Cataract Surgery

On 11/14/2025 at 10:02 AM, Davidklt said:

The steroid is meant to reduce inflammation and speed up healing.

Healing itself relies on inflammation process.

So steroids don't speed up healing of the wound.
But it just reduces undesired inflammation in this case.

On 11/14/2025 at 4:05 AM, Kb27 said:

I just had cataract eye surgery on my right eye at Admiralty Medical Centre (run by KTPH).

The experience during surgery was not so pleasant.

After surgery, I was given 2 types of eyedrops to use.

The world looks much whiter and brighter with the operated eye. I guess the old eye is due to aging.

Now recovering, a bit of dull ache on the eye when I put eyedrop, but generally so far I'm ok.

If you willing, share what the not so pleasant experience was, after you recovered. 

On 11/14/2025 at 12:16 PM, Ahwhye said:

If you willing, share what the not so pleasant experience was, after you recovered. 

I tink either lokun or missy not chio...😁

On 11/14/2025 at 12:28 PM, mersaylee said:

I tink either lokun or missy not chio...😁

you mean before surgery vision blur blur looks chio, after surgery can see clear liao tio scared? :D

On 11/14/2025 at 12:44 PM, Ahwhye said:

you mean before surgery vision blur blur looks chio, after surgery can see clear liao tio scared? :D

Maybe...i shall manage my sexpectation when i do mine...prepare to be worse and pray for the best of the bests...🙏😂

On 11/14/2025 at 10:36 AM, Lala81 said:

@therock is the real eye lokun.

Most surgeries outside the eye, don't have routine use of steroids for wound healing.

But for the eye, I understand it's standard procedure.

from ChatGPT, since I dunno the reason why also.

These are the 2 eyedrops, I'm given:

1. Chloramphenicol 0.5%
  2. Prednisolone 1%

On 11/14/2025 at 12:16 PM, Ahwhye said:

Throughout the surgery, my eye was kept opened. Quite a few times, eyedrops were applied. I supposed, some are LA, as there was no injection.

I had to stare at the lights. The light changes, sometimes to just dim web patterns. Sometimes back to light. Sometimes I'm told to look down.

I mean, you know you're still awake and someone is doing something to your body. You're powerless, just try to keep still and follow instructions. But there was no pain throughout.

It's quite miraculous what modern medicine and equipment can do.

After the operation, they put a transparent plastic cup over the eye to protect it.

When I got home, it was late, so I had LED lights turned on. I saw 2 concentric rings of light around the bulb. I was dismayed and thought maybe they would go away.

The next morning, the rings of light disappeared. It has now become a light slash at 45 deg. I think it's still healing, so maybe it will go away. Went for a follow up check, visual acuity and eye pressure. Dr say everything is fine, just continue the eyedrops until finished. I'll have another appointment in a month's time. Right now, there's still a bit of dull ache. That's inflammation, I supposed.

informative if anyone keen to do likewise.

my is the monovision. Left eye for distance, right eye for reading.  I did not went through any trial prior to the surgery. 

Both eyes were done within 3 or 4 weeks interval (forgotten the exact days).

No issue in adjusting(adapting) to the optimal vision with one long, one short.   

3, 4day after I was able to drive and back to work. 

Edited by Kopites

On 11/25/2025 at 9:30 PM, Kopites said:

informative if anyone keen to do likewise.

my is the monovision. Left eye for distance, right eye for reading.  I did not went through any trial prior to the surgery. 

Both eyes were done within 3 or 4 weeks interval (forgotten the exact days).

No issue in adjusting(adapting) to the optimal vision with one long, one short.   

3, 4day after I was able to drive and back to work. 

1st time heard of this. 

I ask my girl,  she say contact lens also can do the same. 

On 11/25/2025 at 9:56 PM, Tohto said:

1st time heard of this. 

I ask my girl,  she say contact lens also can do the same. 

More or less.  Contact lenses you do need to wash and maintain. Is a temporary remedy. Cataract is permanent.

Edited by Kopites