NightWind 4th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 today coe had sky rocket to heaven, how many of you call up your dealer to ask if you got kana kick out? I just came back from KL...it will prob be my last drive there for awhile. My car insurance covers only vehicle theft and the replacememt cost for the vehicle itself only. THE INSURANCE DOES NOT COVER COE. Even if i get a new car i will still need to fork out another $62k to get a COE...and next month it will be worse as price may increase more. Some of u bros r laughing as u say ur old rides are worth more. But think about the poor sales guy whose 9.9yr old COE on his Corolla will expire next month and he has to pay $62k to renew COE for a 10 yr old jap outdated rust bucket sedan. Think about what happens when the same thing happens to your current ride. Its not so funny any more when u see things in that perspective. The only one laughing all the way to the Bank is the PAP govt......who use this scam to suck money from all of us. Just think and reflect about it.... :( ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Got diff date of issue meh between bid and non-bid nos? I've seen a couple of SKAs on the roads for the past 2 weeks too.... Non bid nos are those number generated by the computer, and u cannot choose the number allocated. Bidded number is those nos tht u choose and pay for. Usually bidded nos will be released for bidding before they are allocated for computer generated. So those pple who got their bidded no can register their car way before the new series of the car plate is used for normal computer generation. Tht's y u will see new series of car plate on the rd. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Author Share December 8, 2010 U suay lah. COE so high then u change car. Summore say mcs problematic n u still get another 1. U sud get Mito or Fiat 500 better. Give u a chance to experience some different types of problems. Hee. in terms of 1.6 and below car, i could not find a car that give me more driving pleasure than a mini. and it look is just too cute for me not to buy back again, but again, my previous mcs become like this, is due to my modification, so nothing wrong with the car thou haha. and i love the face lift visual boost, and valvetronic upgrade. it give me a total different view again on the face lift Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 You say until the situation so dire, but you can buy a 4-5 year old sedan for low 30k on the resale market. Must die die buy new COE or buy new car meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalbone Clutched December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 So is really give u a chicken leg and take back the whole chicken from u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branteo Clutched December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Singaporeans freaking rich. Dun mind paying such amt for coe...I can understand for CAT B which typically are made up of mercs, bmw, audi and lexus buyers..but for CAT A? I thought no matter how tight the coe quota supply is, once it reach a certain premium level, people will just stay away from it and there is a limit to how much it can go up..but no, there are people who buys bread and butter cars whom are willing to pay 47k for the coe..I find it incomprehensible... Hmmm .... my humble Honda Civic also Cat B COE leh. Haha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnixer 3rd Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 SKA = Sap Ki (hokkien) A cannot think of A to represent something, anyone wanna contribute Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 You say until the situation so dire, but you can buy a 4-5 year old sedan for low 30k on the resale market. Must die die buy new COE or buy new car meh? Agreed. There are many avg 5 yr old car which cost less than 40K, can choose to buy those car and no need must get new car or renew COE for your 10 yr old car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Bloody garment! when they introduced ERP, they said they want to make car affordable and make it a usage based system. now all the gantries are up, what happen to the COE? LIAR! Aiyah. Ty always keep changing their word. I long time already dont believe them. Ty always can give all kinds of excuses why now its like that. What can u do? Nothing really, unless u smart n know how to use yr vote at next election. Then maybe ty scared n stop being so yaya papaya all e time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Allied Neutral Newbie December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 I think, for those doing sales that require to travel around very often, especially to Msia, the companies should either provide them a car, OR the govt should give priority or discount to those sales persons when buying cars (show some kinda proofs/companies letters, etc...). Otherwise, how to survive for sales persons that require cars for their jobs? I just came back from KL...it will prob be my last drive there for awhile. My car insurance covers only vehicle theft and the replacememt cost for the vehicle itself only. THE INSURANCE DOES NOT COVER COE. Even if i get a new car i will still need to fork out another $62k to get a COE...and next month it will be worse as price may increase more. Some of u bros r laughing as u say ur old rides are worth more. But think about the poor sales guy whose 9.9yr old COE on his Corolla will expire next month and he has to pay $62k to renew COE for a 10 yr old jap outdated rust bucket sedan. Think about what happens when the same thing happens to your current ride. Its not so funny any more when u see things in that perspective. The only one laughing all the way to the Bank is the PAP govt......who use this scam to suck money from all of us. Just think and reflect about it.... :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 I just came back from KL...it will prob be my last drive there for awhile. My car insurance covers only vehicle theft and the replacememt cost for the vehicle itself only. THE INSURANCE DOES NOT COVER COE. Even if i get a new car i will still need to fork out another $62k to get a COE...and next month it will be worse as price may increase more. Some of u bros r laughing as u say ur old rides are worth more. But think about the poor sales guy whose 9.9yr old COE on his Corolla will expire next month and he has to pay $62k to renew COE for a 10 yr old jap outdated rust bucket sedan. Think about what happens when the same thing happens to your current ride. Its not so funny any more when u see things in that perspective. The only one laughing all the way to the Bank is the PAP govt......who use this scam to suck money from all of us. Just think and reflect about it.... :( Bro, I understand what you're going thru' 'cos my friend's father went thru' the same. His business requires him to drive a pick-up but the increasing COE forced him to rethink renewing the COE. Perhaps you could look into the 2nd-hand market and see if there's any which fits your budget? I'm also sweating about it when my car is due for renewal in 6 yrs time..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C-K 2nd Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 when the property and car prices are sky high like now, it is a damn bloody good time to sell off everything you own here and migrate to other country. Planning to be a quitter in the next few years. Hopefully, car and property prices will remain high till then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Non bid nos are those number generated by the computer, and u cannot choose the number allocated. Bidded number is those nos tht u choose and pay for. Usually bidded nos will be released for bidding before they are allocated for computer generated. So those pple who got their bidded no can register their car way before the new series of the car plate is used for normal computer generation. Tht's y u will see new series of car plate on the rd. Thanks, Bro! Didn't know about this, thought all on the same date/period..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 the govt should give priority or discount to those sales persons when buying cars (show some kinda proofs/companies letters, etc...). might as well try telling the sky dun rain coz u need to sun ur underwear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 High COE huat har...for those who bought cheap (eg in e past 2 or 3yrs), n don't really need the car as a necessity...sell it to 2nd hand car dealer or direct...:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Well, there's nothing wrong or shameful to be about in the 1st place. Who will go for higher prices on similar products???? Ive been going Msia fr those cheaper stuff fr abt 30 years already. Our gharmen can CLAIM to subsidize our HDB flats[true or not u decide] but i can say Mahattir has PAID fr my flat wh all e $ i saved in Msia. Hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 High COE huat har...for those who bought cheap (eg in e past 2 or 3yrs), n don't really need the car as a necessity...sell it to 2nd hand car dealer or direct...:) I'm actually thinking of that if I were to change to a new job that doesn't requires me to drive..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Author Share December 8, 2010 I'm actually thinking of that if I were to change to a new job that doesn't requires me to drive..... if job require to drive, u should have car allowance ma ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...