2BDriver Hypersonic March 9, 2017 Share March 9, 2017 He likes to cry a lot. I remembered his CPF speech facial expression as very " 蕉 值 !" ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic March 9, 2017 Share March 9, 2017 I remembered his CPF speech facial expression as very " 蕉 值 !" So he cries at least once a month Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic March 9, 2017 Share March 9, 2017 (edited) So he cries at least once a month Yarlor..... It's like big aunty arrives monthly in heavy drools, 每 个 月 大 姨 妈 驾 到 重 流 也 Edited March 9, 2017 by 2BDriver 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic March 9, 2017 Share March 9, 2017 I remembered his CPF speech facial expression as very " 蕉 值 !" to be honest,,, think he no need CPF at all la. cash is enough to fill swiming pool. they come with many complimentary income supplements one you know.... director here, board there, chairmen somewhere... ziak buay liao 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic March 9, 2017 Share March 9, 2017 to be honest,,, think he no need CPF at all la. cash is enough to fill swiming pool. they come with many complimentary income supplements one you know.... director here, board there, chairmen somewhere... ziak buay liao Our older Chinese folks say that they are like " 猪笼进水, means water gushing into pig cage! " 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken138 4th Gear March 9, 2017 Share March 9, 2017 Dun think you can receive cpf statements every month ! Did you ? :) haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 http://www.theindependent.sg/minister-lim-cries-in-parliament-and-says-fts-dont-take-jobs-away-from-sporeans/ Interesting side note And to Mr Lim’s comment that foreigners are not here to take away Singaporeans’ jobs, Mr Leong asked, “How do we explain the startling statistics that the employment change for the two years from 2015 to 2016 was 11,400 jobs to locals against 37,300 to foreigners?” *************** From the article, I dont think its taking away the job that is the crux of the issue here. For me to say that, I have to take a step in time and reverse the work force habit to 15 - 20 years ago so that you can see where I am coming from. When you walk into the banks then, you see a mountain load of Indian and Filipino. But before the moderator banned me, its an observation, so hold on to this first. This people work hard. That I can confirm. The hours are super long and they really thrives to work to get the best and delivers. They also are the best skilled resource. Train and certified to do the job. Plus, some of the resources that requires to do the roles remotely comes from these countries, so it way easier to work within their own community. Perfect setup. Problem solved. As a Singaporean, I dont have a problem with this. Remember. Regardless of race language OR religion. So where lies the problem? Problem lies as time goes by, the skills of the people set and the cultural aspect and the Singaporean component diminished by the day and years. As the barrier increase because Singaporean dont have the skill set. And they are ill equiped as the education system in SG is generic base even for IT vs the Indian or the Philippines. So its akin to getting a A level holder to do the job where what you want is an Oracle DBA , certified. But one would argue on the fact that we have an environment in SG where the people can choose to equipped themselves and get train just as anyone else. No, not really. In india, for example, backed then, the training and certification is way cheaper. Not sure why and how they do it. Probably cost of living and doing business in an emerging economy would be cheaper. Plus we always have a HR system where the well establish company take cares of our need and training program ? No? So we became from a young Elvis Presley that belt out great songs to a bloated Elvis Presley that is like an icon. A red passport that everyone desire and has and thats about it. So being certified and education would fixed and solved the issue ? No, not really, you need to add experience. So the more senior guys would coach the newbie. Mentor him so that he dont get into trouble, plus they are in this journey together, why not. When it comes to singaporean however, its everyman for themselves. Now you are saying, "hold on, does that not apply everywhere else ?" Because, the Singaporean in us are not and never cohesive, unless its a contingencies like a SARS outbreak or a national crisis . When at the work place, its every man for himself and "no one owes you a living" mentality. So we suck at camaraderie and work force cohesion. Now that we settle the landscape, we move on to the cost. Yes, the labour cost is low. So how to compete. No skill / low skill vs Certified, experience, and preference, you have a formula for having your work force skewed towards a FT based then Second chance Singaporean. Now, we fast track to present day. We still maintain our Regardless of race language or religion. This is the whole basis of our peace and harmony and our DNA heritage. I am proud of this. So there is no argument on this. So when it comes to the hiring ? I am equally hard press to hire a local Singaporean if I were in the same shoe. given a chance, would you hire a newbie and monitor, and mentor and risk having non performer, vs someone who comes in new, has the best environment advantage and succeed? Tough choice. Plus now the salary is way different as these are people with skills so you are paying premium vs Singaporean who you are also paying just at a slight discounted level. But I am sure we are deviating from the fact that the message in here is 250 companies are ON the watch list. So it looks like there are discrimination from there. And how do we then get ourselves to "future proof " ourselves so that we can help Mr Lim from shedding tears of sorrow and give him a reason to shed tears of joy? We need to change the way we work, we need to treat people with respect, and not use a yard stick of the previous generation. Of course , no one owes us a living, BUT we should not deem this as "entitlement" and hence that phrase came about, somehow poorly delivered. The generation of people who thinks, yes, I am born and raised here. I served the Army, I voted for a good govt, and hence I should be well taken cared of and people are paid million dollars salary so that they can do the job to take care of us should be taken with a pince of salt. As long as we continue to voice our concern to Fairemployement and are treated fairly, help encourage an environment of support and filled the gaps where we lack, I feel we can turn the tides and do ourselves justice. 15 years back, the bank carparks are relatively empty. Now I see FT engineers arrived in conti cars. I must say the lot of them have improved their lifes while we have being cast aside trying to get our foot into the door. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 Muahyahahahha...some of the comments underneath your web posting..some really make sense... In my opinion...shud admit only 3 types of FTs... a. construction workers/cleaners/roadsweepers etc b. best brains to do research and development like acclaimed overseas professors c. high net worth individuals who come in and create value (not sure whether Eduardo Saverin is a good example) Other than the above......the rest please cut down... But now really too many PMET FTs come in le..... With regard to c), I don't entirely disagree, but I want this to be qualified like so: just importing UHNW is not enough, since all it does is enrich the gahmen with taxes. Those taxes are already lower than what these billionaires would pay in many other countries, and even those monies may not be used appropriately by the gahmen. No, what I want to see is the bringing over of *captains of industry* to set up companies here, with the very strict stipulation that at least 90% of their workforce, including middle to upper management positions always need to be given to Singaporean citizens, with those of Singaporean birth being given first priority. That would stimulate the economy on many levels. I don't want to see FTs hiring their own. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 With regard to c), I don't entirely disagree, but I want this to be qualified like so: just importing UHNW is not enough, since all it does is enrich the gahmen with taxes. Those taxes are already lower than what these billionaires would pay in many other countries, and even those monies may not be used appropriately by the gahmen. No, what I want to see is the bringing over of *captains of industry* to set up companies here, with the very strict stipulation that at least 90% of their workforce, including middle to upper management positions always need to be given to Singaporean citizens, with those of Singaporean birth being given first priority. That would stimulate the economy on many levels. I don't want to see FTs hiring their own. X 10 that. I rather we have a way to first tag this FT that has skills that SIngaporean can one day take over. So maybe a kind of identifier, and then a catalyst to say, looks like got critical mass, need to have more singaporean skilled in this new economy, then we get to go into that growing pool. But as technology can also be a kind of flavour of the month kind of thing. You dont want to over supply and have a problem on your hands. Like say Shipping industry. Or mfg. You dont want to hedge your bets wrongly. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 A lot of this has nothing to do with race but being human. When I was young I worked very hard, as I get old I don't When I move to a new job, I work very hard until confirm then I don't. People of all races do this. Only one mod and me are honest enough to say this. The other people pretend to be not like this. Not only fool their boss some even fool themselves and think they are really hard working. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 A lot of this has nothing to do with race but being human. When I was young I worked very hard, as I get old I don't When I move to a new job, I work very hard until confirm then I don't. People of all races do this. Only one mod and me are honest enough to say this. The other people pretend to be not like this. Not only fool their boss some even fool themselves and think they are really hard working. I cannot comment hardworking or not. What I can say is as long as you deliver what is required. It's sort of like a cow n a farmer. I cow is the most hardworking animal. But it get slaughter after the worth is gone. Bone melt for glue. Skin for leather. Farmer gets rewarded for the cow hardworking attitude of plowing the field. In s way. When we reflect on this. Are we the farmer or the cow at the work place? Food for thought Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 I cannot comment hardworking or not. What I can say is as long as you deliver what is required. It's sort of like a cow n a farmer. I cow is the most hardworking animal. But it get slaughter after the worth is gone. Bone melt for glue. Skin for leather. Farmer gets rewarded for the cow hardworking attitude of plowing the field. In s way. When we reflect on this. Are we the farmer or the cow at the work place? Food for thought Its very sure I am the cow. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 Its very sure I am the cow. You cow peh. You cow bu. Doesn't mean that you cow. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 I remembered his CPF speech facial expression as very " 蕉 值 !" I think he finally realised he can only see and cannot touch his CPF .......... so cry now 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 I think he finally realised he can only see and cannot touch his CPF .......... so cry now CPF never issues monthly statements like commercial banks, he's too late to realised he'd spoken very silly things and will cries when he starts to recall that stupid speech. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 I cannot comment hardworking or not. What I can say is as long as you deliver what is required. It's sort of like a cow n a farmer. I cow is the most hardworking animal. But it get slaughter after the worth is gone. Bone melt for glue. Skin for leather. Farmer gets rewarded for the cow hardworking attitude of plowing the field. In s way. When we reflect on this. Are we the farmer or the cow at the work place? Food for thought i like your analogy, but most times working hard does not pay. the more you do, the more mistakes that is what most people say. for me is you need to know your value. if you cannot figure this out, then need to reflect more. while you contribute, you are also learning. so, everything is up to the individual. in our current context, you need to help ourself. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 i like your analogy, but most times working hard does not pay. the more you do, the more mistakes that is what most people say. for me is you need to know your value. if you cannot figure this out, then need to reflect more. while you contribute, you are also learning. so, everything is up to the individual. in our current context, you need to help ourself. well, just like the cow, your choice based on your bombarding of values will make you what you are. If you join the work place, your boss is the farmer, you are the cow. He / she will demand the best of you. That's a given If You work in the bank, they dont really clock in like a production operator. Your peers. they will compare and say how come he goes home so early at 7 pm. I have to work till 8 or 9 pm. Not forgetting your peer stroll in at 9 to 10 am each day because everyone else does the same. And no one really start work till 11 am because they need to go eat breakfast. And no one start work so early as India still not on line and the traffic jam is bad in india. So your peer is still catching up on emails. This is where politics and the push to not question the work place ethics that forces you to become an unappreciated cow. Then you become bitter and discontented. You fall into a everyman for himself. Why should the new guy be taught how to survived in this space and place. Why should you orientate them. And then you go into a own self own time syndrome, carry on. And we become a race of bitter, self-pitying , compliant compiant compiant and finally get KIA, Killed in action because we perform mediocre work. And we then use as an example where hiring a FT is better ,because culture wise , the local just does not fit the landscape. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 Hope this will not be too much to divulge but I am sure many have gone through this same path. You can be the very best, outstanding worker. Every year you will be rewarded with merit increment. Maybe average workers get 6-8% but you received 10-12%. So you continue with your hard works. Your boss has a team of 20 staff, he needs to rotate this but continue to give you the merit recognition. Then in order to attract new hires, they offer a 20-30% to him/her to join them. This will takes you 3 years to match up. They also cannot be promoting you annually. So, the culture here is, if you stay and is doing the same stuff for too long, you need to evaluate your future. Have you been forgotten? An average local joe and a FT, we always lose out because your boss is same as you if he is not himself a FT. Just look at the number of 'consultant' with our GLC and civil servants, maybe good to have some figures to see the numbers of FT in their organization. Are these people actually running the show, contributing or they are just there to 'add value' because they are FT? I am not here to generalise but it is for those with direct contacts or have dealing to make their own judgement. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...