Zangetsu77 Clutched August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 There is the scheme known as the "service fit volunteer scheme", created by a Medical Officer in 1998 or 1999 i believe. Basically, cadets and officers with downgradable conditions can be allowed to retain combat vocation. Knee ligament injuries can potentially fall under this scheme. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 No lah. I dun think he's stupid or smth. It's a matter of making a choice or decision. He can either keng all the way or chiong all the way. He has the chance to do minimal task and take on minimal responsibility if he downgrade or he can take on whatever challenges that is open to him. There are life changing choices that we make during our lifetime. Sure. We dun always make the excellent choices or decisions and there may be regrets but we won't know unless we give it a try. IMO it's better dan sitting around pretending to do smth. And we learn from our mistakes to become a better individual. If ppl are afraid to make mistakes and afraid to take on challenges dan they will be stuck at that level and never improve. I realized that a lot of guys are very afraid to take on physical pain (pussy). What I can say that it's much easier to endure as compared to emotional pain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 A misguided dude who seriously believed pain is temporary pride is forever? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 Yes. He comes from a fairly wealth family. Not rich multimillionaire kind. But at least they live in nice terrace near central area. Only son. Sorry forgot to include these details. I just smsed my friend about any news. The boy should have been in NS for almost 2 years already. Probably already signed on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 some pple are willing to sacrifice all to fufill their dreams/potential/ideals. Who are we to call him a stupid dumb guy? are we willing to sacrifice that much for the same things? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 Why he want to become officer? If he want to sacrifice for his country, then sure, no problem. But if is for silly reason, then he's stupid. Nothing's worth risking your health and life for. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahseng 5th Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 Be an occifer can huat big meh? ROD a few yrs later than everyone else ley. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Troyempire 1st Gear August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 haiz, another hero. During my OCS days, one of my coursemate got double heartbeat but wanna completed his OCS. Luckily he is alive to be commission. After that he submit his specalist letter to MO n kanna downgrade to PES E. Till today he is veri happy to be an officer without going back for reservist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tleslie 1st Gear August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 still not mature enough.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 some pple are willing to sacrifice all to fufill their dreams/potential/ideals. Who are we to call him a stupid dumb guy? are we willing to sacrifice that much for the same things? While it is good to have the willingness to give it all to fulfil a dream...but in this case, it will be at the expenses of others eg. his men, those who have to double hat should he fall ill during training, tax payer's money for his medical should he need to be treated, etc... He may be willing to sacrifice.....but has he been honest with the people who will be providing him the training and help needed to fulfil his dream? He is deceiving the people who will have a hand in helping him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 If this guy becomes disabled during NS, and they find out that he withheld the information of being injured..... No future no compensation. SAF will not save him haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 i say this guy has pride... and he will likely to succeed in whatever he do in the future get too used to "bochup" and "chao keng" during NS and he will suffer in his career next time Actually i agree with you :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laworder17 1st Gear August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 Actually i agree with you :) But what i think there is alot of risk involve.......What if hTHE BOY got injured again... No parents would want to see their children to get hurt... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 stewpig la.... his injury will now haunt him the rest of his life.... no joke as he gets older man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 i think he wants to be officer so he wont feel pai seh infront of his mates. i believe most serves their ns not for the pride but more of BBA. Bo Bian Act. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 Unique but true account from a friend. A friend's friends' son - of JC age - was about to enter NS. He has a pre-existing leg injury. Apparently a very very serious one that their son got few years back in a car accident - one that required major surgery. The parents were hoping he would get a downgrade when their son headed to CMPB for checkup. The son refused to make his injury known to the MO. His rationale: He wants to be an officer just like his friends. Their son insists it's no big deal and that it has not affected his ability to play sports in JC. His parents tried to persuade him, and eventually made a pact. If their son were to go for a specialist checkup, and if the specialist says that he's not fully fit enough then he has to inform SAF of his condition. The son agreed. Went for checkup and guess what? Specialist strongly advised that he must downgrade. Saying his injury was serious enough to do so and that damaging his ligaments again may give him a permanent limp. Son told parents he's going to follow doctor's advice. But he didn't. He went through much of BMT without his parents knowing (they very blur). But secret's out when he went OCS. Now he's complaining for pelvis pains. Still refuses to downgrade. Parents don't want to do it on his behalf afraid that he might go berserk from the embarrassment of having "helicopter parents". Friend lost contact with these friends, so is unsure of the status of the boy. But I'll try to get updates for you guys. Smart or stupid? Patriotic? Honourable sacrifice? I guess there are some people whom dreamed of being an officer in the army (just like ppl want to become policeman)... IMO, i would only say i respect his decision and wish him all the best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 i dont want to be officer i want to be leopard tank driver and gunner WOOHOO!!!!!!!! CHIONG AHHH!!!!!! BOOOOMMMMM!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antlau 1st Gear August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 i can only say, "please be responsible, to yourself, your parents, and to the whomever that you are answerable for." ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...