wall seepage? 

If inter floor likely the water proofing gone at the same time for your upstairs neighbour too.

On 8/19/2025 at 2:31 PM, Enye said:

Wah you like rain shower from chio xmm bath water mah

anyway 10 years xmm also become lmm already

😅

Ceiling paint pelt off because of the seepage.

On 8/19/2025 at 2:36 PM, Atonchia said:

Due to external wall seepage? 

If inter floor likely the water proofing gone at the same time for your upstairs neighbour too.

Water proofing gone.

Only mine don't seep downstair

On 8/19/2025 at 2:36 PM, Enye said:

My relative stay condo one the upstairs neighbour refused to do anything… just pacify him saying that they won’t use that toilet but they still do

😬

write toSTB and hire lawyer

Edited by Mkl22

😬

HDB FTW...🙏😁

How you live with seepage for over 10 years?!!

On 8/19/2025 at 1:57 PM, Lala81 said:

I believe most owner would not do anything since they leak to downstairs, they can bo chap. Since if redo the toilet, it would create inconvenience to the owner, since cannot use the toilet for many days. Esp if those old HDB with only one toilet, then high chance they would bo chap to redo even for free. Lol.

😬

Inject foam into the U-trap. If they use their toilet will overflow. No need to depend on them keeping their promise. They will stop using, or repair. 

Problem solved.

On 8/19/2025 at 3:06 PM, Volvobrick said:

Inject foam into the U-trap. If they use their toilet will overflow. No need to depend on them keeping their promise. They will stop using, or repair. 

Problem solved.

Good idea leh… but I am under the impression that condo pipes are mostly hidden.  To do that, need to break own toilet tiles?

But good idea for hdb owners haha

🤣 

On 8/19/2025 at 12:32 PM, inlinesix said:

What kind of leaking?

Cieiling is the upstairs neighbout toilet pipe protrude from. typical picture, middle one is upstairs toilet bowl pipe.

My block did HDB toilet upgrading few years back.

Now got leak from the part where the ceiling and pipe meet.

i dunno they damage the pipe when they did the toilet upgrading? meaning at my side problem

or

upstairs floor leak? but neighbour no do reno after the upgrade afaik 🤔

image.thumb.png.a20c5acf1bf3883acff1660de4c05c97.png