Detion 1st Gear October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 Better to buy a GPS from reputable brand but what I mean is GPS is cheaper if you buy from US website. Website like amazon is quite cheap. However, you must know that there is no warranty and you must get malsingmaps or malfreemaps from the web. Garmin GPS is very popular in Singapore. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 12, 2008 Share October 12, 2008 I am using N95 8GB, where can I download GMXT? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 12, 2008 Share October 12, 2008 got that, thanks, will look into Amazon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 12, 2008 Share October 12, 2008 ok, now have to "convince" Finance Minister Think so far Dualie's link quite good route. for other freelancers, u can try go malsingmaps and search thru classified. Hope it helps Need more info, just pm me. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Multi 3rd Gear October 12, 2008 Share October 12, 2008 Since you are using N95, you can install Garmin Mobile XT in it. No need to buy other system. You can get Garmin here: http://www8.garmin.com/support/download_details.jsp?id=3939 I will PM you more details. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dualie Clutched October 12, 2008 Author Share October 12, 2008 Since you have N95 liao, no need buy another GPS device lor. Just d/l GMXT and hack it. Then you can happily GPS away Think Multi is going to show you the way... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear October 12, 2008 Share October 12, 2008 Agree. I wanna contribute but dunno how to go abt doing it, its very confusing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 13, 2008 Share October 13, 2008 ok, will go to malsingmaps and search thru classified and if the price not too much diff, then may get from freelancers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 13, 2008 Share October 13, 2008 thanks for the PM, I think I'll go for a dedicated GPS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear October 13, 2008 Share October 13, 2008 need help, which brand of GPS, max @ S$300, that can use free map ??? Go get Nuvi lah...cheap and good, but please go to the right website to get free maps if not you will be humiliated. Its like begging and if you dont know how to create POI ( like me ) you will get HELL, not help. ok, lot of reply mention about Nuvi 200, will take a look maybe this weekend or next. If need help on getting free map, I will look for you you can get maps from MFM which in my opinion is better. Rather than another website asking for contribution but may not guarantee you can get map. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear October 13, 2008 Share October 13, 2008 Not only confusing but also needs a lot of skills on IT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 13, 2008 Share October 13, 2008 A dedicated gps like the garmin nuvi is the best option. Garmin map support is one of the best, MSM and MFM are good examples of source of free maps. There are others as well, that includes Thailand, Indonesia, Philippines. If you buy from Amazon, you need to ship to a US address. Vpost, Citibank Globeshopper or other website can help. For me, I bought from Amazon, but shipped to a friend's house. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 13, 2008 Share October 13, 2008 That's reason after chickenbackside thread on his Garmin 610, i pondered for some time, research and found we should only get the best with excellent aftermarket support like MSM, Malfreemap, etc. I even sold my nuvi 310 to upgrade to better model. Now addicted to TTS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 13, 2008 Share October 13, 2008 I'm still using 350 with TTS. No money to upgrade, so just play around with maps is free. I did invest in a Garmin external receiver ($50). Hook it up to the car roof and the signal now is so much stronger compared to the built-in antenna. Only thing leceh, must plug in and out the antenna cable when I removed the gps from the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 13, 2008 Share October 13, 2008 [/reply] you can get maps from MFM which in my opinion is better. Rather than another website asking for contribution but may not guarantee you can get map. ================================================== Ok, will do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 13, 2008 Share October 13, 2008 thanks, wife have a Vpost account and we (or rather my wife) have been buying things from US and we always ship to Vpost Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear October 13, 2008 Share October 13, 2008 MFM v1.12 (13 Oct 2008) - New updates on ALL maps - New map boundaries - New custom icon for gurdwara sahib, BMW and Mercedes Benz - New polygon updates Not all estates featured...but its getting there. Good job antyong and MFM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxngck 1st Gear October 13, 2008 Share October 13, 2008 hi! i m currently using malsing map. can i just replace the Gmapsupp.img of MSM by malfreemap Gmapsupp.img ? very tempted to try. thks alot ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...