Kangadrool Supersonic July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 Mine is 1.3M but it feels good to be able to pace cars that are more ex than mine. Maybe they are auto cars. That's the essence of driving a manual man... Can even let the big cars smell smoke at the traffic lights if you move faster My 1.3A Sirion also can pace a lot of obese cars so favoured by Sillyporeans Just whack to 3K rpm then change gear and it will fly past legal speed (and actually makes no/little difference in FC whether change gear at 2K or 3K). On hindsight, should have chosen the manual tranny since I love manual and driving 99.9% of the time. Looking for a manual now. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakkidz Clutched July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 I haf been driving manual all these yrs,3cars & 1van b4 till last yr i change to drive an auto honda fit,this is the 1st time i am driving an auto car,pick up will be more slower but will save u lots of leg muscles during massive jam especially during peak hrs,but there is one thing i would like to ask experts here that what if when we are driving halfway,then when wanna shift to s gear to haf higher torque but accidentally shift to R gear,what will happen? will the vehicle overturn or come to the complete stop,i noe there is a stopage for u to go to gear R but let us say what if accidentally depress the gearswitch and go to R when car is in motion(fast),i am just curious to noe as noobie to auto gear :) thx buddies. Anyone help, bros?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahleebaabaa Neutral Newbie July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 Way to go Brother! Welcome back to the Manual Drivers Club You won't regret it man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 Your Fit will become UNFit (Totalled). Don't try it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 Sibei jialat leh. Now the car prices keep on increasing. Even our Ah Pek distributor also increase the price quite a lot after every COE bidding unlike in the past. Still like small compact car with shift stick with roomy interior. Maybe 2nd hand shift stick should be the way forward if COE still dun crash (dropped by half from current price). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peaceracer 1st Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 Not many people can afford GTRs, Ferraris and the likes with sophisticated semi/auto gearboxes, not me at least. Generally for bread and butter models, manuals boxes will always be able to extract that little extra power/torque from the engine. Going off topic - how to spot a manual transmission car on the road? I always look at the brake lights at red light traffic junctions. Manual trans car drivers will normally pull hand-brake, release brake pedal and "free" the gear stick ... Ya thats very true. Jus in case the manual driver prefers to step brake while stationary, you can still tell whn it moves off. If it start moving and the brake lights still on for some distance, confirm auto. Manual no matter wat hav to release brakes b4 moving off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 QUOTE (Heartbreakkidz @ Jul 8 2009, 10:11 PM) * I haf been driving manual all these yrs,3cars & 1van b4 till last yr i change to drive an auto honda fit,this is the 1st time i am driving an auto car,pick up will be more slower but will save u lots of leg muscles during massive jam especially during peak hrs,but there is one thing i would like to ask experts here that what if when we are driving halfway,then when wanna shift to s gear to haf higher torque but accidentally shift to R gear,what will happen? will the vehicle overturn or come to the complete stop,i noe there is a stopage for u to go to gear R but let us say what if accidentally depress the gearswitch and go to R when car is in motion(fast),i am just curious to noe as noobie to auto gear :) thx buddies. Anyone help, bros?? Reverse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peaceracer 1st Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 Btw, you're asking in a thread which says "auto drivers keep away". Hahaz.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceyeo Neutral Newbie July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 I voted 4th option more enjoyable. Since getting my license less than 3 yrs ago I only drove a CVT for 2 years and decided to try manual since that was what my license was for. Definitely a whole lot more fun factor and every drive even on the same route to work every day can be a little different every time. And mine is a 6 speed manual even so lagi more fun keke... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peaceracer 1st Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 I voted 4th option more enjoyable. Since getting my license less than 3 yrs ago I only drove a CVT for 2 years and decided to try manual since that was what my license was for. Definitely a whole lot more fun factor and every drive even on the same route to work every day can be a little different every time. And mine is a 6 speed manual even so lagi more fun keke... Wat is your car with CVT? WOah!! 6sp manual! I also want but cant afford leh. All also in the 100k range. Which car you drivin w 6sp? The Colt in your pic? Anyway wats the cheapest car with 6sp manual in spore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 with practice shouldn't stall often. paiseh, i think more or less would. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 manual or auto it depends on the driver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 in city driving, auto car is more practical than manual due to the start stop , bumper to bumper traffic condition. imagine being stuck in the jam for half hour or more, tip toeing clutch and acceerator and changing gear non stop. you will wish you have an auto. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear July 9, 2009 Author Share July 9, 2009 interesting to know whether CTR and EVO got auto version? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 CTR - No. EVO X - Yes (SST) interesting to know whether CTR and EVO got auto version? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 I Am SOOOOOoooooo GLAD that there are still so many manual lovers around! Almost everyone i knw are driving auto. I am prob the only 1 or 2 manual survivors around the ppl i knw... Manual is gd. I cannot tahan the fact that power is lost by abt 15% by default due to the auto gearbox. I also cannot tahan the fact that the engine is trying to move the car whn the car is stationary, its jus like holding half clutch ALL THE WAY at the lights! Bad bad... Talking about convensional auto and conventional manual, ALL are in favour of manual-FC, acceleration, weight, control, engine brake, not to mention cheaper and easier to maintain. The only few 'advantages' i can think of auto are-simpler to drive and wont stall. But you see, there is a reason i said 'ALL', cos manual can be simple whn it becomes 2nd nature and it wont stall whn driving one becomes 2nd nature too!! But the world is cruel to it. I forsee before the next decade, manual cars would have to be specially made...rarer thn supercars... ok for a simple reason why so many ppl chose auto over manual bcos when jam jialat liao... but for me, y i'm wif an auto car is bcos i bought the last batch of '06 vios and during tat time i went to leng kee and the SE told me even the test drive manual is sold off, they importing in the new FL vios which i dun like so i LL get '06 version of auto lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 interesting to know whether CTR and EVO got auto version? CTR don't have but Evo there is Think Evo 7/8 got this Auto Version one ... with now Evo X too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 Have to drive auto so that rest of family members (who are used to auto) can use too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...