Hamburger Hypersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Is that 潭鱼头 restuarant any good? I passed by and the photos look good, though different. for steam boat, be it shabu shabu or 鱼头颅,I made my own soup with no msg. You be surprise how easy they can be made and most importantly, much more cheaper. Also, eat until vomit ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Can eat until vomit is you makan terror liow. [laugh] I buy pig bones or use chicken bones, those I remove meat, bones bag up and store in freezer, cook as broth alone is already so sweet and nice. for steam boat, be it shabu shabu or 鱼头颅,I made my own soup with no msg. You be surprise how easy they can be made and most importantly, much more cheaper. Also, eat until vomit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 That was last time lah, now...my own home cooked satay, nbz, 5 sticks plus onions and cucumber down, I already show white flag and walk off from the table liow. I can't eat as much as I used to now. Because after changing my eating habits, my stomach capacity shrink, and so did my body muscle mass and size. Yup, those good ole days where we can whack like a horse and still run like one...hahah Hmmm, you gave me an idea - probably want to do my own kebabs - lamb, beef and pork with onions, peppers etc - will test it out soon and see if it's worthy to post my pics here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 I dowan to say hor, but have to, peppers contain sugars, yes, green/red bell peppers. I'm doing this, mixing up minced/ground beef, mutton, pork,chicken add some spices to tender and give flavor, and pan fry8ign them as patties. You get the best of ALL 4 in one. No time to do now, cos I'm going to cook Hainamese Chicken Rice on the weekend. Got a lot of people to feed. My boys, wife and their GFs. Yeah, WTF, future daughter in laws and FIL cook for them to makan! NBZ! Eyh, girls nowadays hor, come to cooking, CMI one hor. Yup, those good ole days where we can whack like a horse and still run like one...hahah Hmmm, you gave me an idea - probably want to do my own kebabs - lamb, beef and pork with onions, peppers etc - will test it out soon and see if it's worthy to post my pics here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 I dowan to say hor, but have to, peppers contain sugars, yes, green/red bell peppers. I'm doing this, mixing up minced/ground beef, mutton, pork,chicken add some spices to tender and give flavor, and pan fry8ign them as patties. You get the best of ALL 4 in one. No time to do now, cos I'm going to cook Hainamese Chicken Rice on the weekend. Got a lot of people to feed. My boys, wife and their GFs. Yeah, WTF, future daughter in laws and FIL cook for them to makan! NBZ! Eyh, girls nowadays hor, come to cooking, CMI one hor. Opps - thanks for reminding me - peppers are out... Properly use aparagus and liberal amounts of pork belly in between... Patties - never tried that before - will also add that to my to-do list Maybe can look at it from this way - do you want your FILs to ruin your dinner? hahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 I dowan to say hor, but have to, peppers contain sugars, yes, green/red bell peppers. I'm doing this, mixing up minced/ground beef, mutton, pork,chicken add some spices to tender and give flavor, and pan fry8ign them as patties. You get the best of ALL 4 in one. No time to do now, cos I'm going to cook Hainamese Chicken Rice on the weekend. Got a lot of people to feed. My boys, wife and their GFs. Yeah, WTF, future daughter in laws and FIL cook for them to makan! NBZ! Eyh, girls nowadays hor, come to cooking, CMI one hor. Your boys still so young. You think this batch of gfs will be their one and only? You dream lah. Better cook another few batches of chicken rice and deep freeze them so that you don't have to prepare again when they bring over another batch next year or the years after that. Tell the girls the chicken rice was prepared in Aug 10 and see their reaction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 No need to use pork belly lah. Asparagus, I advise you, pan fry with chicken thighs with skin attached, cube the meat. Fry the chicken first then dump in the asparagus. Best get YOUNG ones, the older ones you will need to skin the asparagus if not too fibrous and hard to chew. Look at it this way, do you want to be cooking for your daughter in laws? I have never ruined any dinner with my "guest". Thing is...everyone sits down waiting to be served, except my boys, so you see why I WTF! now? If married, and this still happens, then I'll be kicking sheet for sure! Unless.......they got give US allowance...then that is nothing to say. Not money minded, but if the wife and me have to work and SAR-PORT and cook for them when THEY'RE working..... my knives will be very sharp...they won't feel anything. Now you see my stand point? BTW, My FIL was the best guy ever. But yet I cooked for him. He passed away 3yrs ago, and we still miss him. My MIL is a great MUM to me, one I didn't have. That's how I treat my In Laws. They are the parents I didn't have. Opps - thanks for reminding me - peppers are out... Properly use aparagus and liberal amounts of pork belly in between... Patties - never tried that before - will also add that to my to-do list Maybe can look at it from this way - do you want your FILs to ruin your dinner? hahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Youngest one no GF he say too farking troublesome, and I agree with him, you saw him at the show with my 2nd one, the buff buff one lah. He's set his mind to stay with us, and I intend to leave my collection to him. the 2nd one well, already went thru like 6 liow, I gather this is present one is to stay. Eldest one, (busy, didn't go to the show) GF already 6 years and she sticks to him like supa glue. Stayed over our place countless times and kana from me also, by me throwing her out of my house for not following my protocols, letting my 2nd boy hang up her clothes which SHE ought to be doing herself. She also knows well enough not to step on my landmines, if not....... she's ok, but yeah, we donno what will happen, but both intend to ROM soon, and I said one thing......dinner, me not going and not paying ok? Small reception, I'm fine. End of teh day bro. My meow meow more important then my boys GF. [laugh] Your boys still so young. You think this batch of gfs will be their one and only? You dream lah. Better cook another few batches of chicken rice and deep freeze them so that you don't have to prepare again when they bring over another batch next year or the years after that. Tell the girls the chicken rice was prepared in Aug 10 and see their reaction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 End of teh day bro. My meow meow more important then my boys GF. [laugh] Yeah, meow meows love you more than 100% every day, even after you have scolded them or given them a light tap on the thigh for unacceptable behavior. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 (edited) How very very true. [laugh] And they share your food as well....last night mine got Cod fish for dinner. We should learn from the cats, LICK your plate after you're done, like that don't waste good food specially gravy! YUMMY!! Yeah, meow meows love you more than 100% every day, even after you have scolded them or given them a light tap on the thigh for unacceptable behavior. Edited August 17, 2010 by Mazdaowner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 I dowan to say hor, but have to, peppers contain sugars, yes, green/red bell peppers. I'm doing this, mixing up minced/ground beef, mutton, pork,chicken add some spices to tender and give flavor, and pan fry8ign them as patties. You get the best of ALL 4 in one. No time to do now, cos I'm going to cook Hainamese Chicken Rice on the weekend. Got a lot of people to feed. My boys, wife and their GFs. Yeah, WTF, future daughter in laws and FIL cook for them to makan! NBZ! Eyh, girls nowadays hor, come to cooking, CMI one hor. Ok, you got to show us how to do the Hainanese Chicken rice Paleo style.. The fragrant chicken rice is one of my fave dish that I reluctantly gave up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Onz lah onz lah, after that can have Q & A session some more. This one is also, Man Vs Food. [laugh] I show you some more ROAST and Blenched Chicken and *ahem* chili sauce as well. Mai sng sng, and please, Saturday.... water proof your computer keyboard and screen, dowan wait lau nuah then keyboard and screen kana short. Ok, you got to show us how to do the Hainanese Chicken rice Paleo style.. The fragrant chicken rice is one of my fave dish that I reluctantly gave up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Okay, will do without pork belly Will try one batch this weekend and post the results That's true - if they expect to be served like little princesses, I would suggest they share my noti gal's food bowl...hahah Then again, maybe your boys never prep them well enough on how to get into your good books Oh paiseh, I meant FIL as future in laws including daughters... Anyway, I think my parents are also too accomodating to our in laws and everything also can... No need to use pork belly lah. Asparagus, I advise you, pan fry with chicken thighs with skin attached, cube the meat. Fry the chicken first then dump in the asparagus. Best get YOUNG ones, the older ones you will need to skin the asparagus if not too fibrous and hard to chew. Look at it this way, do you want to be cooking for your daughter in laws? I have never ruined any dinner with my "guest". Thing is...everyone sits down waiting to be served, except my boys, so you see why I WTF! now? If married, and this still happens, then I'll be kicking sheet for sure! Unless.......they got give US allowance...then that is nothing to say. Not money minded, but if the wife and me have to work and SAR-PORT and cook for them when THEY'RE working..... my knives will be very sharp...they won't feel anything. Now you see my stand point? BTW, My FIL was the best guy ever. But yet I cooked for him. He passed away 3yrs ago, and we still miss him. My MIL is a great MUM to me, one I didn't have. That's how I treat my In Laws. They are the parents I didn't have. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Try to cook stuff that saves you time, cooking and prep. If you can, prep one day prior and next day cook that sort of thing, and cook more, if cannot finish, (my case, very difficult!) roll over to the next day so you either cook lesser or don't need to. You need variety so you don't give up what you set out to do. Thus I cook different dishes. WRT to future daughter in laws......all I can say is....My sons, I know for sure would have fired warning shots, and also........I have a warning label on me.... *Caution, approach at own risk* accommodating to my boys future in laws....all I can say again is, not possible. And my kids know me far too well. I will only reciprocate back the sentiment. Okay, will do without pork belly Will try one batch this weekend and post the results That's true - if they expect to be served like little princesses, I would suggest they share my noti gal's food bowl...hahah Then again, maybe your boys never prep them well enough on how to get into your good books Oh paiseh, I meant FIL as future in laws including daughters... Anyway, I think my parents are also too accomodating to our in laws and everything also can... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 CBS gave an address near Sim Lim (think opp Albert Court, 2nd floor) in this thread for the purchase of nuts at wholesale prices. I have not yet had a chance to go down yet but you may wish to after paying $96 for 2kg of nuts. Mazda and all Bros/Sis, Buy from the Kwan Inn Temple hawker centre. One kg only $25 and these are the HUGE ones, unlike what you find in NTUC or Cold Storage etc. It is like twice the size. The smaller ones are actually cheaper, about $24 or below per KG. They also have hazelnuts, almond and all types of nuts, so many that it makes you nuts............ Now Go GO GO. Get your NUTS !!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 I don';t remember seeing them selling nuts, but then again the damn humidity and temperature above the hawker center is enough to set you running for cool air. Now renovated, I'll head on this weekend. Kiat wanna go? Bro., Kumsia, kumsia....I now kana macadamia fever liow,. all thanks to my son. No lah, I was already a macadamia NUT a long time ago . Mazda and all Bros/Sis, Buy from the Kwan Inn Temple hawker centre. One kg only $25 and these are the HUGE ones, unlike what you find in NTUC or Cold Storage etc. It is like twice the size. The smaller ones are actually cheaper, about $24 or below per KG. They also have hazelnuts, almond and all types of nuts, so many that it makes you nuts............ Now Go GO GO. Get your NUTS !!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Mazda and all Bros/Sis, Buy from the Kwan Inn Temple hawker centre. One kg only $25 and these are the HUGE ones, unlike what you find in NTUC or Cold Storage etc. It is like twice the size. The smaller ones are actually cheaper, about $24 or below per KG. They also have hazelnuts, almond and all types of nuts, so many that it makes you nuts............ Now Go GO GO. Get your NUTS !!!!!! Yup, that's where I get my nuts from... Last time I went, I bought $200 worth of macadamias and walnuts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 if go all the way there just to buy nut, cant justify the petrol, time and effort. So, any nice roast pork or duck, or any kind of meat we can lunch there........... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...