BANK Robbery !

Altivo

We don't need an experienced old hand to discover and exploit the security loophole.

A first-time visitor could do the job.

Wow how amazing – I mean our security.

He must have used google maps??

He knows the topo so well... how he can find his target and slip away 

Really smooth and tech savvy he must be

I say give the Man a Beer!!  [grin]

At 26 our male graduates still looking for a job after 2 years wasted in NS and 4 years in University 

Press reports say the Canadian took a taxi to Changi airport shortly after fleeing from HV. So could the vital lead of his movement came from a tip-off from a cabby?

Press reports also say the Thai police were alerted he had fled to BKK but his exact location was not known. He was tracked down through the efforts of the Thai police. Quick work nabbed him or else he would have moved elsewhere…..

I see. There are a lot of Aussie with dual citizenship. Anytime can run road.

Aussies always make waves in Singapore somehow for all the .................... reasons (you fill in the blanks) [laugh]   

Just saw Pulp Fiction, Bonnie+Clyde thinks they are so clever that no one ever holds up a restaurant and so they did it. Except 2 of the customers were ruthless hitmen. [laugh]

I, a no brainer, wondered why it's called a robbery.

I checked up dictionary :

Robbery is the crime of taking or attempting to take anything of value by force or threat of force or by putting the victim in fear.

At common law, robbery is defined as taking the property of another, with the intent to permanently deprive the person of that property, by means of force or fear.[2] Precise definitions of the offence may vary between jurisdictions. Robbery is differentiated from other forms of theft (such as burglary, shoplifting or car theft) by its inherently violent nature (a violent crime); whereas many lesser forms of theft are punished as misdemeanors, "

So maybe much will have to depend what he wrote in his note to the teller:

1. Give me $30K or I blow this bank up or something like that - consperemed robbery.  But what if he wrote

2. Please give me $30K to top up my COE bid or pay for someone medical expenses.....? What say you?

Well Mr Goh will tell u we are victims of our own success

Made Singapore so safe that even banks could not imagined being robbed

Yeah, that's what I always said about ourselves.

We are victims of our own success.

We assumed that we are so safe that we don't even use armed guards to top up money at ATM machines

Robbery is the crime of taking or attempting to take anything of value by force or threat of force or by putting the victim in fear.

At common law, robbery is defined as taking the property of another, with the intent to permanently deprive the person of that property, by means of force or fear.[2] Precise definitions of the offence may vary between jurisdictions. Robbery is differentiated from other forms of theft (such as burglary, shoplifting or car theft) by its inherently violent nature (a violent crime); whereas many lesser forms of theft are punished as misdemeanors, "

1. Give me $30K or I blow this bank up or something like that - consperemed robbery.  But what if he wrote

2. Please give me $30K to top up my COE bid or pay for someone medical expenses.....? What say you?

I strongly recommend that you work for the Authority. With your "flooding" and "ponding" split hair capability, you'll surely be an asset to them [thumbsup]

Yeah, that's what I always said about ourselves.

We are victims of our own success.

We assumed that we are so safe that we don't even use armed guards to top up money at ATM machines

Quite true!  Boleh land got police with nice shot guns when bank personnel top up ATM machines.

I strongly recommend that you work for the Authority. With your "flooding" and "ponding" split hair capability, you'll surely be an asset to them [thumbsup]

Thank you. You know any MP or Minister to give me a letter of recommendation?

today robber is high tech, come a long way.... do soft selling/ marketing , non violent type

But he did mention in his note that he is armed.

Even if he did not put that on his note (that he is armed and asking for COE top up) that if he is armed and if he is caught with an arms also same position, same thing even if its a toy one. The intent was there to harm 

You must be privy to some confidential info that the public no have.

The Sxxxttime reported no weapon was seen. Sofar as I know, content of his note is not yet revealed.

Or you meant the toy gun is his or every male's water pistol?

Edited by Ngseeming

You must be privy to some confidential info that the public no have.

The Sxxxttime reported no weapon was seen. Sofar as I know, content of his note is not yet revealed.

Or you meant the toy gun is his or every male's water pistol?

He no privy to confi info lah...just he more updated than you.

"Chinese newspaper Shin Min Daily News reported that the note said: "This is a robbery, I have a weapon, give me money, don't call police."  source ST http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/stanchart-bank-robber-nabbed-in-bangkok-thailand-after-72-hours-on-the-run

apparently u overlooked that.

For those interested in the Kanadian face....CNA has it.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/standard-chartered/2949932.html

Joke is he is denying all charges. 

Edited by Sabretan

Complacency. The newer generation understands that Singapore has a safe environment, but has failed to remember how we got here. Things didn't happen by chance. We have taken success for granted.

I continue to see young people leaving their laptops, ipad, smart phones at food court, really assuming nobody will take them.

I don't think juz young ppl.  It is the entire environment.

I rem previous CFO (who is an italian) told me that 1 will lost sense of real world after staying sometime in Singapore.

Joke is he is denying all charges. 

he was not caught on the spot but over in another country, obviously will fight the case to the end.

Complacency. The newer generation understands that Singapore has a safe environment, but has failed to remember how we got here. Things didn't happen by chance. We have taken success for granted.

I continue to see young people leaving their laptops, ipad, smart phones at food court, really assuming nobody will take them.

These they lost their problem but some even use security passes to chope table.

This is more dangerous becos someone with ill itent may use it to gain access to buildings and boomz! :wacko: