'Foreign' doesn't always mean 'talent'

Latka

I wish they re-open now....let the electorate see the real government they are voting for in this coming GE.

Re-open or not, electorate still vote the same la.

This is no longer new, they always say opening gate for foreigners is to take up job that local avoid, but from what i have see so far, many other jobs like admin work also taken up by foreigners la. Nowadays so common to see job like HR is taken by a foreigner, are we saying that local avoid HR job also? Lol.

i not saying high level job la.

our overall education level so high,

i dun believe we need ft in those area. ( which u mean)

wat i saying is some  job,

we got to chose between raising wages or getting ft

like lorry driver FT,

construction worker FT.

then it's confirmed that the 70% is masochistic.

Electorate are trained to think about local matters (like cleanliness of my estate) rather than national matters.

Therefore it’s imperative to have a separate election for town councilor.

So that MP can focus on national matter.

like lorry driver FT,

construction worker FT.

I understand the need to get FT for job like driver and construction worker. These are the jobs local dont want to do or employer get to choose between raising wages or getting FT. But in reality you can really see many foreigners in those so called high level job. Maybe they are group under foreign talent which their skills and knowledge is adequate in those jobs? Thats why they are hired?!

I wish they re-open now....let the electorate see the real government they are voting for in this coming GE.

We had seen it, the variance is 10%

I understand the need to get FT for job like driver and construction worker. These are the jobs local dont want to do or employer get to choose between raising wages or getting FT. But in reality you can really see many foreigners in those so called high level job. Maybe they are group under foreign talent which their skills and knowledge is adequate in those jobs? Thats why they are hired?!

Changi biz park is full of FT and not those we need badly. Would it be fair to consider if these are FT local cannot fill and how did they meet any kind of quota?

Are you part of the government har? Peasants are not complaining about domestic workers, cleaners, security guard and construction workers leh, we are complaining about FT that took away precious jobs our local can do. The biggest question is, are these FT ready more talented than our locals? Then our education system failed badly. Better learn from these countries the FT came from.

What you say is true and also sad. Why aren't we complaining that they are taking the jobs of our domestic workers, cleaners, etc?

Low skilled singaporeans are just being thrown under the bus and then we complain that they are asking for handouts. 

Changi biz park is full of FT and not those we need badly. Would it be fair to consider if these are FT local cannot fill and how did they meet any kind of quota?

Can they be replaced with local at the same pay?

Yeah hor, I think we coukd save millions to replace our MP with FT too. Haha

We could do it by voting them out one by one.

my manager is foreign, but her only talent is the record time in which she can step on someone's toes :XD:

I heard this is common strength of many FT working here from the same community. We are importing talent that Singaporeans are weak at. 

Singaporean weak at turning the whole community in the workplace to the same community as compared to those FT?

like lorry driver FT,

construction worker FT.

I disagree.

Unless you meant FL ( foreign Labour ) instead of FT ( Foreign Talent )

We should insist on getting rid of the organisation that is forcuss on eleiminating the higher level of educated professional instead and drill in on this organisation that put the Singaporean at risk instead

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/500-companies-moms-watch-list-not-doing-enough-hire-groom-sporeans.

500 companies on MOM's watch list for not doing enough to hire, groom S'poreans.

Read in between the lines, short of causing mass grievances, its against hiring Singaporean.

Edited by Sdf4786k

I disagree.

We should insist on getting rid of the organisation that is forcuss on eleiminating the higher level of educated professional instead and drill in on this organisation that put the Singaporean at risk instead

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/500-companies-moms-watch-list-not-doing-enough-hire-groom-sporeans.

500 companies on MOM's watch list for not doing enough to hire, groom S'poreans

oki , maybe u dun get my meaning  [sly]

to me those driver, construction worker ,cleaners are the real talent,

they can do work which we cannot do.

those suppose to be FT should be FW instead, cos i encounter so many of them with degrees n masters, but cannot use simple measuring tool for mm cm inch.

many company which i deal with get them because they sub gov project,

which require a person that have certain level of paper to sign off,

before they can start work.

many of these 'FTs' are just employed to sign paper. 

(i really dun want to call them FT) [;)]

Can they be replaced with local at the same pay?

India has one of the most ridiculous amounts of holidays. Yet we continue to have tons of outsourcing services with shoddy quality.

Yesterday was another example of a holiday.

To answer the question on local with same pay, 

Yes and no.

Base on quality and qualification YES.

BAse on flaw logic of comparison No.

Flaw logic as in a uni grad with 2 years of experience vs a similar age singaporean worker, no. Because the Singaporean needs to go NS and then serve national service. Too much disruption and cause the employer to think twice. As well as the certification when they leave the education system.

So, whats so good about Foreign worker from the IT industry that a SIngporean just cannot match ?

For one, the working landscape eco system support the community better than a local. You would be amazed at the support level of help when one lacks in "talent" a more senior will jump in and help in the task. By senior, I meant someone with more experience and longer in the organisation, not necessarily in rank.

You wont find the same level of help from a Singaporean to another Singaporean. All because of the "NO one OWES you a living " motto.

So its every man for himself.

Another trait I see in the landscape is a cover-up. Something as bad as a poor quality implementation when brought up can be twisted into, "you just not a team player" situation if you bring this to the attention of the "boss".

So we , ourselves should look into the mirror before we blame the world or organisation for our behaviour that brings conflicts within us.

Unless we change and leverage on an eco system, we will kill ourselves with the belief that meritocracy and hard work is the bastion that our whole existence is based on. From the mudflats , we will build a metropolis is a great motivation factor in the earlier years. 

We need to move on from there from good to great.

Now, we are just going from bad to worst.

I strongly feel that if a PR has 20 years in Singapore for so long, yet not converting to a citizenship should have a different tier tax system place on them.

After all, we are trying to attract talent and wants to have a better singaporean work force.

Just not this guy.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/dbs-bank-employee-who-posted-image-ripped-singapore-flag-no-longer-working-there

Edited by Sdf4786k

I disagree.

We should insist on getting rid of the organisation that is forcuss on eleiminating the higher level of educated professional instead and drill in on this organisation that put the Singaporean at risk instead

500 companies on MOM's watch list for not doing enough to hire, groom S'poreans.

Read in between the lines, short of causing mass grievances, its against hiring Singaporean.

wah.... talk until got FL come out liao

Edited by Enye