Sony 1st Gear May 16, 2010 Share May 16, 2010 Hi guys, i am new to this forum, don't mean to intrude but it appears that i am "too new" to start a new topic... Thinking of getting a new car, what do you guys think of the Opel Insignia? is it a good buy? Appreciate if you could give me some advice...:) there's a thread on insignia, check it out over there ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightwave Neutral Newbie May 16, 2010 Share May 16, 2010 Ok thanks guys :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear June 1, 2010 Share June 1, 2010 It's easy to get your parents to pay for your car. Just kill them. Take the inheritance and then you can buy your car? That's why some women are prostitutes. They can sell their bodies for a price. Anyone can be fine candidate to sell their soul to the devil. Why do it halfway? Do it all the way and be damned. Mwhahahahaha. huh, nowadays if the parents die, all the outstanding loans the kids must pay... hahaha i don't think that most parents in the middle/ low-income level have any inheritance to leave when they pass on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged June 2, 2010 Share June 2, 2010 hmm whats wrong with asking parents to buy a car when they can easily afford it? many youngster get their first car this way too. i cant share the current family car because both my parents need it for work. besides, all im asking for is a 2nd hand car that is affordable. Typical spoilt brat. If they want to buy a car for you, they will do so without even you asking them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear June 2, 2010 Share June 2, 2010 That's because in the US, cars are cheap, and also cars are required for travel (long distances). That's what i wanted to say, in US it's almost impossible to travel by public transport. it's too in accessible. In SG is different, everywhere is accessible by Bus/MRT and cost of owning a Car in US is much much cheaper than SG. In US people need to walk KMs to the nearest Bus/Train station if there is 1, you risk being rob/rape if you get back late, you should know most places dun have street lightings or very dim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear June 2, 2010 Share June 2, 2010 (edited) How many of you have kids here? It really makes me think twice of having one..........haiz............. Next time will he/she ask me buy a VW Scirocco for him/her? I think i will slap him/her, nin laopei work until 30+ then can afford a nice car, you ask then have liao ah. Somemore more expensive than my car! Edited June 2, 2010 by Hoppie24 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear June 2, 2010 Share June 2, 2010 the Scirocco is really too over-hyped lah.... and the blind spot is caused by the shallow windows and thick pillars.... as for rear seat space, i think it's about Golf size, just that you get 2 rear individual seats that's all.... the Golf isn't that much wider anyways.... but if it's my money, i'd go for the Kia Koup 1.6A though....good enough for me head turner that works as well as the Scirocco.... power is not really needed for Singapore roads, but image is.... and that counts!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched June 2, 2010 Share June 2, 2010 the Scirocco is really too over-hyped lah.... and the blind spot is caused by the shallow windows and thick pillars.... as for rear seat space, i think it's about Golf size, just that you get 2 rear individual seats that's all.... the Golf isn't that much wider anyways.... but if it's my money, i'd go for the Kia Koup 1.6A though....good enough for me head turner that works as well as the Scirocco.... power is not really needed for Singapore roads, but image is.... and that counts!!! don't like that say leh bro.. im collecting my scirocco in august leh haha btw koup 1.6a is 65k or so now, scirocco 1.4tsi is 114k or so without discount.. its almost twice as much. difficult to compare fairly. (but my scirocco will have lower running costs :angry: ) different people different preferences.. if you value looks but dont need performance, koup is a nice car. i'd like to have some punch under the bonnet, whether i utilise it or not, is another matter. and 8s is decent to me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 2, 2010 Share June 2, 2010 the Scirocco is really too over-hyped lah.... and the blind spot is caused by the shallow windows and thick pillars.... as for rear seat space, i think it's about Golf size, just that you get 2 rear individual seats that's all.... the Golf isn't that much wider anyways.... but if it's my money, i'd go for the Kia Koup 1.6A though....good enough for me head turner that works as well as the Scirocco.... power is not really needed for Singapore roads, but image is.... and that counts!!! So when u buying? Talk no count. Must put money into action. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched June 2, 2010 Share June 2, 2010 (edited) the Scirocco is really too over-hyped lah.... and the blind spot is caused by the shallow windows and thick pillars.... as for rear seat space, i think it's about Golf size, just that you get 2 rear individual seats that's all.... the Golf isn't that much wider anyways.... but if it's my money, i'd go for the Kia Koup 1.6A though....good enough for me head turner that works as well as the Scirocco.... power is not really needed for Singapore roads, but image is.... and that counts!!! actually, to be fair to scirocco.. i dont think the pillars are thick with front windows being frameless, rear windows are small and cannot be wind down but thats just a small drawback for the sleek roofline. i know this because i tested it. did you? rear seat legroom is commendable for such hothatch already, length wise is golf territory but due to its body being wider, 2 adults sitting in the rear will not find their shoulders rubbing with each other uncomfortably. i know this because i tested it. did you? performance wise, no need to compare even though some people think 8s for 1.4tsi is not really quick.. but koup 1.6a is another category. since you dont think too much of having decent power on local roads, i'll stop at this and what do you drive? something flashy but not punchy? Edited June 2, 2010 by Coupecabriolet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 why not wait for the Roc R for those interested to get the 2L version. i think $10K more over the normal 2L is worth it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 actually, to be fair to scirocco.. i dont think the pillars are thick with front windows being frameless, rear windows are small and cannot be wind down but thats just a small drawback for the sleek roofline. i know this because i tested it. did you? rear seat legroom is commendable for such hothatch already, length wise is golf territory but due to its body being wider, 2 adults sitting in the rear will not find their shoulders rubbing with each other uncomfortably. i know this because i tested it. did you? performance wise, no need to compare even though some people think 8s for 1.4tsi is not really quick.. but koup 1.6a is another category. since you dont think too much of having decent power on local roads, i'll stop at this and what do you drive? something flashy but not punchy? i have tested this car long before you bothered lah.... and when did i ever say the rear seats are cramp??? i said it's comparable to the Golf's (though that isn't a big/ spacious car to begin with).... if i had wanted power, i'd have gotten myself a motorbike/ private jet/ private helicopter already.... more fun to be on/ in/ in..... and main point in getting coupes is (to me), the looks, and i think the Kia Koup does that job as good as the Scirocco.... and so what if i'm not as rich as you who can easily afford the Scirocco??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 the Scirocco is really too over-hyped lah.... and the blind spot is caused by the shallow windows and thick pillars.... as for rear seat space, i think it's about Golf size, just that you get 2 rear individual seats that's all.... the Golf isn't that much wider anyways.... but if it's my money, i'd go for the Kia Koup 1.6A though....good enough for me head turner that works as well as the Scirocco.... power is not really needed for Singapore roads, but image is.... and that counts!!! The koup is overhyped and expensive. The 2 door Getz is better and have a lot of mod potential. And for people with no money. It's a easier target Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelfinity 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 the Scirocco is really too over-hyped lah.... and the blind spot is caused by the shallow windows and thick pillars.... as for rear seat space, i think it's about Golf size, just that you get 2 rear individual seats that's all.... the Golf isn't that much wider anyways.... but if it's my money, i'd go for the Kia Koup 1.6A though....good enough for me head turner that works as well as the Scirocco.... power is not really needed for Singapore roads, but image is.... and that counts!!! Koup got image meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 The koup is overhyped and expensive. The 2 door Getz is better and have a lot of mod potential. And for people with no money. It's a easier target continue to look down on people who buy mainstream cars and you'll get your deserts.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 Koup got image meh? it definitely has the same appeal as the Scirocco to me, people who don't know the Koup will think it's an Audi/ BMW of some sorts.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 i have tested this car long before you bothered lah.... and when did i ever say the rear seats are cramp??? i said it's comparable to the Golf's (though that isn't a big/ spacious car to begin with).... if i had wanted power, i'd have gotten myself a motorbike/ private jet/ private helicopter already.... more fun to be on/ in/ in..... and main point in getting coupes is (to me), the looks, and i think the Kia Koup does that job as good as the Scirocco.... and so what if i'm not as rich as you who can easily afford the Scirocco??? hello again. nobody is talking about wealth or ability to afford this or that car. i'm merely referring to preferences. don't need to sound so sore. to begin with, koup and scirocco belong to different category of cars, be it price, looks, performance, features. hmm you tested the car, were you going to get one? or just trying to be a d1ck at all the showrooms at leng kee road? or went there get more info to complete your car bible so that you can come onto forums and vommit out what you know? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 it definitely has the same appeal as the Scirocco to me, people who don't know the Koup will think it's an Audi/ BMW of some sorts.... here, you've already proven that koup only has "image" to people who dont know the koup or rather, the car scene. good job patting yourself on your own back. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...