Singhao 1st Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Young people (ok i'm not that old... i'm 28) nowadays really think differently. They have the mindset that they are entitled to things that the older generation would be grateful for. This "strawberry generation" is really a weak bunch of people. Dunno how they will turn out when they grow up. Next time when I have kids, i think they will ask for a condo for their 21st birthday??? To the threadstarter, it's not about whether ur parents are rich or not... If you feel grateful to your parents for ANY car/motorcycle that they will buy you, i don't think people will slam you like they have. Don't exploit their love for you. I was driving the mk 6 golf last year and just changed to a scirocco. Both paid with my own money and i feel so satisfied driving these cars around. I don't think i will feel the same and my friends will secretly laugh at me if i had depended on my parents to buy some flashy car... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 until a bus/van/truck passes by and you suck in their diesel exhaust Well, it depends on d route u choose. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 macpherson to china sq is near lah... from tampines to tuas is another story.... Well, still can do MRT + Bicycle rite? Actually, it is not that far. I think it is about 30km only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 and the worst thing is come here start another thread and ask again I think the parents will go idobaby to ask..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 (edited) Everyday i spot about 3 sciroccos on the road. Mostly 2.0L version Seems like there are more sciroccos than polo drivers. Anyway guys, how do i persuade my parents to buy another car? I've tried almost all ways. Except telling them im thinking of getting a class 2B license. Although im kind of interested in learning a new skill but i feel its like kinda of threatening them to get me a car? anyone can share their experience? You are really a PIGkachu. This type of things also want to whine. Your parents "kiap" you alot meh ? Take care of you until so big and now also have to buy a car for you. They want to buy for you they will buy, they don't want to buy for you so be it. Don't stress them up over such issue. It is a car and not buying a toy. Go and study hard and get a good job or save your money. This way you can buy your own car. Anyway, family got one car and can let you drive when it is not used can "Tao Chio" leow. Anyway, how much is the 1.4 version ? Edited March 22, 2010 by Renegade777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Anyway, how much is the 1.4 version ? seems like around 97-98k..not entirely sure.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assaxefour 1st Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 with singaporean like TS, who needs FT? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SeriousGuy 2nd Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 I drove my friend scirocco before 1.4 version de , because he need to fetch more people and need bigger car, so he borrowed my car i drove 100KM/H+ along BKE and i can say it is very stable and the engine react very fast not like my car will lag awhile , but the car is very very very uncomfortable, the backseat is even worst. if you want speed take this car, if you want comfortable (my advise is do not take this car!) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raining Neutral Newbie March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Its precisely we have these people thats why we need FT... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myrl Clutched March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Everyday i spot about 3 sciroccos on the road. Mostly 2.0L version Seems like there are more sciroccos than polo drivers. Anyway guys, how do i persuade my parents to buy another car? I've tried almost all ways. Except telling them im thinking of getting a class 2B license. Although im kind of interested in learning a new skill but i feel its like kinda of threatening them to get me a car? anyone can share their experience? TS, it is not the intention of everyone to be harsh on you. The general sentiment on this forum is that "if you want it, you have to earn it". Most people have worked several years before buying their dream car and they understand the difficulty in affording and maintaining a car. To merely ask your parents to buy one for you, and a rather expensive one at that, because "they can afford it" appears a an ill-thought idea. To be honest, it is also not fair on you because you did not seem to share how financially sound your family is. If your family's combined income is $30~40k per month and then I have no doubt your family can afford a Scirocco as a second car. And none of us have any right to say you cannot ask your parents for one. I think anyone of us will buy a car for our children on a whim if the cost was merely a fraction of our net worth. However, my point is this: you need to appreciate the idea of owning a car. Even though your family can afford it, start small and most importantly, pay for it using your own money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 You are really a PIGkachu. This type of things also want to whine. Your parents "kiap" you alot meh ? Take care of you until so big and now also have to buy a car for you. They want to buy for you they will buy, they don't want to buy for you so be it. Don't stress them up over such issue. It is a car and not buying a toy. Go and study hard and get a good job or save your money. This way you can buy your own car. Anyway, family got one car and can let you drive when it is not used can "Tao Chio" leow. Anyway, how much is the 1.4 version ? not all about backbone la. you all keep thinking of pride ego pride ego. if you can earn 50k a month from being a beggar will you do it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear March 23, 2010 Share March 23, 2010 and the worst thing is come here start another thread and ask again At least it's not like the big bull's thread asking what car should a fresh graduate buy...hahah Cut the TS some slack - his parents may well afford it - both of them sounds like working professionals (doctors? ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear March 23, 2010 Share March 23, 2010 (edited) not all about backbone la. you all keep thinking of pride ego pride ego. if you can earn 50k a month from being a beggar will you do it? if one is agreeable to earning 50k a month from begging, god knows what one is agreeable to doing to earn 100k a month. and if this person is your friend, good luck, he may sell you out for a mere 10k per month. this kind of person is the will do anything for money type. Edited March 23, 2010 by Viceroymenthol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear March 23, 2010 Share March 23, 2010 if one is agreeable to earning 50k a month from begging, god knows what one is agreeable to doing to earn 100k a month. and if this person is your friend, good luck, he may sell you out for a mere 10k per month. this kind of person is the will do anything for money type. as long as it doesnt harm anyone its worth doing what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tron Neutral Newbie March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 as long as it doesnt harm anyone its worth doing what. u mean to sell a fren out for 10K? haha basket.. dun say 10K.. my "good fortune" has seen my "good" fren of many years screw me up for only 6K.. but best part.. still got face to call me and greet me as bro - as if nothing ever happened. amazes me how thickskin some ppl can be. So lets us all not be so surprised tat even towards own family some ppl will demand more than wat they already have or deserve. in this particular case, i suspect that tat pigkachu is baiting ppl in the forum to reply rather than serious abt her/his so called "want/need" for a ride from parents... attention seeker lah.. not enough love at home mah.. cos parents dun wan buy car. altho we all can tok england powderfully... we are after all still very much ingrained with certain family values.. so unless pigkachu is not asian; the majority of responses so far is nothing short of OBVIOUS - unless one is that stupid, wat other reply does pigkachu expect to get for her/his question in a car forum based in SG? anywys, since she/he is already down that path of "wallowing in agony" due to the lack of a car.. might as well make it worth her/his agony by requesting for a GTR..? its VERY Affordable from the POV of a rich family... where else can you get Ferrari beating performance for the price of a Nissan.. and Nissan is not Conti car like VW.. so its even cheaper than a VW.. why then would pigkachu's parents object? So the whole problem started because pigkachu requested for the wrong type of car.. otherwise she/he wld have gotten her/his dream long ago. But only problem i see now is tat this whole thread must be moved to the Jap section of this forum.. Nissan not conti car lah.. haha Now it makes sense doesnt it? No? p.s: for the benefit of those who think why i put SHE infront of HE.. well it seems tat nowadays women have more backbone than men.. so put the female in front better - even i also ashamed to be a man be pussy(cat) better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bornno1 1st Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 my parents no license, so i earn my keep, nuff said. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zafchen Neutral Newbie March 30, 2010 Share March 30, 2010 my case is my dad friend wan to let go his ride at scarp value... so my dad ask him to sell to me... my dad help me pay for the transfer fee and watever admin stuff... the rest is on myself....my dad didnt really 100% buy me 1.. he just help to start off this.. end of the day he still want me to be independent enough to support my car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Niteblu Neutral Newbie March 30, 2010 Share March 30, 2010 do you think his parents are rich people if they have to discuss and ponder so long about which side pay how much. if they are rich, this pigkachu here will be given a car without even asking for it. yes? if a car is not considered to be "costly" to his parents, pigkachu should have no problems getting the car he wants. but the question here is, why is pigkachu behaving like a spoilt brat? same reason why many brats behave the way they do. their parents allow them to. pigkachu. if i were your folks i'd buy the car for you. scirocco 2.0t drive it into the ocean. and ask you to swim after it. shame on you. go look in the mirror. at the person you are. the person you've become. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...