Kok Kee's wonton noodle is worth the wait

Blackseal

Are we all victims of her fame. She's is capitalising her fame and popularity

to increase the price.

To me nothing special just a plate of wanton mee.

Are we all victims of her fame. She's is capitalising her fame and popularity

to increase the price.

To me nothing special just a plate of wanton mee.

This is maciam like pxp supporter usually quieter in forum, and those oppo supporter always very vocal.

expensive or not very hard to say . like 1 bro mention some raman selling 8-10 sgd,

ppl eat like eating treasure like that , damn good, damn famous.

i go with my friend makan, knn its just soup noodle wat. just that japanese call them raman, so u eat already u feel more japanese?? i dun like and a bowl or normal curry noodle go for 10sgd.

but u put chinese name. curry mian, u try sell 10 sgd.

expensive or not very hard to say . like 1 bro mention some raman selling 8-10 sgd,

ppl eat like eating treasure like that , damn good, damn famous.

i go with my friend makan, knn its just soup noodle wat. just that japanese call them raman, so u eat already u feel more japanese?? i dun like and a bowl or normal curry noodle go for 10sgd.

but u put chinese name. curry mian, u try sell 10 sgd.

It is glorified Nissan noodles with extra ingredients. But I also spend the money to eat.... [laugh]

I like Ippudo. I also like sushi, and not the sake sushi type.

One man's meat is another's poison, also what is nice to one person is subjective to another. You try telling ang mor to eat curry fish head, they will puke.

Anyways, I think KK is good, I eat cause I like the taste, simple as that.

Just saw this tread...now I fully agree with the saying...one man's meat another man's poison...

That stall makan sucks. Even when I am around the area...this stall would not be on my to eat list.

Much better wantan noodles around.

IMHO...the reason why there is always a queue....the stall owner is damn slow...tried once...verdict was...wasted my 30mins. [:p]

Come on, if it is not good, there won't even be a queue in the first case regardless whether it is fast or slow. It is the queuing time and not the length of queue that really show which are the more popular ones.

Anyway, what is this $5 dollar noodle when you compare it to Tim Ho Wan dim sum. Longer queue yet nothing special, according to most review I heard.

It is not fair to say that if you have not been there yourself.

Nothing Special -_-

Bloody hell post picture.... Make feel like going there to makan again.. in July I went there eat 3x liao..

I also ate 3 times in July. [laugh]

anyway,Jurong West Market Hawker got one branch.Run by their predecessor i reckon.

same taste to me. and i like it.$3.50 for big plate liao.

recently i found 1 chicken feet mee stall. Yummy

Shop name called "Da Jie"

Located at the Juction of Jalan Besar and Sam Leong road coffeeshop.

i won't deny their wanton mee is nice. But their price increase macham petrol increase. Imo Somemore the mee portion became lesser.

They only gv red chilli leh. koo koo jiak one time ok lah. [cool]

I have to admit Kok Kee wanton mee is nicer than the general wanton mee stalls around Singapore. But the effort and time to queue with price hike, i don't feel is worth it. If there's little or no queue, i'd probably go for it. Too bad my next alternative beef kway tiao store has closed down. [bigcry]

recently i found 1 chicken feet mee stall. Yummy

Shop name called "Da Jie"

Located at the Juction of Jalan Besar and Sam Leong road coffeeshop.

same coffeeshop as mutton soup??

taste not bad..

Come on, if it is not good, there won't even be a queue in the first case regardless whether it is fast or slow. It is the queuing time and not the length of queue that really show which are the more popular ones.

I say liao mah...one man meat another man poison.

Some maybe just like me queue to try...but you won't find me in that queue again lor.

where is this Ah Eng Wanton ? Post only say Tanjong Katong ....

Edit : found the address

Eng's Noodles House

287 Tanjong Katong Road

Singapore 437070

11am to 9pm daily

Takeaway or Order Hotline

86882727 (45 mins advance)

Edited by Cerealkiller

Go to this place in Batu Pahat...

The noodles there...very solid...

http://www.batupahat.org/?p=100&cpage=1#comment-24837

I will try this old man wonton mee stall in my next Penang road trip.

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2015/02/05/10sen-wantan-a-hit-following-report/

Published: Thursday February 5, 2015 MYT 12:00:00 AM

Updated: Thursday February 5, 2015 MYT 8:25:44 AM

10sen wantan a hit following report

BY JOLYNN FRANCIS

GEORGE TOWN: A 66-year-old retiree would never have bothered to look for Gan Seng Lean’s stall selling 10sen wantan in Jalan Lembah Permai despite staying in the area if not for a report in The Star.

“If not for the report, my wife and I would not have known about the wantan mee stall.

“There’s not even a sign indicating its whereabouts,” said the ePaper bundle subscriber, who only wanted to be known as Chan, when interviewed at the stall in Tanjung Bungah yesterday.

Chan said the texture of the noodles was good and distinct.

“We will definitely come back,” he said, adding that although it was cheap, it was good and value for money.

Another first timer Quah Siang Hock, 39, said he had heard of the place by word of mouth a few months back but decided to give it a go after being forwarded the article via a Whatsapp message.

“My children love the deep-fried wantan. The 10sen price is something one cannot find in Penang,” he said, adding that he also lives in the area.

First-timer Dobinder Bains, 63, and his wife Janet from the United Kingdom also stumbled on Gan’s place after reading about it in The Star.

“We prefer noodles over rice. The portions here are good,” he said.

Business has been brisk for the stall since it was featured on Tuesday under the headline “80-year-old seller: My wantan the cheapest in Penang”.

Gan, 80, who has been in the wantan noodle business for more than 50 years said there were definitely more first timers paying a visit to his stall since the article came out.

“I served up my noodles to quite a few new faces today.

“I am expecting more customers when the Tunku Abdul Rahman University College’s new semester starts.

“My wantan mee has been priced at RM2.50 for a small plate and RM3 for a large plate for the last five years.

“The portions have also remained the same,” he said, adding that he would get an average of 30 to 40 customers a day.

Those who wish to sample the noodles can visit his stall-cum-home at 71, Jalan Lembah Permai.

Business opens daily from 9am to 10.30pm.

• Praise 10