Ceiling fan

Bluepica

On 7/31/2025 at 10:08 AM, Atrecord said:

52 in...

my balcony quite... jialat. It's about 7 m by 2.3 m. The ceiling from day 1 got 2 wires for fans. the problem is this balcony by design is comprising of a sunken planter near the edge, so this means that the ceiling also has a drop at that part (cos that's the sunken planter from the floor upstairs). What this means is that my ceiling it v long (~7 m) but the width is only about ~1.5 m, and so any fan i choose cannot be too big to begin with...

when i first moved in, we installed two i think maybe 35" fans, which of course means the wind cannot reach v far.

This was not deemed a big deal as we didn't (couldn't) make use of the balcony much, but we've installed decking on the floor as well as zip blinds so now i sometimes make use of the balcony as my workstation when I WFH. 

With the fans ageing (though still working) and the changing needs, i'm thinking of replacing them with (can only be slightly) bigger and better ones.

Not sure how easy it will be to install a 3rd one in the middle, if really there's no way two fans can cover the whole area well. Maybe should check the feasibility of this.

BTW, what is meant by hugger type huh?

hugger type is the prism fan. Basically a big cylinder as the body, no downrod.

minimum distance between fan blade tip to the wall should be 60-80cm. or even better 1m.

I think with smaller fans, multiple is the way to go.

At least for my use case, i only experience good general airflow comes with 56" fans. Like my living room downgrade from haiku 56" to the fanco 52", i can feel the difference. 

You can install a wall fan to blow at you as you work as well.

I have a corner fan for my kitchen. Can't live without it.

On 7/31/2025 at 10:08 AM, Atrecord said:

52 in...

my balcony quite... jialat. It's about 7 m by 2.3 m. The ceiling from day 1 got 2 wires for fans. the problem is this balcony by design is comprising of a sunken planter near the edge, so this means that the ceiling also has a drop at that part (cos that's the sunken planter from the floor upstairs). What this means is that my ceiling it v long (~7 m) but the width is only about ~1.5 m, and so any fan i choose cannot be too big to begin with...

when i first moved in, we installed two i think maybe 35" fans, which of course means the wind cannot reach v far.

This was not deemed a big deal as we didn't (couldn't) make use of the balcony much, but we've installed decking on the floor as well as zip blinds so now i sometimes make use of the balcony as my workstation when I WFH. 

With the fans ageing (though still working) and the changing needs, i'm thinking of replacing them with (can only be slightly) bigger and better ones.

Not sure how easy it will be to install a 3rd one in the middle, if really there's no way two fans can cover the whole area well. Maybe should check the feasibility of this.

BTW, what is meant by hugger type huh?

hugger means it hugs the ceiling. blade to ceiling is short. if too short then less airflow. huggers are meant for low ceiling but much less airflow as a result

On 7/31/2025 at 10:32 AM, Lala81 said:

hugger type is the prism fan. Basically a big cylinder as the body, no downrod.

minimum distance between fan blade tip to the wall should be 60-80cm. or even better 1m.

I think with smaller fans, multiple is the way to go.

At least for my use case, i only experience good general airflow comes with 56" fans. Like my living room downgrade from haiku 56" to the fanco 52", i can feel the difference. 

You can install a wall fan to blow at you as you work as well.

I have a corner fan for my kitchen. Can't live without it.

wah if must follow min distance from blade tip to wall (or my balcony door on one side), then i think i no need install fan liao... now got 2 sides dunno got 20 cm or not...

wall fan not nice leh...

i put a small circulator in the kitchen. It's quite well used...

WhatsApp Image 2025-07-31 at 13.42.20.jpeg

On 7/31/2025 at 1:47 PM, Atrecord said:

wah if must follow min distance from blade tip to wall (or my balcony door on one side), then i think i no need install fan liao... now got 2 sides dunno got 20 cm or not...

wall fan not nice leh...

ah ok. 3 fans aesthetically will look weird.

Just get an undertable fan or air circulator.

if you not scared feng1 shi1, a floor fan underneath the table does work. One of my workplaces is stuffy (due to the unit itself not having much air circulation), so we have a floor fan underneath the table.

wall fan not nice leh...

Or this type...ala kopitiam style...cleaning will be a real pita tho...i tink outright replacement when it's dirty will be much easier...😅

cf-822-400x400.png

On 7/31/2025 at 2:50 PM, mersaylee said:

Or this type...ala kopitiam style...cleaning will be a real pita tho...i tink outright replacement when it's dirty will be much easier...😅

cf-822-400x400.png

buy something nicer lah if permanently mounted.

https://www.lazada.sg/products/new-launch-fanco-dono-16-dc-motor-corner-fan-and-wall-fan-with-remote-control-flip-blades-to-change-colour-i2293859698-s13271261386.html?from_gmc=1&fl_tag=1

On 7/31/2025 at 2:08 PM, Lala81 said:

ah ok. 3 fans aesthetically will look weird.

Just get an undertable fan or air circulator.

if you not scared feng1 shi1, a floor fan underneath the table does work. One of my workplaces is stuffy (due to the unit itself not having much air circulation), so we have a floor fan underneath the table.

I think one ground floor neighbour actually installed 3 fans, but they've got PES so the balcony area is much larger. If can't find suitable ones that can cover the area well, maybe i'll explore/consider that too. Just dunno how the wiring will run, and whether it will be messy.

I already have a Airleo and just took out an old tower fan to supplement when i need to use the balcony to work, but on a hot afternoon (when i close the zip blinds on 2 sides to block the afternoon sun), the trapped heat is still quite uncomfortable. Hoping to find a way to dissipate the trapped heat, but it's obviously not easy given the constraint...

On 8/1/2025 at 11:13 AM, Atrecord said:

I think one ground floor neighbour actually installed 3 fans, but they've got PES so the balcony area is much larger. If can't find suitable ones that can cover the area well, maybe i'll explore/consider that too. Just dunno how the wiring will run, and whether it will be messy.

I already have a Airleo and just took out an old tower fan to supplement when i need to use the balcony to work, but on a hot afternoon (when i close the zip blinds on 2 sides to block the afternoon sun), the trapped heat is still quite uncomfortable. Hoping to find a way to dissipate the trapped heat, but it's obviously not easy given the constraint...

Something like this? 

wall fan not nice leh...

1649836515_FAN.thumb.png.57316fd481df470cbb99d17952232cbf.png

Cheap at $100. one on each end... blow your socks off...

On 8/1/2025 at 11:13 AM, Atrecord said:

Zip blinds very hard. 

I stayed in a glamping tent in bintan just a few days before sg lock down. 

Even with aircon in afternoon, the AC really struggling. Cos zero insulation. 

On 8/1/2025 at 12:10 PM, Mkl22 said:

1649836515_FAN.thumb.png.57316fd481df470cbb99d17952232cbf.png

Cheap at $100. one on each end... blow your socks off...

wah lao... this type. noise level +100, can fight with the F16s that will fly above me now and then... when got meeting, surely tio complaint...

plus buay sui leh... 😅 reminds me of a warehouse that i used to work in decades ago... there got one exactly like this...

On 8/1/2025 at 11:23 AM, Kklim said:

Something like this? 

this is 2nd time i see something like this. 

actually saw something similar (another model though) at a shop near novena few yr ago.

but no lah. i just put it on the floor and blow directly at me...

On 8/1/2025 at 12:11 PM, Lala81 said:

Zip blinds very hard. 

I stayed in a glamping tent in bintan just a few days before sg lock down. 

Even with aircon in afternoon, the AC really struggling. Cos zero insulation. 

yah agree... somemore my aircons not meant to cover the balcony to begin with... anyway, i only down the blinds and on the aircon once in 2.5 yr... when i wfh, i will only use the fan, and not the aircon. The Airleo helps a bit in that the air blown out is a bit cooler.

I just hope to blow away the warm air built up. Will have one end (the side facing east, so no more sun in the afternoon) of the blinds left opened. Currently all the fans at max, still can't do this much...

On 8/1/2025 at 2:46 PM, Hubwee said:

image.thumb.png.447a578fe369e6e2e2a12dfbf8ff7652.png

am using this for my carpark lo... cool air without needing and water outlet .