Daniu85 Clutched February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 is this the only 1.6 litre engine 7 seater available? i've not heard of any other 1.6 litre 7- seaters.. so far only come across 1.5 litre engine 7-seaters like toyota sienta and honda freed ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Takashimaya Neutral Newbie February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 Hi..Very well put it, I don't mean to sound bother but one thing that is sure on the negative side regards to this proton vehical is SAFTY...Accident is bad but and i hope it will never happen to any one of you driving out there But if it does happen and a serious..i guess the only thing between life and death is how well build is your car.I don;t mean you need to go buy a tank or so but I rather get a 2nd hand japanese made (honda/toyota)accident free car then to purchase a new malaysia made car....You can always go to car workshop and ask about proton accident stucture integrity.This made has a nice name it call TIN Can,i guess you know why. One more is airbag..this is a must in car. Forgive me if i sound bias toward ...Just my two cent worth/ Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 it depend on what you want to achive, Exora is the family car, so long it can take the whole family and yet in confort condition, i am happy with it. CPS engine ( perhaps only for Exora) run different from my previous Lancer , you have to really drive it ( every day, not test drive only), then you will feel the diffrent. The pickup of the ride is fine to me, but i have to admit in some condition ( Benjamin Bridge or go up to multistorey carpark), you may find the car is under power. But remember, Exora come with 3rd gear as well, just make use of this gear[rolleyes] ============= Yes at the price they r selling is really a good bargain. I do see the quality of Proton cars have improved alot especially since they bought over Lotus. Only problem is the weight of the car & the power of the engine. I think a 1.8lit or 2.0 lit wud make it easier to drive. But then it also depends on your needs. As what I said earlier, it is a basic pple mover at a very reasonable price. Now the only thing is to see how long it lasts. Hopefully the build quality & reliability of Proton has also improved. I saw my frens Persona & its a very decent car, especially at RM49K in Msia. I wil consider the Perdana if I move to Msia soon. Thats a cheap & good execuetive saloon with a nice 2 lit inline 6. But then in MY all cars seem cheap compared to here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 No lah, What I mean was Toyota Innova was known as Kijang Innova in Indo. It is a totally different from the old Kijang. Indo also selling Exora, but there are more Kijang Innova and Toyota Avante on the road. Also a lot of Terios and rush. There are also some taxi using Proton wira but not many. ============== OH OK. I go Indo & see the new Kijangs r damm swee. Not like the old boxy Kijang of old. There these SUV type like Rush & Terios is popular cos those roads r very rugged. Indo have very high import taxes so mostly all companies wil set up factory there to locally mfg or assemble any & everything to avoid high tax. Gharmen want to provide work fr the pple & also need technology transfer. I never see Proton Taxi in Indo though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 Hi..Very well put it, I don't mean to sound bother but one thing that is sure on the negative side regards to this proton vehical is SAFTY...Accident is bad but and i hope it will never happen to any one of you driving out there But if it does happen and a serious..i guess the only thing between life and death is how well build is your car.I don;t mean you need to go buy a tank or so but I rather get a 2nd hand japanese made (honda/toyota)accident free car then to purchase a new malaysia made car....You can always go to car workshop and ask about proton accident stucture integrity.This made has a nice name it call TIN Can,i guess you know why. One more is airbag..this is a must in car. Forgive me if i sound bias toward ...Just my two cent worth/ Cheers may i suggest you go thu this article on the new exora maybe your above comments may apply on the 1st generation protons. you'll be surprise to know that some of the items not even found on some jap cars. Click here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 ============= Yes at the price they r selling is really a good bargain. I do see the quality of Proton cars have improved alot especially since they bought over Lotus. Only problem is the weight of the car & the power of the engine. I think a 1.8lit or 2.0 lit wud make it easier to drive. But then it also depends on your needs. As what I said earlier, it is a basic pple mover at a very reasonable price. Now the only thing is to see how long it lasts. Hopefully the build quality & reliability of Proton has also improved. I saw my frens Persona & its a very decent car, especially at RM49K in Msia. I wil consider the Perdana if I move to Msia soon. Thats a cheap & good execuetive saloon with a nice 2 lit inline 6. But then in MY all cars seem cheap compared to here. Wah, In line 6 .........I like leh Abang! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 Hi..Very well put it, I don't mean to sound bother but one thing that is sure on the negative side regards to this proton vehical is SAFTY...Accident is bad but and i hope it will never happen to any one of you driving out there But if it does happen and a serious..i guess the only thing between life and death is how well build is your car.I don;t mean you need to go buy a tank or so but I rather get a 2nd hand japanese made (honda/toyota)accident free car then to purchase a new malaysia made car....You can always go to car workshop and ask about proton accident stucture integrity.This made has a nice name it call TIN Can,i guess you know why. One more is airbag..this is a must in car. Forgive me if i sound bias toward ...Just my two cent worth/ Cheers Hi Bro, your opinion noted, but like what bro Panhard said, Proton has also move up the technology ladder liao. Let's hope this Exora, Personal and Gen2 can improve the image of Proton. Asia must make use of this ERA that we are all boleh and can contribute to the world in a positive way. cheers ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 Wah, In line 6 .........I like leh Abang! ============== Yup surprisingly it has an in-line 6. Good power & smooth. Big & spacious too. I wonder why they cannot sell in SG? I heard the emissions test failed in SG. Pity. I think it wud have been a good seller if priced correctly. Maybe thats why LTA failed it cos then it wud have captured a huge slice of the market when it was released many years ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 ============== Yup surprisingly it has an in-line 6. Good power & smooth. Big & spacious too. I wonder why they cannot sell in SG? I heard the emissions test failed in SG. Pity. I think it wud have been a good seller if priced correctly. Maybe thats why LTA failed it cos then it wud have captured a huge slice of the market when it was released many years ago. Currently I know only 2 models for mass market have inline -6 , Chevrolet Epica and now Proton Perdana. I don't know how LTA operates and I hope it is not like what you have said. Goodcar wants Singaporean to have good car to drive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 Currently I know only 2 models for mass market have inline -6 , Chevrolet Epica and now Proton Perdana. I don't know how LTA operates and I hope it is not like what you have said. Goodcar wants Singaporean to have good car to drive ================ Ya it seems very unlikely LTA disapproved this car cos of whatever. But I did hear the emissions were too high to pass our tests. Funny though as it is exported to Europe & other countries. I wonder why it is not sold here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged February 2, 2010 Share February 2, 2010 i placed the booking on 1st week November and only collect my ride on 30 December. according to my SA, the export version will have to go thru more thorough check before ship out from factory. In MY, the car can be collect less then a month or even faster. if i get to collect my car later cos it had to go thru thorough quality control checks, then i don mind. jus so i know that it wasn't a rush job. at least can hv better quality. get to collect by end mth is gd enuf. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear February 3, 2010 Share February 3, 2010 got news that COE secured....AD submit bid of $21,819 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear February 3, 2010 Share February 3, 2010 1.5L 7-seater SUV: Daihatsu Terios/ Toyota Rush LWB in malaysia or indonesia... surprisingly spacious and 3rd row habitable by adults (Wish size, but you sit higher, so it's slightly more comfortable...plus you get rear roof mounted air-con too, 2nd row seats a bit tight to fit 3 adults though...) 1.5L MPV: Honda Freed- Taxi, interior though flat floor, seats are quite low to the ground, so you gotta lift up your knees, especially in 2nd and 3rd row seats...but decent nonetheless...) Toyota Sienta 1.5X- they are still selling this car, despite being in the market since 2002 and facelift since 2006...the Freed feels larger though...and not many will like the front looks... Toyota Passo Sette 1.5- saw a few on our roads already...looks pretty lady-like and probably meant for them...no sliding rear doors, 3rd row only habitable by people without legs or small kids...built to be cheap, so expect no-frills build quality... next is 1.6L Proton Exora liao...all i can say is the most practical and spacious car you can get for your money...though quality has improved over past Proton models, it's still cheap considered to jap rivals...2nd row is the most impressive, because you sit high, and shoulder-room is wide...you can fit 3 adults across no problem...3rd row meant for kids, but fit some cushion to increase ride height, and fitting adults will not be a problem...tonnes of headroom!! Suzuki APV drives and handles like a van, so it shouldn't be compared to cars... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged February 3, 2010 Share February 3, 2010 for which bidding?...today got bidding meh?... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Takashimaya Neutral Newbie February 3, 2010 Share February 3, 2010 Hi..Thank you..indeed a good review and i has seen and driven this car . I have own three Jap MPV and crash one head on at 75-80+ km..I still stick to my point...If you can , go for then better japo brand...thanks again.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear February 3, 2010 Share February 3, 2010 ya! its today...1st open bidding for feb 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged February 4, 2010 Share February 4, 2010 bro, wat freebies u get from ur SE? i only get solar film. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear February 4, 2010 Share February 4, 2010 bro, wat freebies u get from ur SE? i only get solar film. :angry: Me too! same. i think they all same standard lah! you plan to add any thing when you get your ride... thinking of trade in rim to 16". you think its a good idea? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...