Cataract Surgery

On 10/21/2025 at 2:57 PM, Etnt said:

doing progressive lens for old flower +myopia is kan expensive lor.

waiting for the day to do cataract surgery to come and correct myopia on the way, but dunno will uplorry first before that anot 🤣

Progressive lens here will be more than $1k for me. 

Last Dec I got one at Aussie, my girl can get employee discount for 50%.

On 10/21/2025 at 3:19 PM, inlinesix said:

You consider good liao

Try Old Flower + Myopia + High Astig.

That is my condition..

On 10/21/2025 at 2:09 PM, Tohto said:

Good to have regular or yearly eye check up since many here already above 50.

Last year did a full eye check up at Aussie by my girl since she just got her licence there.  And have her all personal consultations room. 

Everything OK for me, no aging eye problems yet.  Except old flower eye.

Yes, many people go for their health screening yearly but never go for their eye check up. And many people only wait until eyes got problem then go checkup which might be too late.

Go for eye checkup can start to do even from mid 30s liao. Then if everything is ok, doctor might ask you to check once every 2 years or so. 

On 10/21/2025 at 2:57 PM, Etnt said:

doing progressive lens for old flower +myopia is kan expensive lor.

waiting for the day to do cataract surgery to come and correct myopia on the way, but dunno will uplorry first before that anot 🤣

Not necessary that cataract will only develop in 'old age' hor. Some people might go for cataract surgery in 50s liao.

On 10/21/2025 at 3:12 PM, Kopites said:

Shared earlier. There are a few factors you need to consider in doing only one eye for the time being. 

Are you wearing glasses now? If so, are you going to get another prescription glasses after cataract. If you aren't wear glasses then you will be straining your post cataract eye relative to the one without surgery. 

If the doc said both eyes, go for it. My opinion. 

For my case, literally I was blinded for one month after one eye surgery. Couldn't wear glasses or con. So living with one eye vision for one month. It was disaster. 

Prior to cataract, the doc did assured me that we would do both eyes at the shortest time gap. Got it done at week 5 if remembered correctly. 

My sharing...😁

I think doc might not advise to do both eyes at the same time, maybe will try to do the other eye within a short period if the surgical eye is recovering well. Cause if do both eyes at the same time, if anything happens, then both eyes cannot see liao.

On 10/21/2025 at 3:28 PM, Tohto said:

Progressive lens here will be more than $1k for me. 

Last Dec I got one at Aussie, my girl can get employee discount for 50%.

so ex, i have started wearing progressive since more than 15 yrs ago, usually change like every 3 yrs, cost $425 from lenskart with ultra thin 1.76 index coated lens.

I got my eyes checked more than once a year

I have this condition called - central serous retinopathy

since 12 years ago

sibeh charm

On 10/21/2025 at 3:43 PM, Jman888 said:

so ex, i have started wearing progressive since more than 15 yrs ago, usually change like every 3 yrs, cost $425 from lenskart with ultra thin 1.76 index coated lens.

Astig 

hi deg

On 10/21/2025 at 3:12 PM, Kopites said:

Shared earlier. There are a few factors you need to consider in doing only one eye for the time being. 

Are you wearing glasses now? If so, are you going to get another prescription glasses after cataract. If you aren't wear glasses then you will be straining your post cataract eye relative to the one without surgery. 

If the doc said both eyes, go for it. My opinion. 

For my case, literally I was blinded for one month after one eye surgery. Couldn't wear glasses or con. So living with one eye vision for one month. It was disaster. 

Prior to cataract, the doc did assured me that we would do both eyes at the shortest time gap. Got it done at week 5 if remembered correctly. 

My sharing...😁

I had 2 pairs of glasses previously. Now I tried them, my vision just got worst instead. So I'm not wearing glasses now.

I have no problem with mid, and maybe long range. But I have problem reading closed up fonts. Sometimes ok, sometimes not, I dunno why. It could be the cataract issue.

In 2 days time, I'll have a pre-op check I'll see what happens then. The dr should be able to advice me.

On 10/21/2025 at 3:44 PM, Gnahp said:

since 12 years ago

sibeh charm

How does this condition affect your eyes?

On 10/21/2025 at 4:37 PM, 13177 said:

How does this condition affect your eyes?

when it happens, usually on one eye

I will see things like this in extreme cases

can last between a week to a month before it resolves itself

triggered by extreme stress or shock (adrenaline inducing kind of shock)

F1.large.thumb.jpg.cd3d2bb5df139806d9121dcdff8dae4d.jpg

• Shocked 3

On 10/21/2025 at 4:45 PM, Gnahp said:

when it happens, usually on one eye

I will see things like this in extreme cases

can last between a week to a month before it resolves itself

triggered by extreme stress or shock (adrenaline inducing kind of shock)

F1.large.thumb.jpg.cd3d2bb5df139806d9121dcdff8dae4d.jpg

Is this better than seeing @RadX and his gangs  at night.. 😅

Jokes aside,  1st time heard of this eye disease.. I will check with my girl next time talk to her. 

Edited by Tohto

On 10/21/2025 at 5:02 PM, Tohto said:

Is this better than seeing @RadX and his gangs  at night.. 😅

recently I see flashes at the peripheral vision occasionally

went to see eye doctor

she said it's an aging thing

the jelly in the eyeball turn more liquid, shrink and tugging the retina

since retina is a light sensor

a physical tug will give signal in the form of flashes to the brain

same like when someone punches your eye, you also will see flashes during the impact

no, I didn't get punched before, hit by tennis ball and see flashes last time 😁

On 10/21/2025 at 5:11 PM, Gnahp said:

recently I see flashes at the peripheral vision occasionally

went to see eye doctor

she said it's an aging thing

the jelly in the eyeball turn more liquid, shrink and tugging the retina

since retina is a light sensor

a physical tug will give signal in the form of flashes to the brain

same like when someone punches your eye, you also will see flashes during the impact

no, I didn't get punched before, hit by tennis ball and see flashes last time 😁

motorboat too much? hit by giant mammaries? 🤣

On 10/21/2025 at 5:18 PM, Etnt said:

motorboat too much? hit by giant mammaries? 🤣

cannot be

those are one of the softest things 😁

red-jello-pudding-wobble-poke-26cs5y1g5m

On 10/21/2025 at 3:42 PM, 13177 said:

I think doc might not advise to do both eyes at the same time, maybe will try to do the other eye within a short period if the surgical eye is recovering well. Cause if do both eyes at the same time, if anything happens, then both eyes cannot see liao.

I have it done at week number 5. Prior to the second eye cataract visited the doc twice a week to monitor the healing progress. Expensive I know but not wanting to drag that was the price to pay. 

😁

From goggle.

The typical time between cataract surgeries for each eye is one to four weeks, with many doctors recommending a two-week interval to allow for proper healing and vision stabilization. This gap ensures the first eye has healed sufficiently, reduces the risk of complications like infection spreading to both eyes, and allows the eye doctor to assess healing before proceeding with the second eye. The exact timing is individualized based on a patient's specific health, healing process, and vision needs. 

On 10/21/2025 at 3:44 PM, Gnahp said:

since 12 years ago

sibeh charm

Need to check so often?

I also gotten it 7 years ago. Right eye suddenly turn blurry. Went to check was told CSR, subsided after 2 mths, luckily no requirement for surgery. 

I haven't checked for last two years. Think better check my eyes soon. 

When I close my left eye and blink my right eye quickly still have the dark spot in the middle of my vision, like a floater but it doesn't move.

On 10/21/2025 at 5:50 PM, Atonchia said:

Need to check so often?

I also gotten it 7 years ago. Right eye suddenly turn blurry. Went to check was told CSR, subsided after 2 mths, luckily no requirement for surgery. 

I haven't checked for last two years. Think better check my eyes soon. 

When I close my left eye and blink my right eye quickly still have the dark spot in the middle of my vision, like a floater but it doesn't move.

I still get 2~3 episodes in a year

and I kia si

yes, it is like a very light coffee stain on white table cloth

when I blink against a white background, I can see it

doctor said that is a scar, it is permanent

white-cotton-napkin-round-light-600nw-18