Kwchan 1st Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 But as a guy, pls have a backbone... My first car was bought by my parents but I insisted on paying them back every single cent for the car... from your nickname, i guess you should be born in 70s too? I noticed that those who born in the 70s have more "backbone", I have friends from rich families and they also insist on paying their own ride. In fact, their parents bought them good cars already but they still refused to drive because the rides are not paid from their own pocket! They rather leave the car at home and squeeze bus/MRT. On the other hand, those who born in the late-80s are more pampered and expect the parents to buy expensive items for them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 from your nickname, i guess you should be born in 70s too? I noticed that those who born in the 70s have more "backbone", I have friends from rich families and they also insist on paying their own ride. In fact, their parents bought them good cars already but they still refused to drive because the rides are not paid from their own pocket! They rather leave the car at home and squeeze bus/MRT. On the other hand, those who born in the late-80s are more pampered and expect the parents to buy expensive items for them. Last batch of the 70s bro.. ha!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Everyday i spot about 3 sciroccos on the road. Mostly 2.0L version Seems like there are more sciroccos than polo drivers. Anyway guys, how do i persuade my parents to buy another car? I've tried almost all ways. Except telling them im thinking of getting a class 2B license. Although im kind of interested in learning a new skill but i feel its like kinda of threatening them to get me a car? anyone can share their experience? if ur parents v. well to do, might not even need u to persuade? if comfortable but stinge on gettin 2nd car, it's becos they know it's not worth dat expenditure. but if they could still be calculative over it, den i think they not so well to do after all. i wouldn't persuade them even they could afford it, but would try to use my own legitimate means. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 thanks for the advice honestly, i feel that the main reason why my parents are not willing to buy because my dad and mom cannot come to an agreement on how much each person should contribute. its like mom say 50 50 dad say 70 30. in the end they drop the topic and the children suffer. I dun really subscribe to asking parent to buy car... like eating soft rice... but thats besides the point. If it is really the 50-50/70-30 issue, then it's real simple. Just ask them to contribute 30% each of the price of the scirocco. I am sure you can find something at 60% price of scirocco right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 ive thought of this too. my intention is to share the car with my sis on days she has sch because we live in the east and she studies in the west. so she needs about 3 hours of traveling time each day. well do u think its a valid reason? Why can't ur sis stays at hostel? On d other hand, looking at the healthier option. Train & Bicycle. Why die die must drive? Ang mo r taking on healthier option & most of us would rather be a lab rat in d gym. Pls don't tell air quality no good. I have fren (girl hor) who cycle from Macpherson Rd to China Sq to work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drumstick Clutched March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Why can't ur sis stays at hostel? On d other hand, looking at the healthier option. Train & Bicycle. Why die die must drive? Ang mo r taking on healthier option & most of us would rather be a lab rat in d gym. Pls don't tell air quality no good. I have fren (girl hor) who cycle from Macpherson Rd to China Sq to work. Wah... that's a long distance to cycle... leg muscle must be firmly built up... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Cycle than road user complain, predistian complain. Being cyclist are the toughest type of transport in Singapore. It may also be a problem if your workplace do not have shower/changing room facilities. Yap, I used to live in hostel as I can't stand travel for hours in train & squeeze the bus to school every morning. Can also nap during the afternoon in between lesson too. :p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Wah... that's a long distance to cycle... leg muscle must be firmly built up... No necessary. It is all boil down to efficiency of pedalling. As long as bicycle is moving, juz maintain the speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Cycle than road user complain, predistian complain. Being cyclist are the toughest type of transport in Singapore. It may also be a problem if your workplace do not have shower/changing room facilities. Yap, I used to live in hostel as I can't stand travel for hours in train & squeeze the bus to school every morning. Can also nap during the afternoon in between lesson too. :p How long does it take to overtake motorcycle? It would take the same time. On d other hand, if keeping pedalling spd around 20km/h (pls don't compare wif ka hor), 1 might sweat less. As long as got toilet, can change in toilet. Lastly, it is refreshing to breath fresh air rather than stale air from air cond in the morning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 poor baby, i try to help: 1) Ask for car for birthday present 2) Ask for car for x'mas present 3) Ask for car for children's day present and last but not least: 4) Get 2B, get bike, get into accident but try not to die or be paralysed, then ask for car by saying: "See lah!" in hospital bed 5) If 4) fails, tell them u going for 2A and a more powerful bike Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pigkachu Neutral Newbie March 22, 2010 Author Share March 22, 2010 From the post, it looks like the OP is a student, so I doubt he can contribute much to the upkeep. But since most of us have more humble background & pay for our own car, (& proud of it), it easy to dismiss him, but I personally don't think there is any wrong with asking parent for cars if they can afford it comfortable & wanna sayang their kid. In the states, its common for parent to buy their kids a car once they got their licene, & no one will lid an eyebrow. As least, he didn't ask for an Evo, or WRX. If I am the parent, I would certainly be scared & disappove. thanks for ur support. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extramint Clutched March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 thanks for ur support. but can your parents afford that average car you ask of, comfortably? what kind of car you are asking for. what kind of family background do you come from. i think these 2 set of info will help us know whether your parents can afford the extra car properly. no point asking for a car when your parents can't afford it AT ALL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Why can't ur sis stays at hostel? On d other hand, looking at the healthier option. Train & Bicycle. Why die die must drive? Ang mo r taking on healthier option & most of us would rather be a lab rat in d gym. Pls don't tell air quality no good. I have fren (girl hor) who cycle from Macpherson Rd to China Sq to work. macpherson to china sq is near lah... from tampines to tuas is another story.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 No necessary. It is all boil down to efficiency of pedalling. As long as bicycle is moving, juz maintain the speed. And depending on the route you take, you might take less time for the trip than if you were to take public transport. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Lastly, it is refreshing to breath fresh air rather than stale air from air cond in the morning. until a bus/van/truck passes by and you suck in their diesel exhaust Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Everyday i spot about 3 sciroccos on the road. Mostly 2.0L version Seems like there are more sciroccos than polo drivers. Anyway guys, how do i persuade my parents to buy another car? I've tried almost all ways. Except telling them im thinking of getting a class 2B license. Although im kind of interested in learning a new skill but i feel its like kinda of threatening them to get me a car? anyone can share their experience? eh by the way when u see many VW Sciroccos on the road, then you also want to buy what if many lambo on the road? You also persuade ur parent to get one for u too?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 do you think his parents are rich people if they have to discuss and ponder so long about which side pay how much. if they are rich, this pigkachu here will be given a car without even asking for it. yes? if a car is not considered to be "costly" to his parents, pigkachu should have no problems getting the car he wants. but the question here is, why is pigkachu behaving like a spoilt brat? hey, it's buying a car.. of coz got to ponder.. whether it's going to be FWD, RWD or 4WD.. then what colour, what type of engine.. you think being parents is easy nowadays? buy the wrong toy and we got to go shopping again.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 hey, it's buying a car.. of coz got to ponder.. whether it's going to be FWD, RWD or 4WD.. then what colour, what type of engine.. you think being parents is easy nowadays? buy the wrong toy and we got to go shopping again.. and the worst thing is come here start another thread and ask again ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...