Peaceracer 1st Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 ok for a simple reason why so many ppl chose auto over manual bcos when jam jialat liao... but for me, y i'm wif an auto car is bcos i bought the last batch of '06 vios and during tat time i went to leng kee and the SE told me even the test drive manual is sold off, they importing in the new FL vios which i dun like so i LL get '06 version of auto lor... Oic, sadz for you. Nvm next time got chance. I jus found out that there are probably quite alot of keen manual drivers out there, jus that the car market in Spore are not really favourable towards them, thus making them no choice but to stick with auto. (eg, MPVs, Exec sedans, Convertibles.) Wao, jus imagine a Manual BMW 335i © or a Manual Merc SLK350. Omg, It would be one Sensational driving experience... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amortifiedpenguin Clutched July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 ah, reminds me of the time when i was choosing a car. wanted to get a manual compact for economical quick city driving. was checking the prices of fit and jazz and just couldnt explain smt. WHY? why is the MT version more expensive by at least 5K??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 and you're pertaining to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear July 9, 2009 Author Share July 9, 2009 Oic, sadz for you. Nvm next time got chance. I jus found out that there are probably quite alot of keen manual drivers out there, jus that the car market in Spore are not really favourable towards them, thus making them no choice but to stick with auto. (eg, MPVs, Exec sedans, Convertibles.) Wao, jus imagine a Manual BMW 335i Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 When jam at causeway, MT realli is zzzzzz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zming Neutral Newbie July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 You guys are making me miss my old Sunny MT. Drove it for 6 years before changing to a Latio (due to family needs) I remember I was so disappointed when the SE told me they don't have manual Latio. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 Manual more hardy, auto (whether full auto or semi-auto) gives more problem after a few years -> more excuses to change cars. That's what AD is thinking about. More frequent change of cars mean more new sales / faster turnaround. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 (edited) The current 2L Civic FD manual from AD does not come with Sun Roof as compared to the 2L Auto ones for their high range ... which is the only negative part Edited July 9, 2009 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear July 9, 2009 Author Share July 9, 2009 a part of Singaporean switch over from manual to auto due to some family members only can drive auto cars. since Singapore accepts Class 3A liscens, auto car market much much better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nostalgia 4th Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 a part of Singaporean switch over from manual to auto due to some family members only can drive auto cars. since Singapore accepts Class 3A liscens, auto car market much much better Happened to me. Had to get an auto cos the wife can only drive auto.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear July 9, 2009 Author Share July 9, 2009 now some vans, coach alraedy auto liao, believe trucks going to have auto soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alanchan Neutral Newbie July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 I've always tell my friend that, "AT drivers LIKE driving, MT drivers LOVE driving." I love driving so much that no matter how much I like the car, no MT means no buy. I've been trapped in jam for over 2hrs at causeway but never complain, and since I'm the one in the family to drive the car 99% of the time (not to mention I'm paying 100% for it), its only fair to let me have what I want. Good thing my wife preferred manual too. The list of pros for AT has only one item and cons list is long, MT being the other way around. The problem is AT being easier to drive (and pass), manufacturer lazy to produce both transmissions (cheaper production ofcoz), agent/PI less worried of bringing in 2 transmissions and not selling, lead to less MT car available. My 2cts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear July 9, 2009 Author Share July 9, 2009 The current 2L Civic FD manual from AD does not come with Sun Roof as compared to the 2L Auto ones for their high range ... which is the only negative part why manual also pull down other equipped Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alanchan Neutral Newbie July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 IMHO, it is just a matter of time that Manual gearbox will be a thing of the past. Even F1 cars and increasingly high-end car don't use manual gearbox. Regards, You cant compare street car to F1, they have to make it as light as possible, and they have so little room for driver they need to remove the steering wheel to get in and out of the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear July 9, 2009 Author Share July 9, 2009 I've always tell my friend that, "AT drivers LIKE driving, MT drivers LOVE driving." I love driving so much that no matter how much I like the car, no MT means no buy. I've been trapped in jam for over 2hrs at causeway but never complain, and since I'm the one in the family to drive the car 99% of the time (not to mention I'm paying 100% for it), its only fair to let me have what I want. Good thing my wife preferred manual too. The list of pros for AT has only one item and cons list is long, MT being the other way around. The problem is AT being easier to drive (and pass), manufacturer lazy to produce both transmissions (cheaper production ofcoz), agent/PI less worried of bringing in 2 transmissions and not selling, lead to less MT car available. My 2cts just wonder why luxurious car w/o manual version[confused] in Singapore if you want to enjoy car's luxury have to sacrifice driving fun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amortifiedpenguin Clutched July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 now some vans, coach alraedy auto liao, believe trucks going to have auto soon SAF MAN 5ton truck was already auto since duno how long ago. with turbocharger somemore. =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alanchan Neutral Newbie July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 i drive a manual car cos my female friends and colleagues are impressed when i give them a ride... one of them when first sat in my car goes: "wow...u drive a manual car, how u do it? Cool..." anyway the main reason is that manual car can let me 'blend' with the car. thats exactly what happened when my cousin first took a ride on my car, she shouted "wah, its manual!", like its out of this world lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 So used to manual such that it feels auto to me ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...