Cataract Surgery

My dad's going to have cataract surgery next week but we decided to go private. We went with Dr Steve Seah, and the price is more expensive I think but the doctor is more hands-on with his patients, which I think is good since my dad is fussy. This thread has been very informative, really helping us what to expect during and after surgery. 

12 minutes ago, kristikle said:

My dad's going to have cataract surgery next week but we decided to go private. We went with Dr Steve Seah, and the price is more expensive I think but the doctor is more hands-on with his patients, which I think is good since my dad is fussy. This thread has been very informative, really helping us what to expect during and after surgery. 

How much is the cost?

On 3/15/2023 at 3:51 PM, mersaylee said:

Were those pah jiao mug birdies?😁

Wah....took me a moment to imagine what mug looks like a penguin.......🤣..

Aiyah you meant shoot bird eye... 

I think more like old bird that took the surgery.

Well now, it's my turn to go for cataract surgery. I'm 65.

Went through polyclinic path, referred to KTPH, scheduled for surgery in 3 wks at Admiralty Medical Centre. I'm a bit anxious, but seems like 90% success rate. I discovered my right eye was just suddenly blur, I thought, it's some dirt, but it never got better. 

KTPH dr says both eyes need surgery but right eye is worse. My left eye is still clear, so I'm holding it off for now. Since I drive for a living, it's a bigger risk for me. Wish me luck. ☹️

On 10/21/2025 at 10:49 AM, Kb27 said:

Went through polyclinic path, referred to KTPH, scheduled for surgery in 3 wks at Admiralty Medical Centre. I'm a bit anxious, but seems like 90% success rate. I discovered my right eye was just suddenly blur, I thought, it's some dirt, but it never got better. 

KTPH dr says both eyes need surgery but right eye is worse. My left eye is still clear, so I'm holding it off for now. Since I drive for a living, it's a bigger risk for me. Wish me luck. ☹️

should be quite routine lah. all the best.

Eye suddenly blur but confirmed it is cataract, then no need to worry. If eye suddenly blur but due to other condition then worry.

Your right not clear and yet you still can drive for a living?

My opinion is to go for both eyes asap on available date.

You won't like one eye with good vision and the other one less than perfect vision. Eventually you will develop lazy eyes. Too dependent on one eye. 

I done both eyes in less than 5 weeks. Pte  route though. 

Good to have regular or yearly eye check up since many here already above 50.

Last year did a full eye check up at Aussie by my girl since she just got her licence there.  And have her all personal consultations room. 

Everything OK for me, no aging eye problems yet.  Except old flower eye.

Edited by Tohto

On 10/21/2025 at 2:09 PM, Tohto said:

Good to have regular or yearly eye check up since many here already above 50.

Last year did a full eye check up at Aussie by my girl since she just got her licence there.  And have her all personal consultations room. 

Everything OK for me, no aging eye problems yet.  Except old flower eye.

doing progressive lens for old flower +myopia is kan expensive lor.

waiting for the day to do cataract surgery to come and correct myopia on the way, but dunno will uplorry first before that anot 🤣

On 10/21/2025 at 2:57 PM, Etnt said:

waiting for the day to do cataract surgery to come and correct myopia on the way, but dunno will uplorry first before that anot 🤣

Go KSL...spoiled for choice...makan, hair, nails, glasses...they love our smell goode dollah...as we love to spend our dollah there...win win...🙏😁

Shared earlier. There are a few factors you need to consider in doing only one eye for the time being. 

Are you wearing glasses now? If so, are you going to get another prescription glasses after cataract. If you aren't wear glasses then you will be straining your post cataract eye relative to the one without surgery. 

If the doc said both eyes, go for it. My opinion. 

For my case, literally I was blinded for one month after one eye surgery. Couldn't wear glasses or con. So living with one eye vision for one month. It was disaster. 

Prior to cataract, the doc did assured me that we would do both eyes at the shortest time gap. Got it done at week 5 if remembered correctly. 

My sharing...😁

Edited by Kopites

On 10/21/2025 at 2:57 PM, Etnt said:

You consider good liao

Try Old Flower + Myopia + High Astig.