Singhao 1st Gear May 13, 2010 Share May 13, 2010 Just compare with the Golf can already. The Golf can squeeze 3 behind. Scirocco is only 2. If you look carefully, the Scirocco's rear cabin is tapered so as to give its rear wheels that protruding look. So although the Roc has same wheelbase as Golf, potential rear space was sacrificed for sexy looks. I tried sitting in the back myself and felt a bit claustrophobic. Maybe the small windows and dark tinting also played a part. Anyway, I am not saying the Scirocco is a bad car, just that for the sake of looks, some things were compromised. Yup it can feel claustrophobic due to the small and tinted windows and low roof. Something's gotta give in a sexier design. I was more concerned about leg and shoulder room and it turned out to be similar to the Golf. Becool73, unless you are a hardcore need for speedster, 1.4 TC+SC is enough. Stock is 160bhp/240nm. 0-100 in 8s. Delightful pop when changing gears. With Stage 1 done, it's approximately 200bhp/280nm. Bang for buck! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busker888 1st Gear May 13, 2010 Share May 13, 2010 That is a very apt analogy and I was thinking along the same lines. It's like getting a chio b1tch as GF .... first few months very sexcited but once the spell wears off, have to put up with all the inherent defects. high % Similarity to Mit Colt hatch seen many years back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 Bro, your Roc is 1.4 or 2L? It does the "Pock" sound just like GTI? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched May 15, 2010 Share May 15, 2010 finally this thread has more focus on sciroccos. just a question for scirocco owners, FC and any other issues? recommend 1.4 or 2.0? many say 1.4 is enough. tested the car, loved it, thinking of switching to one. personally i think the sunroof for 2.0 is a joke, cannot open completely, only raise at an angle.. zzz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear May 15, 2010 Share May 15, 2010 (edited) Depends on what u want. Urban drive with plenty of start stop, then 1.4 is enough. Wouldn't say cheap but affordable. If u do high way run, as the saying goes, there's no replacement for displacement. Many a times most people whom do short test drive will conclude that 1.4 is enough Edited May 15, 2010 by Sony Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shemmy Clutched May 15, 2010 Share May 15, 2010 finally this thread has more focus on sciroccos. just a question for scirocco owners, FC and any other issues? recommend 1.4 or 2.0? many say 1.4 is enough. tested the car, loved it, thinking of switching to one. personally i think the sunroof for 2.0 is a joke, cannot open completely, only raise at an angle.. zzz. My wife averages 15km/l for the scirocco 1.4. She does mostly highway. On her daily lengthy route to work daily, the obd reads almost 18km/l avg.. Don't dream abt the kind of consumption for the 2.0. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 15, 2010 Share May 15, 2010 It's easy to get your parents to pay for your car. Just kill them. Take the inheritance and then you can buy your car? That's why some women are prostitutes. They can sell their bodies for a price. Anyone can be fine candidate to sell their soul to the devil. Why do it halfway? Do it all the way and be damned. Mwhahahahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear May 15, 2010 Share May 15, 2010 It's easy to get your parents to pay for your car. Just kill them. Take the inheritance and then you can buy your car? That's why some women are prostitutes. They can sell their bodies for a price. Anyone can be fine candidate to sell their soul to the devil. Why do it halfway? Do it all the way and be damned. Mwhahahahaha. Some kill the cow for beef but there's others whom look forward to milking the cow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Retroguy Neutral Newbie May 15, 2010 Share May 15, 2010 Sciroccos, they are always ahead of me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie May 15, 2010 Share May 15, 2010 thanks for the advice honestly, i feel that the main reason why my parents are not willing to buy because my dad and mom cannot come to an agreement on how much each person should contribute. its like mom say 50 50 dad say 70 30. in the end they drop the topic and the children suffer. What do you mean by children suffer? You mean you're suffering because your parents are not buying you a car? Biggest joke I've ever heard. Open your eyes big big and see those folks who have to take public transport since they day they are born till the day the lie in their coffins. At 80 yr old, in the MRT and still no one gives up their seat to them. THAT is what I call suffering, kid... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 15, 2010 Share May 15, 2010 Some kill the cow for beef but there's others whom look forward to milking the cow Selling your mom away as a prostitute? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear May 15, 2010 Share May 15, 2010 Selling your mom away as a prostitute? tell it to the one stomping on the floor for a new car from mummy.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched May 15, 2010 Share May 15, 2010 Depends on what u want. Urban drive with plenty of start stop, then 1.4 is enough. Wouldn't say cheap but affordable. If u do high way run, as the saying goes, there's no replacement for displacement. Many a times most people whom do short test drive will conclude that 1.4 is enough for me, most of the time on expressways. im still considering whether its worth to pay the price premium for more performance (1sec faster), useless sunroof, bi-xenon lights, and comfort/sport buttons on central console. the car feels very torquey and engine is pretty rev-happy. i made the first u-turn during my test drive and it was slow, i tapped on the accelerator and it jerked forward.. end up i did a u-turn over 3 lanes for a small car lol. feel so noob then. power wise, 0-80km/h is quite fast. but reaching 80, maybe from 70 onwards, i think theres a flat spot. on paper, 5.8seconds to reach 80 and another 2.2seconds to reach 100. but i see people getting 7seconds+ on youtube for 1.4. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightwave Neutral Newbie May 15, 2010 Share May 15, 2010 Hi guys, i am new to this forum, don't mean to intrude but it appears that i am "too new" to start a new topic... Thinking of getting a new car, what do you guys think of the Opel Insignia? is it a good buy? Appreciate if you could give me some advice...:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear May 16, 2010 Share May 16, 2010 If we are taking about 2L, I think most people will go for the GTI. Alternatively, pray that VW will bring in the Scirocco R. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahseng 5th Gear May 16, 2010 Share May 16, 2010 hmm whats wrong with asking parents to buy a car when they can easily afford it? many youngster get their first car this way too. i cant share the current family car because both my parents need it for work. besides, all im asking for is a 2nd hand car that is affordable. if they buy a chery QQ for u , can tao chio liao. still wan to choose ...alamak Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear May 16, 2010 Share May 16, 2010 if ur parents are rich enough, they wouldnt arguing who pay more or less... my dad brought a few mths left old car for my sis to drive and she complained steering too hard to turn...wasted..sold after 1 week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_young_once Neutral Newbie May 16, 2010 Share May 16, 2010 Everyday i spot about 3 sciroccos on the road. Mostly 2.0L version Seems like there are more sciroccos than polo drivers. Anyway guys, how do i persuade my parents to buy another car? I've tried almost all ways. Except telling them im thinking of getting a class 2B license. Although im kind of interested in learning a new skill but i feel its like kinda of threatening them to get me a car? anyone can share their experience? my parents would tell me: good, at least if motorbike it come out of your pocket, feel the pinch of vehicle ownership, and hence no argument---I find it strange why in Singapore people have "anti-bike" mentality, drivers treat bikers like 2nd class motorists, EVERYONE should own and ride (at least class 2B) bike for a good year or so before allowed to have class 3 license, teach them the hardship of bikes and learn to be more accommodating and considerate to all! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...