Xtrocious 1st Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Maybe when I retire, but I have other plans when I leave this industry. Tonight's menu is Nonya Popiah with a TWIST, some changes, but taste wise, well, my sons are huge fans of my OLD Traditional Nonya Popiah, say this comes a very wicked close. You'll see for yourself tonight when I post the pics. Convection cooker, just buy it lah. So long as you don't mess with the thing with water, should last you past the $120 mark. Not much difference really, only branding so you pay more for the name. Eyh, come over to Jurong Point or IMM lah. But these days, who can seriously say they can "retire"? sigh Anyway, will be waiting to see your masterpiece - correct me if I am wrong but I suspect the hardest part to replicate would be the sweet prawn paste they slap on the skin before putting the turnips... I did go to IMM but only saw the one at BEST, didn't go to Giant The broiler was quite filmsy and not very well put together - or maybe because I am quite "rough" and clumsy...hahah JP got Courts right? Probably go there this weekend to jalan jalan ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Yeah, "Hay Kor" or "Kecap Manis" as mentioned, I cut some stuff off. Even some have waxed Chinese sausages added, and that is out. If you cook it proper, the Jicama is sweet enough already on its own, and I personally feel, there really isn't a need to add those sauces. Sliced boiled eggs, "peanut" powder, sambal, fatty pork grounds, julian jicama, mushrooms, etc..... Yes, JP Has a Courts. Just buy one and get it done with. They're all the same nowadays, Made In China. But these days, who can seriously say they can "retire"? sigh Anyway, will be waiting to see your masterpiece - correct me if I am wrong but I suspect the hardest part to replicate would be the sweet prawn paste they slap on the skin before putting the turnips... I did go to IMM but only saw the one at BEST, didn't go to Giant The broiler was quite filmsy and not very well put together - or maybe because I am quite "rough" and clumsy...hahah JP got Courts right? Probably go there this weekend to jalan jalan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Quite easy leh bro You are selling food, not the promise of being able to lose weight...hahah Unless you make yourself out to promote that, people can't pin that on you But true, cooking for oneself and loved ones is much more meaningful Eagerly awaiting your nonya popiah pixs - sounds wicked...hahah Anyway, on the food broiler - saw one (Iona brand) at BEST going for S$120 but not very well made... Will go around to other places to see if they have... Tried Harvey Norman at West Mall but they don't have consider Akira. Been using everyday since last year end and still works fine. Most impt, it cost 60bucks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 consider Akira. Been using everyday since last year end and still works fine. Most impt, it cost 60bucks. Ok - will look at Akira - their showroom is just outside IMM But better do it fast cos the company is in danger of folding liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Yeah, "Hay Kor" or "Kecap Manis" as mentioned, I cut some stuff off. Even some have waxed Chinese sausages added, and that is out. If you cook it proper, the Jicama is sweet enough already on its own, and I personally feel, there really isn't a need to add those sauces. Sliced boiled eggs, "peanut" powder, sambal, fatty pork grounds, julian jicama, mushrooms, etc..... Yes, JP Has a Courts. Just buy one and get it done with. They're all the same nowadays, Made In China. No "har kor" never mind - just sub with solid sambal - sedap as well Don't really like chinese sausages - very sweet and artificial - so no big loss Thanks for the tips I will go look for Akira then - use it for now until I renovate my kitchen at the end of the year Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Yeah, true, I also used a Akira Microwave, $100 bucks niah, use for 1 and a half years, then change. Still working, only because lucky draw kana a better one. consider Akira. Been using everyday since last year end and still works fine. Most impt, it cost 60bucks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Choon boh? Akira fold? Merger maybe? Just buy and use lah, save you money also if kick the bucket. Ok - will look at Akira - their showroom is just outside IMM But better do it fast cos the company is in danger of folding liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Choon boh? Akira fold? Merger maybe? Just buy and use lah, save you money also if kick the bucket. Parent company TT International is in receivership... But for S$60, can close both eyes and whack...hahah Home-made roast chicken, here I come Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Hmm....looks like shopping this weekend!! Parent company TT International is in receivership... But for S$60, can close both eyes and whack...hahah Home-made roast chicken, here I come Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 As promised, Fusion Nonya Popiah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Very interesting! Did you substitute the skin with seaweed? Was it easy to wrap and stay in shape? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Hmm...interesting I was expecting you to do an egg skin i.e. very thin omelette and use it to wrap the fillings Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahleon Neutral Newbie August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 Bro MO...u r da CREATIVE chef!!! I was expecting to see thin egg wrap too...n u surprised us with seaweed! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 Yes bro, skin was seaweed, staying in shape no issue, very easy to roll, trick was, seaweed bit on teh crispy side, opne bag and let it sit for 5 mins in normal room humidity, and it will start to absorb moisture, making it soft and manageable (sound like some hair shampoo advert tag line!) then roll away. Even in the real popiah, you need a very sharp knife to do the slicing. Tastes a bit like a sushi Maki roll, with the nonya popiah filling, but overall, went down very well with my family, and also VERY filling, like a ton of bricks. I had 4 and I was packed. And yes, full of fat, pork fats, pork oil, fried lard etc.... wanna know what I added, Ask. Very interesting! Did you substitute the skin with seaweed? Was it easy to wrap and stay in shape? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 Using eggs as the skin would result in a huge amount of eggs and too much time taken just to make this dish. Eggs also will break when you roll to some extent. Hmm...interesting I was expecting you to do an egg skin i.e. very thin omelette and use it to wrap the fillings Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 Kumsia Bro Ah Leon, when you set your mind to it, you can come out with a lot of possibilities and answers to a problem. Give it a go, btw folks, the Jicama aka Mung Kwang, no need to fry and stew till soft etc... use a slow cooker, the one with the earthen pot, add ingredients in that you pan friend, and the jicama, just a small cup of water, yes very small cup and set to high and let the pot do the rest. after stewing for like 4-5hrs, I left the pot to cool down, before transferring the whole pot into the chiller, for 2 days to let the ingredients soak up whatever stew that came out. Thus making it dryer and easier to use in a wrap, if too watery, the warp will be saturated, and break in the process. Cook over the weekend, eat during the weekday, no hassle, no fuss. Note: No sugars, sauces were used. My leftover chicken rice chilli came in handy, made one big bottle the other time, and used it for the popiah as well, take a small dish worth out, squeeze a bit of lemon juice over, mix, then spread into the seaweed as you would in a normal popiah with sambal balachen, then load on the rest and roll. Taste wise, you try and tell me. Bro MO...u r da CREATIVE chef!!! I was expecting to see thin egg wrap too...n u surprised us with seaweed! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 (edited) do you guys use bodyspace? becos if you go there, the information there is quite good Edited August 25, 2010 by Ithunk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 Yes, been there a long time ago, one thing is, it's meant for Caucasian diets, and some of the stuff are not readily available here. Personally I'd go with changes and modifications to our Asian foods, to suit the local pallet. I had tuna for so long a time, I felt like a dolphin! Also, in this diet, bread is a no no. Tracking one's progress, again, personally, take a photo before, and thereafter every 2 weeks, and you will see the vast differences instead of measuring etc.. which can varies from the spot you last measured to where you're measuring now, tightness of the tap etc.. what you really want is to SEE results. Change in food menu, modifying dishes, makes it more fun for me. do you guys use bodyspace? becos if you go there, the information there is quite good ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...