Thespark Neutral Newbie September 2, 2009 Share September 2, 2009 Recently saw a new 318 SJT *93 parked next to a 520 SJ* *93. same bidded no. plate i should guess both cars belong to the same family. If they find the 318 a good complement for their 520, i'm sure many others would agree too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 2, 2009 Share September 2, 2009 Recently saw a new 318 SJT *93 parked next to a 520 SJ* *93. same bidded no. plate i should guess both cars belong to the same family. If they find the 318 a good complement for their 520, i'm sure many others would agree too. agree that they are badge whores? yeah definitely.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krieger 5th Gear September 2, 2009 Share September 2, 2009 The TS ask about the 2 cars, then of cos I will just compare the 2 cars...unless he mentioned Mercs or other makes.. I am not hoodwinked by the slogan of Ultimate Driving Machine.. But come to think of it, bmw does beat lots of other conti makes. Oh i am not a bmw "siao" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Admiralty 4th Gear September 3, 2009 Author Share September 3, 2009 Thank you guys...for all your valuable opinions... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 How come suddenly so many BMW siao come out of the closet?? When i was 18, i got to drive E36 325 for a wk. Since then, i got hook to BMW IL-6. At idling, RPM is btw 400 - 500 RPM. At 90km/h, it is slight tap on the throttle. This engine has only intake VVT. From thereon, i will not drive another IL-4 BMW (except E30 318). That's why i end up with a Yr 2002 E39 520. It could comfortably seat 4 passenger (though it is illegal). Even wif 6 person in the car, the car don't struggle at all to move off from traffic light. Mind you, this is 1.6t vehicle that is longer than most HDB car park lot. Lastly, it was challenged by C180 (not bluefficient) for century sprint from traffic light. Thats exactly right bro! The only consideration if can afford both is the BMW 6 is one of the smoothest engine available. The 4 is ordinary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 Thats exactly right bro! The only consideration if can afford both is the BMW 6 is one of the smoothest engine available. The 4 is ordinary. The 4 is ordinary? can you afford a BMW in the 1st place? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched September 5, 2009 Share September 5, 2009 How come suddenly so many BMW siao come out of the closet?? When i was 18, i got to drive E36 325 for a wk. Since then, i got hook to BMW IL-6. At idling, RPM is btw 400 - 500 RPM. At 90km/h, it is slight tap on the throttle. This engine has only intake VVT. From thereon, i will not drive another IL-4 BMW (except E30 318). That's why i end up with a Yr 2002 E39 520. It could comfortably seat 4 passenger (though it is illegal). Even wif 6 person in the car, the car don't struggle at all to move off from traffic light. Mind you, this is 1.6t vehicle that is longer than most HDB car park lot. Lastly, it was challenged by C180 (not bluefficient) for century sprint from traffic light. agreed man...I work and drive these cars day to day...so if the TS wanna know about whats the best to get...i'd say 325...seriously...unless he wants his ride to have oil leaks and leaky hoses or pipes every now and then [sweatdrop] BTW when i was 18 i had the E46 M3 for a month...thats the car which changed my life...literally...LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 5, 2009 Share September 5, 2009 BTW when i was 18 i had the E46 M3 for a month...thats the car which changed my life...literally...LOL That is the car I wanted to own even for a yr. Lucky u! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bmwcar Neutral Newbie September 5, 2009 Share September 5, 2009 If you can wait till Dec 09 then PML usually offer very low price in order to hit their car quota. It is worth the wait provided the COE don't shoot-up. Good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 5, 2009 Share September 5, 2009 That is the car I wanted to own even for a yr. Lucky u! Somehow the E46 and E39 Ms were more salient and 'sleepers'...just the way I like It Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear September 5, 2009 Share September 5, 2009 even a QQ also have the ability to cope with highways and heavy traffic. Unfortunately, QQ is banned from running on the highways (right in the country where it was manufactured). Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 5, 2009 Share September 5, 2009 If you can wait till Dec 09 then PML usually offer very low price in order to hit their car quota. It is worth the wait provided the COE don't shoot-up. Good luck. with the coe cut in oct, i guess no need to wait further. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krieger 5th Gear September 5, 2009 Share September 5, 2009 you must be joking right? Could be due to business political issues ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched September 5, 2009 Share September 5, 2009 (edited) That is the car I wanted to own even for a yr. Lucky u! well that car wasnt in the best shape thats what i can say.... and YES i managed 9km/L on that car...after driving that car i never looked back going the NA route... Still imagined my managers expression when i drove into PML to park my car....LOL...i was just an apprentice back then.... Edited September 5, 2009 by Qr25vet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched September 5, 2009 Share September 5, 2009 Somehow the E46 and E39 Ms were more salient and 'sleepers'...just the way I like It the E46 M3 is not as discreet as the E39 M5...thats a real sleeper in all angles except the rear....too bad i've not seen any singaporeans rechipping the E39 M5 up to 500BHP... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 you must be joking right? Could be due to business political issues ? China forbids car below certain CC to enter their highways. QQ is one of those. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 9, 2009 Share September 9, 2009 China forbids car below certain CC to enter their highways. QQ is one of those. Regards, they have a corrupted police force that can overlook a QQ on the highway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
999 3rd Gear September 9, 2009 Share September 9, 2009 China forbids car below certain CC to enter their highways. QQ is one of those. Regards, Not all City lah. Diff City practise different rule. Anyway, some City this rule already lifted. Some dun allow into City not hiway. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...