Budget  

182 members have voted

1. 1. How much

• $1,000-$3,000
    • $3,000-$5,000
    • $5,000-$7,000
    • $7,000-$10,000
    • More than $10,000

heylohhhh... any diamond pros here? can help anot..i looking around for diamond and found this 2 pieces in my price range from white flash...

http://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...ond-2183236.htm

http://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...ond-2231194.htm

i would prefer GIA certified ones.

if have to choose between this 2 i would go for http://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...ond-2183236.htm

but honestly imo i wont go for any of those 2. reason being. D color is good but not good with out clarity. F color is not as good and clarity is not there.

with that budget i would ask u to go a little smaller. den pay for clarity and cut. color E or F is fine. but best u can get VVS2 at least plus a 3Xexcellence cut diamond. with the right setting it will look bigger white and sparkle well.

heylohhhh... any diamond pros here? can help anot..i looking around for diamond and found this 2 pieces in my price range from white flash...

hey i was like u when scouting for my proposal ring, like many guys we r very concern w the technical aspect of the diamond, check the 4 C's the ratings etc. but really after all is settled down n placed on the finger the main "C" that stands out is the "Carat". the Cut, clarity and color plays a big role if u intend to resell the rock or upsize it in future, but since it's the proposal rock n likely ur wife will keep it for life, so really no point getting the best. i agree w u on paper having D color VVSI looks good, but on the finger no one can tell a D from a G and unless u have a 2 carat rock u can't see wat the diff b/w VVS1 n a SI man. as for Cut i agree that try to get 3 ex (triple excellence), the cut is the Most impt, it gives the sparkle to the rock, so don't discount on that

so i advice is to sacrifice alittle on the clarity n color n get a bigger rock. well that's my 2 cents, n i'm sure many will disagree. for ur info i got a D color, VS2 3Ex rock GIA certified, n i kinda regret not getting a bigger rock with a G color. but then end of day as long as u n ur wife happy that's the best.

Edited by Tunge

yea agree... key is surprise. however i guess gers all have this ability. somehow some way she will know its coming!

ya.. i wasnt able to suprise also... sian...

On that day she even "block" my plans deliberately.... she say she wanna see what i m gonna do. [laugh] [laugh]

Can we trust these websites? I have considered buying online before.... but still went with shop in the end cos if anything happen, at the least the shop is still there and u can bring it for cleaning, upgrades, etc....

Also, online u can't see the diamond physically.... when u shop for diamond, sometimes the diamond u like not necessary the 1 with higher specs... so slightly subjective as well.

LW $1-2 ring nice anot?i planning get not so ex ring and another thing..so ring dont intend get so ex for the ring..

I have asked many women before my proposal, to women, proposal ring is much more important than wedding ring.

so spend more on a good proposal ring.

i spent $10k plus a bit, for a proposal ring and $400 on her wedding band. she is happy and i am broke!

not all la..

my CO like watch..damn i broke liao la.. [laugh] i buy also feel happier if i got a watch

her friend family own a few mountains in Myanmar doing gemstone etc..so no point get for her..lol..

Ytd i was shopping for a proposal ring... I was walking around tampines mall/one area, after going through all the shops i was deciding on a 0.46carat color D clarity VVS1, EX,VG,VG from Soo kee. the SE quoted me $2499 after resetting and everything.

i was wondering i whether or not its a good deal. i suddenly tot of my buddy's gf, who is somewhat a expert in diamonds. she told me a proposal ring is supposed to be 4x my monthly income. and my gf deserve morethan a 0.44 $2.5k ring i was like, like that i must spend more than $10k liao.

she also advise that no point gg to the general shops as im actually paying for the brand. she told me she wanna recommend me a few private custom jewellers to custom set for me

im wondering how much u guys spend on the ring that make u go on ur knees and whether u all got custom jewellers to intro anot... i dont mind spending but most impt must get best deal

know someone who spend about 20k

Actually, the value of the rock drops 40% in value the moment you sign on that credit card slip; it's not an investment but a luxury. Spend wisely...

Woah...It depreciate [sweatdrop] faster than a CAR!!!

You won't go wrong if you buy from Tiffany. The box itself will get a WoW.

Back then, I think it only cost me <$2k for a "smallitare", just a tiny piece of stone with platinum ring.

$10k now proposal ring? Ok, I am lucky.

not all la..

my CO like watch..damn i broke liao la.. [laugh] i buy also feel happier if i got a watch

her friend family own a few mountains in Myanmar doing gemstone etc..so no point get for her..lol..

wow, talking about watch, my misses love RADO, c--k man, y cant she settle for swatch!

I agree to the size part, no need to go for brand, after a while when she wear out, people will just look at the size.

I was pretty gong last time to go for the brand and all the funny cuts due to heavy marketing, i bought a 0.46cts Brilliant Rose from Soo Kee @$4.6k should have just gone for no brand but at least 0.5cts.

I agree to the size part, no need to go for brand, after a while when she wear out, people will just look at the size.

I was pretty gong last time to go for the brand and all the funny cuts due to heavy marketing, i bought a 0.46cts Brilliant Rose from Soo Kee @$4.6k should have just gone for no brand but at least 0.5cts.

but you can always sell back your brillant rose at 10% loss and get a 0.5Ct now wor [:p]

anyway, .04 is hard to notice by naked eyes so no problem lah.

know someone who spend about 20k

yea i heard of some lich farkers also spend this kinda money.... <_<

no need to buy to funny funny cuts... just make sure its certified diamonds those in house cert no par kay hor...