mersaylee Hypersonic July 29, 2025 Share July 29, 2025 On 7/29/2025 at 3:12 PM, Lala81 said: Newest fan to replace the failing legacy haiku. 160 dollars. Design decent for the price. 35 bucks install Got link to that one? 🙏😁 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
rainbatt1 Clutched July 29, 2025 Share July 29, 2025 $35 installation is very good price...own find or from the shop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 29, 2025 Share July 29, 2025 (edited) On 7/29/2025 at 5:47 PM, rainbatt1 said: $35 installation is very good price...own find or from the shop? 25 dollar for hdb ceiling. Mine >2.9m so 35. Bangla installer. Shop arranged installer. Probably bundle price. Usually it's closer to 50 for my living room fan last year. On 7/29/2025 at 5:10 PM, mersaylee said: Got link to that one? 🙏😁 This the link. https://s.lazada.sg/s.X7syU Somehow when I checked out got some additional voucher. So made it less than 160. The remote is similar to the fanco one. Big and fat. Suspect all same but just different brands. The fan windspeed is good. Thumbs up. Maybe a smidge louder than the haiku. But we are comparing something that's <1/5th of a haiku price. Realised how much of a torture I've been living with a non adjustable slow fan speed for at least half a year. For a 56 inch fan. This is really very cheap. Edited July 29, 2025 by Lala81 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 29, 2025 Share July 29, 2025 On 7/29/2025 at 8:06 PM, Lala81 said: 25 dollar for hdb ceiling. Mine >2.9m so 35. Bangla installer. Shop arranged installer. Probably bundle price. Usually it's closer to 50 for my living room fan last year. This the link. https://s.lazada.sg/s.X7syU Somehow when I checked out got some additional voucher. So made it less than 160. The remote is similar to the fanco one. Big and fat. Suspect all same but just different brands. The fan windspeed is good. Thumbs up. Maybe a smidge louder than the haiku. But we are comparing something that's <1/5th of a haiku price. Realised how much of a torture I've been living with a non adjustable slow fan speed for at least half a year. For a 56 inch fan. This is really very cheap. This brand is local/SG brand? Review good or not? i'm looking at replacing a few ceiling fans too, and is scratching my head which/what is good... Got come across any not-too-big ones, but can blow/cover a wide area? I've a long/big balcony and the current fan simply cannot cover the whole place... Then still got bedrooms... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 29, 2025 Share July 29, 2025 On 7/29/2025 at 3:12 PM, Lala81 said: Newest fan to replace the failing legacy haiku. 160 dollars. Design decent for the price. 35 bucks install cheap and nice ....... good good 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 29, 2025 Share July 29, 2025 (edited) On 8/3/2024 at 4:15 PM, Ct3833 said: No rolex, therefore unable to verify if the photo is real 😁 One year later, then i saw your message..... just for you Edited July 29, 2025 by Throttle2 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 29, 2025 Share July 29, 2025 On 7/29/2025 at 10:12 PM, Atrecord said: This brand is local/SG brand? Review good or not? i'm looking at replacing a few ceiling fans too, and is scratching my head which/what is good... Got come across any not-too-big ones, but can blow/cover a wide area? I've a long/big balcony and the current fan simply cannot cover the whole place... Then still got bedrooms... I dunno man. I just feel those prism types (hugger type) without downrods will have less windflow. I have 38 and 52 inch types with those. The 52 inch one not that strong outside the immediate area. The two strongest fans I have are obviously the 56 inch ones. Non hugger types. Ha the correct solution is to have two smaller ceiling fans on the balcony 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic July 30, 2025 Share July 30, 2025 On 7/30/2025 at 7:28 AM, Lala81 said: i'm looking at replacing a few ceiling fans too, and is scratching my head which/what is good... Got come across any not-too-big ones, but can blow/cover a wide area? this type ? but for long balcony, you may want to consider installing 2 instead of one big one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 30, 2025 Share July 30, 2025 On 7/30/2025 at 12:34 PM, Ct3833 said: this type ? but for long balcony, you may want to consider installing 2 instead of one big one. i was reading some Gemini summary of 3 blade vs 5 blade fans b4 i ordered my fan. I think for the bigass fans, they use multi blade cos they want to smoothen the windflow, so like less uncomfortable for those huge fans. Basically less blades is more airflow, higher efficiency but more "gusty" For home purposes, don't think much need for > 3 blades. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic July 30, 2025 Share July 30, 2025 On 7/30/2025 at 4:30 PM, Lala81 said: i was reading some Gemini summary of 3 blade vs 5 blade fans b4 i ordered my fan. I think for the bigass fans, they use multi blade cos they want to smoothen the windflow, so like less uncomfortable for those huge fans. Basically less blades is more airflow, higher efficiency but more "gusty" For home purposes, don't think much need for > 3 blades. Wait till Dyson comes up with a 2000 dollar blade-less ceiling fan. Then no need to argue about 3,4 or 5 blades! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 30, 2025 Share July 30, 2025 On 7/30/2025 at 4:59 PM, Volvobrick said: Wait till Dyson comes up with a 2000 dollar blade-less ceiling fan. Then no need to argue about 3,4 or 5 blades! China and online got actually. Think u can search blade less ceiling fan. The blades just hidden in the body. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic July 30, 2025 Share July 30, 2025 On 7/30/2025 at 4:59 PM, Volvobrick said: Wait till Dyson comes up with a 2000 dollar blade-less ceiling fan. Then no need to argue about 3,4 or 5 blades! To me Dyson is British trash 😂. Still bladed inside somewhere in the ductwork. Add ducts means less efficient. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic July 30, 2025 Share July 30, 2025 (edited) On 7/30/2025 at 7:28 AM, Lala81 said: I dunno man. I just feel those prism types (hugger type) without downrods will have less windflow. I have 38 and 52 inch types with those. The 52 inch one not that strong outside the immediate area. The two strongest fans I have are obviously the 56 inch ones. Non hugger types. Ha the correct solution is to have two smaller ceiling fans on the balcony Huggers don’t have enough airflow as it is too close to the ceiling. Same with those who design a drop ceiling around the fan. Worst design. Totally no airflow to the blades. lucky yours is some distance from the walls. But best is what throttle2 has shown, Flat ceiling. Follow KDK placement instructions will not be wrong. Edited July 30, 2025 by Mkl22 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 30, 2025 Share July 30, 2025 On 7/30/2025 at 5:55 PM, Mkl22 said: Huggers don’t have enough airflow as it is too close to the ceiling. Same with those who design a drop ceiling around the fan. Worst design. Totally no airflow to the blades. lucky yours is some distance from the walls. But best is what throttle2 has shown, Flat ceiling. Follow KDK placement instructions will not be wrong. Due to HDB ceiling heights, most short downrods and hugger fans in SG are more common. Longer downrod fans really not common. Or like the Haiku have a longer body. this alkova fan the downrod is quite short. But it's windspeed is strong. My living room fanco 52" is quite lackluster i feel in terms of airflow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged July 30, 2025 Share July 30, 2025 On 5/29/2025 at 12:55 PM, Ct3833 said: KDK AC fan CMI, I have more than 10 of them, none of them have no noise, the noise will come back shortly after replacing the capacitor. I have so far switch some of them to DC fans, going to phase them out slowly regardless they are spolied or not. In my opinion, there is no rocket science for fan lah. Brushless fans are standard today. The only difference are the materials for the blades and housing. Ceiling fan is effective, provide good air circulation and it doesn't take up space. No need for brand unless you just need that badge. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic July 30, 2025 Share July 30, 2025 On 7/30/2025 at 6:36 PM, Victor68 said: In my opinion, there is no rocket science for fan lah. Brushless fans are standard today. The only difference are the materials for the blades and housing. Ceiling fan is effective, provide good air circulation and it doesn't take up space. No need for brand unless you just need that badge. For AC fans pretty robust. Nothing much to break except capacitor and bearings. for DC fans a lot more to break, given that DC Inverter components these days can be really crap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 31, 2025 Share July 31, 2025 On 7/30/2025 at 7:28 AM, Lala81 said: I dunno man. I just feel those prism types (hugger type) without downrods will have less windflow. I have 38 and 52 inch types with those. The 52 inch one not that strong outside the immediate area. The two strongest fans I have are obviously the 56 inch ones. Non hugger types. Ha the correct solution is to have two smaller ceiling fans on the balcony 52 in... my balcony quite... jialat. It's about 7 m by 2.3 m. The ceiling from day 1 got 2 wires for fans. the problem is this balcony by design is comprising of a sunken planter near the edge, so this means that the ceiling also has a drop at that part (cos that's the sunken planter from the floor upstairs). What this means is that my ceiling it v long (~7 m) but the width is only about ~1.5 m, and so any fan i choose cannot be too big to begin with... when i first moved in, we installed two i think maybe 35" fans, which of course means the wind cannot reach v far. This was not deemed a big deal as we didn't (couldn't) make use of the balcony much, but we've installed decking on the floor as well as zip blinds so now i sometimes make use of the balcony as my workstation when I WFH. With the fans ageing (though still working) and the changing needs, i'm thinking of replacing them with (can only be slightly) bigger and better ones. Not sure how easy it will be to install a 3rd one in the middle, if really there's no way two fans can cover the whole area well. Maybe should check the feasibility of this. BTW, what is meant by hugger type huh? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic July 31, 2025 Share July 31, 2025 On 7/31/2025 at 10:08 AM, Atrecord said: 52 in... my balcony quite... jialat. It's about 7 m by 2.3 m. The ceiling from day 1 got 2 wires for fans. the problem is this balcony by design is comprising of a sunken planter near the edge, so this means that the ceiling also has a drop at that part (cos that's the sunken planter from the floor upstairs). What this means is that my ceiling it v long (~7 m) but the width is only about ~1.5 m, and so any fan i choose cannot be too big to begin with... when i first moved in, we installed two i think maybe 35" fans, which of course means the wind cannot reach v far. This was not deemed a big deal as we didn't (couldn't) make use of the balcony much, but we've installed decking on the floor as well as zip blinds so now i sometimes make use of the balcony as my workstation when I WFH. With the fans ageing (though still working) and the changing needs, i'm thinking of replacing them with (can only be slightly) bigger and better ones. Not sure how easy it will be to install a 3rd one in the middle, if really there's no way two fans can cover the whole area well. Maybe should check the feasibility of this. BTW, what is meant by hugger type huh? Like this. BTW you will be at one corner of the balcony (unless whole family lying flat across it!) so maybe only on fan for that spot. No need to cool the entire space. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...