Kia K5

Tohto

I agree, does not match up to the exterior's styling...

look at the center console.

look at the aircon vents

SIBEH old school

compare it with Kia Forte....

the younger brother is sooooo much nicer.

K5 is a letdown.

the interior is too harsh to feel comfy in.

the main competitor will be the legacy and mazda6.

look at the center console.

look at the aircon vents

SIBEH old school

compare it with Kia Forte....

the younger brother is sooooo much nicer.

K5 is a letdown.

the interior is too harsh to feel comfy in.

the main competitor will be the legacy and mazda6.

i agreed with you previously that the interior is a let down

but i went to see the car anyway and i am throughly impressed by it, the interior really feels up to standard

its so good that it beats out many other japanese cars

for one it doesn't feel plasticly all over, most plastic parts are either covered with leather or are of a high quality, the car is not just spacious, i had to stretch my legs just to touch the pedals and there was plenty of room at the back; probably the biggest mid sized luxury sedan i've ever sat in... is it even a mid sized sedan?

overall impression is that it felt like a bmw 7 series, i didn't do a test drive, just sat in it and admired it but i was throughly impressed

regarding the price, chevy epica sells for 120k, mazda 6 sells for 130k

chevy feels like plastics ALL OVER

mazda 6 is beautiful with nice interior but at best its comparable to the k5

i don't like hondas so i have yet to try out the accord

for 115k the k5 is truely value for money

you won't be able to find another car at this price range that offers any better value; i'm assuming that it drives like it looks, ie 2L car bracket

i'm sold and would have booked the car if i had the money

1.4TSI still leaves room for better performance. I'd take a 1.6TSI anytime with the current COE categorization. As with the case of the Kia K5, having a 2.0Turbo will boost its local sales.

end of the day its like the koup, everybody says that a 2L Turbo will make it a great car but nobody is willing to pay 120k for a koup or 150k for a k5

Subaru is indeed a niche brand. Just look at its sales. Furthermore, not many will take to its AWD Symmetrical Chassis.

awd is a paper tiger

in reality it doesn't bring any improvements for the very large amount of complexity and fuel economy

Test drove the 2.0 l K5, the 2l engine is not powerful enough to haul it's heavy body. C & C need to bring in the 2.4 l, as the 2l is sluggish on acceleration. Also what happened to the moon roof? Didn't quite like the suspension setup as it's too soft for my liking and the brake sucks.

Maybe if they bring in the sports tune k5, everything will be much better. The sports tune should have better damper and larger brake rotors giving it much better braking capabilities. Best if they bring in the turbo charge k5. Won't mind paying 130-140k for it.

Size and design of this ride puts it on par with the BMW 5 series, what it lacks is a good decent powerful engine and the diff between this two cars will be narrowed down tremendously. Given the price diff, i would go for the K5 provided it comes with a 2l turbo and cost less than 140k. Peformance sporty mid size sedan at this price will be a rare find.

i agreed with you previously that the interior is a let down

but i went to see the car anyway and i am throughly impressed by it, the interior really feels up to standard

its so good that it beats out many other japanese cars

for one it doesn't feel plasticly all over, most plastic parts are either covered with leather or are of a high quality, the car is not just spacious, i had to stretch my legs just to touch the pedals and there was plenty of room at the back; probably the biggest mid sized luxury sedan i've ever sat in... is it even a mid sized sedan?

overall impression is that it felt like a bmw 7 series, i didn't do a test drive, just sat in it and admired it but i was throughly impressed

regarding the price, chevy epica sells for 120k, mazda 6 sells for 130k

chevy feels like plastics ALL OVER

mazda 6 is beautiful with nice interior but at best its comparable to the k5

i don't like hondas so i have yet to try out the accord

for 115k the k5 is truely value for money

you won't be able to find another car at this price range that offers any better value; i'm assuming that it drives like it looks, ie 2L car bracket

i'm sold and would have booked the car if i had the money

the Mazda6 2.0 selling for $130k? It's OMV is about $28K

K5 for $115K? It's OMV is $17K

Test drove the 2.0 l K5, the 2l engine is not powerful enough to haul it's heavy body. C & C need to bring in the 2.4 l, as the 2l is sluggish on acceleration. Also what happened to the moon roof? Didn't quite like the suspension setup as it's too soft for my liking and the brake sucks.

Maybe if they bring in the sports tune k5, everything will be much better. The sports tune should have better damper and larger brake rotors giving it much better braking capabilities. Best if they bring in the turbo charge k5. Won't mind paying 130-140k for it.

Size and design of this ride puts it on par with the BMW 5 series, what it lacks is a good decent powerful engine and the diff between this two cars will be narrowed down tremendously. Given the price diff, i would go for the K5 provided it comes with a 2l turbo and cost less than 140k. Peformance sporty mid size sedan at this price will be a rare find.

To really boost the image of Kia further (now people buy Kia's because they want to, not because they have to), they should bring in an engine that allows the car to go as fast as it looks. That's where the 2.0Turbo 275bhp comes in. I know that engine is meant to overshadow the existing V6 engines, but 2.0T 275bhp sounds fine to me by any standards.

If people are willing to pay $120k-$130k for the i45 (been seeing more i45's on the road lately, more than the previous Sonata), I don't see why they wouldn't be willing to pay $150k for the Turbo version for either the i45 or K5. People have higher aspirations now.

the Mazda6 2.0 selling for $130k? It's OMV is about $28K

K5 for $115K? It's OMV is $17K

the i45's omv is 20k yet its selling brand new at 120k

same goes for the chevy epica

n apologies for the wrong figure but m6 is going at 136k

my feel is that for 115k and you'll be getting a car thats as good as if not better than the m6 but most definitely better than the chevy and hyundai's version of the same model

its a no brainer which to buy

elsewhere honda civic is going at 106k!

This is strictly my own view.

I believe c n c still hesitant about bringing in turbo is cos...

A. C n c is still trying to convince the Sg market that it is a reliable brand. Bringing in turbo now might be a tad too premature. Turbo has extra engine stuff to consider like heat blah blah issues.

B. Kia is still considered by many as a value for money brand. Many commoners will still think that the car will be a 2 litre, turbo or not they won't know. So if the price is marked up significantly higher due to the turbo, it might lose it's appeal with commoners aka non car enthusiast.

C. A K5 turbo might immediately wipe off appeal for it's coming K7

D. C n c top priority will be car cheap, engine power decent, looks damn chio. Sell by the volumes.

E. Going into turbo will no doubt attract many boy racers from the Wrx, eve, integra. But will surely and certainly put many sophisticated buyers off.

F. A kia turbo has no molding potential unlike Subaru, Mitsubishi etc. And c n c worry that a modded Kia turbo will cause serious mechanical problem, tarnishing it's credibility in the market.

Even the 2.4L ThetaII engine on the I45 in sg is sluggish. Really need to floor the accelerator.

Like I said the K5 package is not complete only with it's impressive look. The direct injection turbo charged version will make the car very attractive in terms of performance.

Even the 2.4L ThetaII engine on the I45 in sg is sluggish. Really need to floor the accelerator.

Like I said the K5 package is not complete only with it's impressive look. The direct injection turbo charged version will make the car very attractive in terms of performance.

You mean the i45 2.4L with 175bhp needs flooring of the accelerator just to get a move on? I don't think buyers of the i45 or cars in this class are going for performance, much more than say, COMFORT?

Edited by Proton_neutron

end of the day its like the koup, everybody says that a 2L Turbo will make it a great car but nobody is willing to pay 120k for a koup or 150k for a k5

Bingo, from the sales floor, sg buyers talk talk, say say only. When the actual unit comes, 90% of them will likely to pull their "handbrake"

You wouldn't know if you haven't tried bringing in the K5 Turbo. Why not have a few units for testdrives. Let the local market do the actual sales talk.

This is strictly my own view.

I believe c n c still hesitant about bringing in turbo is cos...

A. C n c is still trying to convince the Sg market that it is a reliable brand. Bringing in turbo now might be a tad too premature. Turbo has extra engine stuff to consider like heat blah blah issues.

B. Kia is still considered by many as a value for money brand. Many commoners will still think that the car will be a 2 litre, turbo or not they won't know. So if the price is marked up significantly higher due to the turbo, it might lose it's appeal with commoners aka non car enthusiast.

C. A K5 turbo might immediately wipe off appeal for it's coming K7

D. C n c top priority will be car cheap, engine power decent, looks damn chio. Sell by the volumes.

E. Going into turbo will no doubt attract many boy racers from the Wrx, eve, integra. But will surely and certainly put many sophisticated buyers off.

F. A kia turbo has no molding potential unlike Subaru, Mitsubishi etc. And c n c worry that a modded Kia turbo will cause serious mechanical problem, tarnishing it's credibility in the market.

You are in the right direction...LOL

Need to tune sg buyers mentality until they can erase the "high-FC-unreliable-poor-finishing-outdated-technology" mentality

You are in the right direction...LOL

Need to tune sg buyers mentality until they can erase the "high-FC-unreliable-poor-finishing-outdated-technology" mentality

If KMC can do it, I'm sure C&C can too.

You wouldn't know if you haven't tried bringing in the K5 Turbo. Why not have a few units for testdrives. Let the local market do the actual sales talk.

Based from my conversation with customers, majority of them are still having the doubt of owning a korean car. The most common remarks I have heard is "The Koreans are improving but can their engine and spare parts last for the next 3-4 years?" And we are talking about cars like Cerato Fortes, Koups, Sportage, Sorentos and K5.

The lineups that i mention can make Japs cars look bad, but end of the day, its their MENTALITY. Branding comes a long way and KIA got to do alot more to change sg buyers mindset.

Bringing a korean TC vehicle will raise awareness but the same question will bounce back again, "Can it last?" "Wah, can Korean engine tahan or not? The lists will go on and on.

This spec will come but it is the matter of WHEN? Will there be a high demand?

Based from my conversation with customers, majority of them are still having the doubt of owning a korean car. The most common remarks I have heard is "The Koreans are improving but can their engine and spare parts last for the next 3-4 years?" And we are talking about cars like Cerato Fortes, Koups, Sportage, Sorentos and K5.

The lineups that i mention can make Japs cars look bad, but end of the day, its their MENTALITY. Branding comes a long way and KIA got to do alot more to change sg buyers mindset.

Bringing a korean TC vehicle will raise awareness but the same question will bounce back again, "Can it last?" "Wah, can Korean engine tahan or not? The lists will go on and on.

This spec will come but it is the matter of WHEN? Will there be a high demand?

Hmm... Ain't the warranty for local market 5yrs/ 100,000km or something like that? The Turbo K5 and all Kia models in USA have warranties of 10yr/ 100,000Mile warranty. But rest be assured. Customers will definitely be drawn into the new Kia Design.

Oh yah, just to add, nothing lasts these days.

Edited by Proton_neutron