Enye Hypersonic April 10, 2015 Share April 10, 2015 I also don't dare buy dq200 gb 😅 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear April 10, 2015 Share April 10, 2015 (edited) Based on the link below: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/transport/story/volkswagen-tops-list-complaints-about-new-cars-20140531 Not only VW top complains and 7/12 complains are for on gearbox. Your argument again fall under the "If you don't have, you cannot judge" which means that argument doesn't hold. I'm sure BMW, Audi, Volvo would have a shit load of complaints related to engine, transmission and/or electronics. Even when Volvo S40/V50 first launched in 2004 out we had engine failures until Volvo actually swapped the engine with a brand new one from Sweeden under warranty -- yes, the car was inspected and log card was updated with new engine number. So does this one catastrophic news make it sound like Volvo sucks big time? Maybe. My confidence was torn for a while, but after that swap the car dove all the way until my family scrapped it earlier this year without a single oil leak or coolant leak or gearbox issue. It was freakin' bullet proof and I swear I would buy another Volvo of that generation. On the other hand, my BMW E90 had been in and out of the workshop for engine and transmission issues. So that does make the E90 a shitty car, but why do people still buy it? If like that, let's all buy a Camry and call it a day. Oh wait, if you have actually spoken to people who worked at Borneo they will tell you that Camry is prone to aircon failures with the interior cooling coils, and that while tearing apart the dashboard it would actually permanently damage the dash and they have given a lot of customers free brand new dashboards. Every car has their problems, some more serious than others no doubt. I used to be one of those damn ngeow owners, cos I buy spanking new cars and paid what is supposedly a "premium" for them. A small squeak = complain. Rattle = complain. Slight juddering = complain. Not shifting smoothly = complain. Nobody serve me coffee while waiting = complain. (Joking about the last part, but you get my point.) I went all crazy because my car was so quiet I could hear each and every squeak and rattle, so I also had a hard time with PML. But as the car aged, you start to not give a shit... and that's why I buy second hand cars now. A lot of these complaints are likely not real gearbox failures. I cannot say for sure, but I do however NOT deny that the DQ200 is more problematic than usual. But so are the Fiats with the semi-automated transmissions that require a repair every 2-3 years, and if you are lucky, 4. But hey, these cars can be had for some $5-6K depreciation even in today's market, so you choose what you want in your set meal. A (brand new) VW Golf depreciates on average $11~12K/year. A an equivalent Volvo V40 or BMW 1 series is at least $14~15K. Might be more reliable, but that's an extra $20-30K, enough for me to buy several transmissions throughout the lifespan of the car. It's not fair to compare a VW Golf to something like a Mazda 2 or Honda Jazz -- they are completely different class. For discussion sake, I can also say my friend's Kia Rio is super duper reliable, why buy a Toyota Vios? I've seen Audi S4s come into my regular workshop for a complete transmission rebuild, and also seen dozens of Mercedes with the famed 7G-tronic also fall apart after about 4-5 years, and according to my mechanic the internal oil passages of the gearbox are "in pieces" due to soft material they use. Also S-classes coming in with airmatic suspension failures every 3-4 years are not uncommon and mind you it costs $1K+ per corner for a replacement (dealer would charge about double). Such failures are not uncommon. I asked my mechanic if the DQ200 failures are common, and he said not a lot. I'm sure he has seen more BMW E90s with ZF6HP failures than DQ200 since DQ200 is relatively new. But for those who sing praises for the wet clutch, FYI my partner drives a VW Golf GTI Mk6 and has over 100KMs on it, and yes the gearbox has been fine but his engine repair bills are starting to go through the roof, and AFAIK is worse than my E90 320i (N46) which was leaking all over after some 80,000kms. If you buy the car with an expectation that repairs are a norm, then it is part and parcel of car ownership to maintain it. I always buy my second hand cars with this mentality exactly because I'm paying a price (bargain) for it by having the first owner take on the depre for me. These IMHO are considered annoyances, and while I've heard a lot of people complained about "juddering", it's no different from BMWs having that infamous gearbox "jerk" coming to a stop. It's can be a premonition to failure, but is NOT a failure. My friend bought an E90 second hand and drove with the transmission "jerk" all the way till it scrapped. If some VW owners bothered, they can try living with the juddering and see how long the clutch packs would run before it becomes unbearable or had to be replaced, but since it's under warranty most people want to have it replaced at the slightest issue. Our Golf is already out of warranty, so that is not something I would do. It does seem to have some slight judder, but it's not annoying at all, neither is it a problem in my opinion. My friend tells me his Honda Jazz keeps rattling and rattling... I tell him it's a "feature" of Jap cars. I'm sure if he had warranty he would have gotten Kah to fix it. Sure, these aren't your Toyota "B&B" cars... hence somebody who is terribly low on budget should never consider a VW for sure because they'll likely scrimp on the maintenance and that would totally mess up a car like this. It's not a Camry/Altis for sure. Different folks, different strokes. Edited April 10, 2015 by Detach8 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pioneer 4th Gear April 10, 2015 Share April 10, 2015 Chill Bro. My point wasn't that VW makes the worst car in the world. My point was anyone who buys a car (Any brand or model) that has world-wide fame of design failure/flaw is very brave. Therefore it doesn't matter if you buy a bmw, audi, volvo, toyota, geely, etc. If a particular models has well known issues, the buyer is either very brave or very optimistic. If I am rich, I would also buy a golf gti and just replace the MU if and when it breaks down. After all, it is so widely recommended for its driving experience. I'm sure BMW, Audi, Volvo would have a shit load of complaints related to engine, transmission and/or electronics. Even when Volvo S40/V50 first launched in 2004 out we had engine failures until Volvo actually swapped the engine with a brand new one from Sweeden under warranty -- yes, the car was inspected and log card was updated with new engine number. So does this one catastrophic news make it sound like Volvo sucks big time? Maybe. My confidence was torn for a while, but after that swap the car dove all the way until my family scrapped it earlier this year without a single oil leak or coolant leak or gearbox issue. It was freakin' bullet proof and I swear I would buy another Volvo of that generation. On the other hand, my BMW E90 had been in and out of the workshop for engine and transmission issues. So that does make the E90 a shitty car, but why do people still buy it? If like that, let's all buy a Camry and call it a day. Oh wait, if you have actually spoken to people who worked at Borneo they will tell you that Camry is prone to aircon failures with the interior cooling coils, and that while tearing apart the dashboard it would actually permanently damage the dash and they have given a lot of customers free brand new dashboards. Every car has their problems, some more serious than others no doubt. I used to be one of those damn ngeow owners, cos I buy spanking new cars and paid what is supposedly a "premium" for them. A small squeak = complain. Rattle = complain. Slight juddering = complain. Not shifting smoothly = complain. Nobody serve me coffee while waiting = complain. (Joking about the last part, but you get my point.) I went all crazy because my car was so quiet I could hear each and every squeak and rattle, so I also had a hard time with PML. But as the car aged, you start to not give a shit... and that's why I buy second hand cars now. A lot of these complaints are likely not real gearbox failures. I cannot say for sure, but I do however NOT deny that the DQ200 is more problematic than usual. But so are the Fiats with the semi-automated transmissions that require a repair every 2-3 years, and if you are lucky, 4. But hey, these cars can be had for some $5-6K depreciation even in today's market, so you choose what you want in your set meal. A (brand new) VW Golf depreciates on average $11~12K/year. A an equivalent Volvo V40 or BMW 1 series is at least $14~15K. Might be more reliable, but that's an extra $20-30K, enough for me to buy several transmissions throughout the lifespan of the car. It's not fair to compare a VW Golf to something like a Mazda 2 or Honda Jazz -- they are completely different class. For discussion sake, I can also say my friend's Kia Rio is super duper reliable, why buy a Toyota Vios?I've seen Audi S4s come into my regular workshop for a complete transmission rebuild, and also seen dozens of Mercedes with the famed 7G-tronic also fall apart after about 4-5 years, and according to my mechanic the internal oil passages of the gearbox are "in pieces" due to soft material they use. Also S-classes coming in with airmatic suspension failures every 3-4 years are not uncommon and mind you it costs $1K+ per corner for a replacement (dealer would charge about double). Such failures are not uncommon. I asked my mechanic if the DQ200 failures are common, and he said not a lot. I'm sure he has seen more BMW E90s with ZF6HP failures than DQ200 since DQ200 is relatively new. But for those who sing praises for the wet clutch, FYI my partner drives a VW Golf GTI Mk6 and has over 100KMs on it, and yes the gearbox has been fine but his engine repair bills are starting to go through the roof, and AFAIK is worse than my E90 320i (N46) which was leaking all over after some 80,000kms. If you buy the car with an expectation that repairs are a norm, then it is part and parcel of car ownership to maintain it. I always buy my second hand cars with this mentality exactly because I'm paying a price (bargain) for it by having the first owner take on the depre for me. These IMHO are considered annoyances, and while I've heard a lot of people complained about "juddering", it's no different from BMWs having that infamous gearbox "jerk" coming to a stop. It's can be a premonition to failure, but is NOT a failure. My friend bought an E90 second hand and drove with the transmission "jerk" all the way till it scrapped. If some VW owners bothered, they can try living with the juddering and see how long the clutch packs would run before it becomes unbearable or had to be replaced, but since it's under warranty most people want to have it replaced at the slightest issue. Our Golf is already out of warranty, so that is not something I would do. It does seem to have some slight judder, but it's not annoying at all, neither is it a problem in my opinion. My friend tells me his Honda Jazz keeps rattling and rattling... I tell him it's a "feature" of Jap cars. I'm sure if he had warranty he would have gotten Kah to fix it. Sure, these aren't your Toyota "B&B" cars... hence somebody who is terribly low on budget should never consider a VW for sure because they'll likely scrimp on the maintenance and that would totally mess up a car like this. It's not a Camry/Altis for sure. Different folks, different strokes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged April 10, 2015 Share April 10, 2015 Roc is 2 years, ~40K+ Passat is also 2 years, but mileage unknown -- should be higher cos he is running sales, probably 50-60K+ I am not sure if the 1.4NA is a 7DSG. What's the reason for stalling? Is it an engine or GB problem? The Roc had an issue before, and was "stuck at gear", but turns out to be an accelerator pedal travel sensor problem, not a GB problem. Brake rotors are wear and tear item. You go to Jap cars they drive 10 years also never change rotor. For conti cars with abrasive pads the correct way is to change 1 rotor every 2~3 pad replacements. This is true not only for VW, but for BMW, Audi, Merc, Volvo too. fren's polo was mu related issue. ok noted the rotor replacement issue; that's y any time i'd prefer a jap ride. i still can't accept the fact that gb / engine issue is part & parcel of car ownership; it's like being forced to accept a lower quality product when the quality criteria is such that these main components should last the lifetime of a vehicle (e.g. some 300k km) if maintained according to mfg'r recommendations. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 10, 2015 Share April 10, 2015 (edited) I think a lot more owners suffer in silence coz if they voice out ppl or friends around them might mock or laugh at their predicament. So they might lie or not even mention their cars are facing gb problems. I believe the news is just the tip of the iceberg. And some reason might be due to face value. Buying a 120K or so worth of headache and inconvenience, who in the right mind will want to even mention it? If finances allows any owner would want to get rid of it and "upgrade". Definitely sounds a lot more cool. No leh. I was one of those VW owners who made "public announcements" (in this forum and in the VAGSG forum) when my VW broke down around 76k km (for the first time). It was then a record for mechatronic unit failure in Singapore (and perhaps in Germany as well) as most VW models would, by that mileage, had their mechatronic unit broken down a few times. What if people here (or at vagsg forum) or even friends laugh at me? Laugh loh. As if I care. Yes, I have made a decision and perhaps abeit a costly mistake as part of the decision. So be it. Life still goes on and I am not affected and I cannot be bothered about what face value is. To date, for more than 100k km, my car has experienced minimal juddering and the clutch is the same one which the VW factory in Germany had assembled it into the car 3 years ago. No clutch change or whatever else as was done. My car is fully paid up and my warranty is over. But I am still driving the car. Yes. It is a time bomb with this DSG problem. But I haven't found the right replacement for my Golf. It is nice, zippy, practical and the design (interior and exterior) has been well and generous. And the driving experience has been very good and wonderful. This car has taken me around this tiny island. Many a time, it has had its fun on the circuits and tracks as well. The tyres unfortunately did not survive (but the DSG survived throughout) from my thrashing on the circuits. The car has even brought me to B road trips in Malaysia up to Mersing and Malacca. I had driven it up and down to Johor and even ferried me to office meetings in other parts of Malaysia. Will I consider changing it? Yes. But till I found the right one. Until then, I am still enjoying my Golf (together with the time bomb). Cheers! Edited April 10, 2015 by Yuan 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 10, 2015 Share April 10, 2015 There's no point being a keyboard warrior (incl. myself) We shall see when time comes I have 3 friends who drive the VW with DSG. 2 Roc, one Passat. Is the Passat 1.8 using 7DSG? I'm not sure, but all three did not have their transmissions break down. One of the Roc is sold, cos she upgraded. The other two still driving, neither of them had a transmission breakdown. This is into years of ownership. I don't know where you guys are getting statistics from but what I can see here is neither of you own the car, and is talking bad about the car. Tells me a lot. There are many who are like that here. Take it easy bro. Come, I give you 5 points. Don't get so worked up. Just need to decipher the right information from the rest of the irrelevant details. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pioneer 4th Gear April 10, 2015 Share April 10, 2015 I remember you! When I was doing research on golf, I remember you fiercely protected vw gearbox in one of the threads on VW and DSG. Then suddenly you mellowed down when you experienced the GB problem personally. Golf is a great car, based on all the reviews I had read. Just pity the GB is not as good. No leh. I was one of those VW owners who made "public announcements" (in this forum and in the VAGSG forum) when my VW broke down around 76k km (for the first time). It was then a record for mechatronic unit failure in Singapore (and perhaps in Germany as well) as most VW models would, by that mileage, had their mechatronic unit broken down a few times. What if people here (or at vagsg forum) or even friends laugh at me? Laugh loh. As if I care. Yes, I have made a decision and perhaps abeit a costly mistake as part of the decision. So be it. Life still goes on and I am not affected and I cannot be bothered about what face value is. To date, for more than 100k km, my car has experienced minimal juddering and the clutch is the same one which the VW factory in Germany had assembled it into the car 3 years ago. No clutch change or whatever else as was done. My car is fully paid up and my warranty is over. But I am still driving the car. Yes. It is a time bomb with this DSG problem. But I haven't found the right replacement for my Golf. It is nice, zippy, practical and the design (interior and exterior) has been well and generous. And the driving experience has been very good and wonderful. This car has taken me around this tiny island. Many a time, it has had its fun on the circuits and tracks as well. The tyres unfortunately did not survive (but the DSG survived throughout) from my thrashing on the circuits. The car has even brought me to B road trips in Malaysia up to Mersing and Malacca. I had driven it up and down to Johor and even ferried me to office meetings in other parts of Malaysia. Will I consider changing it? Yes. But till I found the right one. Until then, I am still enjoying my Golf (together with the time bomb). Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear April 10, 2015 Share April 10, 2015 (edited) fren's polo was mu related issue. ok noted the rotor replacement issue; that's y any time i'd prefer a jap ride. i still can't accept the fact that gb / engine issue is part & parcel of car ownership; it's like being forced to accept a lower quality product when the quality criteria is such that these main components should last the lifetime of a vehicle (e.g. some 300k km) if maintained according to mfg'r recommendations. All I can say is that if you have made an informed decision (like I have despite knowing the widely reported DSG7 issues) then you choose the car based on what you are looking for. If you want fuss free, sure... buy a Toyota Altis or something. I was looking for a hot hatch that was inspiring to drive, and minimally handles better than the Mazda 2 it replaces and more. Ferrari owners don't kpkb when their gearbox fail. High performance cars have much higher maintenance bills than us. But their owners are clearly looking for other things when they bought the car. Reliability probably wasn't the top priority. And trust me if you replace your Jap car's OE "adhesive" pads with "abrasive" pads -- which I did put Hawk pads in my crappy Subaru 1.6A and brought up to Sepang on it's last year of COE life, you'll find out that your rotors are gone very quickly too. There's a price to pay for performance for sure. Edited April 10, 2015 by Detach8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear April 10, 2015 Share April 10, 2015 Chill Bro. My point wasn't that VW makes the worst car in the world. My point was anyone who buys a car (Any brand or model) that has world-wide fame of design failure/flaw is very brave. Therefore it doesn't matter if you buy a bmw, audi, volvo, toyota, geely, etc. If a particular models has well known issues, the buyer is either very brave or very optimistic. If I am rich, I would also buy a golf gti and just replace the MU if and when it breaks down. After all, it is so widely recommended for its driving experience. Don't worry I am not angry. I am here to participate in discussions. The thing is I am also and advocate of "if it ain't broke don't fix it". A lot of VW owners are sending the car in for a clutch replacement at the slightest hint of juddering. BTW, mechatronics (MU) failure has nothing to do with the dry clutch. They are separate. People have been going on about "dry clutch" "dry clutch" "dry clutch" without understanding what it's all about. The MU is part the transmission failure stats, and it's also not uncommon for people with the old ZF 6HP in BMWs 50~60K on the clock experience MU failures too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged April 11, 2015 Share April 11, 2015 All I can say is that if you have made an informed decision (like I have despite knowing the widely reported DSG7 issues) then you choose the car based on what you are looking for. If you want fuss free, sure... buy a Toyota Altis or something. I was looking for a hot hatch that was inspiring to drive, and minimally handles better than the Mazda 2 it replaces and more. Ferrari owners don't kpkb when their gearbox fail. High performance cars have much higher maintenance bills than us. But their owners are clearly looking for other things when they bought the car. Reliability probably wasn't the top priority. And trust me if you replace your Jap car's OE "adhesive" pads with "abrasive" pads -- which I did put Hawk pads in my crappy Subaru 1.6A and brought up to Sepang on it's last year of COE life, you'll find out that your rotors are gone very quickly too. There's a price to pay for performance for sure. ur point noted. bro, i didnt know Mz2 handles that well cos i only test driven gen 1 & 2 only - impression was quite zippy; gen 1 was somewhat spacious wc was smthg i prefer over gen 2. if i'd the $ to own ferrari, buyin the car itself would be like buying a toy car to me by then. agree that i'll care less about reliability but more on liking, fun & performance. knowing what to expect from b&b car, i agree i wouldn't even bring it to track or even mod it, just like i wouldn't install performance brake pads w stock disc rotor or upgrade to bbk but not the entire braking system. since u wanted a ride that minimally handles better than Mz2, is it not possible to look out a similar jap ride? or u mean not many jap rides handle as well as Mz2? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 11, 2015 Share April 11, 2015 All I can say is that if you have made an informed decision (like I have despite knowing the widely reported DSG7 issues) then you choose the car based on what you are looking for. If you want fuss free, sure... buy a Toyota Altis or something. I was looking for a hot hatch that was inspiring to drive, and minimally handles better than the Mazda 2 it replaces and more. Ferrari owners don't kpkb when their gearbox fail. High performance cars have much higher maintenance bills than us. But their owners are clearly looking for other things when they bought the car. Reliability probably wasn't the top priority. And trust me if you replace your Jap car's OE "adhesive" pads with "abrasive" pads -- which I did put Hawk pads in my crappy Subaru 1.6A and brought up to Sepang on it's last year of COE life, you'll find out that your rotors are gone very quickly too. There's a price to pay for performance for sure. Can't quite agree with you on having to sacrifice reliability over performance for high end cars like Ferrari (just buy Jap statement) but agree that some compromises on reliability may be made, with eyes opened, in pursuit of better performance. I however think there is a minimum standard that is generally acceptable, VW's DSG problem (some models) is however not one of them and you don't have to own one to know. I can't understand why people still buy VW despite the well documented problems but guess everyone has different risk appetite and I think Pioneer is not wrong to say that VW buyers are optimistic people (only by discounting the probability of failure would it make sense). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged April 11, 2015 Share April 11, 2015 I can't understand why people still buy VW despite the well documented problems but guess everyone has different risk appetite and I think Pioneer is not wrong to say that VW buyers are optimistic people (only by discounting the probability of failure would it make sense). As an ex-VW owner who has "progressed" to a jap ride, I still miss the quality of my Touran now and then. Even one year on, I still miss it. The current jap ride simply cannot evoke that kind of feeling, when you are sitting in one and driving one, even when the new ride is as reliable as it is. As I have mentioned on numerous postings, my VW ride underwent 2 MU change within the 2 yrs 8months of ownership (2011~2014), being towed only once and needing roadside assistance for a free battery replacement. Not very traumatic so to speak, just some inconveniences that need to be managed when the ride is in workshop. This seems to be the norm from my time in VW forum. Only very rarely there are more issues such as crack piston or door motor issues, with Keith's lemon car as the one and only classic case. Do not listen to all the hearsay and horror stories that serve to prove certain point only. But I accept that for some people, even one day downtime is too much. This kind better buy only a Toyota and nothing else. At current price, VW cars are really a steal if you are to compare it to a jap equivalent. Go for a test-drive and you will understand. And I believe, the improvements that have been made in the last 4 years has improved the situation by a lot. Even their workshop servicing slots booking which has been a pain with 2 months lead time has been improved a lot. For me, VW is still buyable only if you do it with eyes opened, accepting that it could be in workshop once or twice per year and you have backup plan to go about your daily errands. Having support from your spouse that it is worth the hassle is definitely necessary to prevent dispute subsequently. Before I change to current 8-seater, I have thought of other options such as keeping the Touran and getting a jap ride as backup car, but that would mean having to jagar maintenance issues for 2 cars and parking would be very hassle over weekends with sister-in-law family staying over, as my carporch can accommodate access for 2 cars only, though can park 4 easily. I would have considered getting Sharan instead of a 8-seater very carefully if it is priced around $160k. But I would definitely give VW another chance when a suitable ride comes along when it is time to replace current ride, such is the feeling that a VW ride can evoke if you own one before, with not very negative past ownership experience. So, weigh carefully. There is no right or wrong here. You live only once. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic April 11, 2015 Share April 11, 2015 . Only very rarely there are more issues such as crack piston or door motor issues, with Keith's lemon car as the one and only classic case. hmmmm, i surf vagsg too and it seems cracked piston is not RARE lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged April 11, 2015 Share April 11, 2015 hmmmm, i surf vagsg too and it seems cracked piston is not RARE lor. It was talked about only for a certain period of time. Those ganna were very vocal. At least for Touran was rare. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 11, 2015 Share April 11, 2015 As an ex-VW owner who has "progressed" to a jap ride, I still miss the quality of my Touran now and then. Even one year on, I still miss it. The current jap ride simply cannot evoke that kind of feeling, when you are sitting in one and driving one, even when the new ride is as reliable as it is. As I have mentioned on numerous postings, my VW ride underwent 2 MU change within the 2 yrs 8months of ownership (2011~2014), being towed only once and needing roadside assistance for a free battery replacement. Not very traumatic so to speak, just some inconveniences that need to be managed when the ride is in workshop. This seems to be the norm from my time in VW forum. Only very rarely there are more issues such as crack piston or door motor issues, with Keith's lemon car as the one and only classic case. Do not listen to all the hearsay and horror stories that serve to prove certain point only. But I accept that for some people, even one day downtime is too much. This kind better buy only a Toyota and nothing else. At current price, VW cars are really a steal if you are to compare it to a jap equivalent. Go for a test-drive and you will understand. And I believe, the improvements that have been made in the last 4 years has improved the situation by a lot. Even their workshop servicing slots booking which has been a pain with 2 months lead time has been improved a lot. For me, VW is still buyable only if you do it with eyes opened, accepting that it could be in workshop once or twice per year and you have backup plan to go about your daily errands. Having support from your spouse that it is worth the hassle is definitely necessary to prevent dispute subsequently. Before I change to current 8-seater, I have thought of other options such as keeping the Touran and getting a jap ride as backup car, but that would mean having to jagar maintenance issues for 2 cars and parking would be very hassle over weekends with sister-in-law family staying over, as my carporch can accommodate access for 2 cars only, though can park 4 easily. I would have considered getting Sharan instead of a 8-seater very carefully if it is priced around $160k. But I would definitely give VW another chance when a suitable ride comes along when it is time to replace current ride, such is the feeling that a VW ride can evoke if you own one before, with not very negative past ownership experience. So, weigh carefully. There is no right or wrong here. You live only once. Most will not buy a VW if they know in advance they will encounter a couple of GB breakdowns in 2.8 years of ownership, that is my point. I think the BMW drive is better than VW, so I rather pay up to mitigate my risk and avoid all the headaches. I hate workshop visits. I sell my last conti after 3-4 workshop visits, lost about 20k. It is also about safety, not just time and cost. My friend used to work for VW as a mechanic, so I know how common the DSG problem is, especially the 7 DSG fitted on the 1.4L ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissan833 5th Gear April 11, 2015 Share April 11, 2015 Just sharing:Previous ride was VW Scirocco 1.4TSI (Twincharged version). Had it for 4.5 years before selling it. In total, my MU failed twice, around the 2 yr to 2.5 yr mark, both very close to each other and IIRC it was 2 months apart. Failed in the morning, cannot start, tow truck came, no charges. Collected the car the next working day evening. Other than the above, no issues at all. Very nice car with decent performance at this price bracket. Good fuel consumption no matter how you drive it. Very sleek looking - Even after 4 years, I still steal second glances when walking away from my car. In fact, every morning I look forward to driving it. Quite a bit of attention on the roads, both positive and negative, negative ones being the ricer cars keep wanting to race with me. Very difficult to drive in peace. I decided to ditch the boy-racer appearance of the Scirocco and I needed more space for my work. Considering how long I had it and the 2 times that it failed on me, I never regretted my purchase. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged April 11, 2015 Share April 11, 2015 So, the conclusion is those who continue to buy vw are those who can accept and be prepare to those few times of inconvenience and for those who are not, look somewhere else.... I know I won't touch it because I cannot take the risk of my car breaking down at wee wee hour with my whole family onboard while on nshw. Period. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Munhua 2nd Gear April 11, 2015 Share April 11, 2015 Haha vw owners who still want to stick with their cars mean they want face. I admit I also miss my vw car after I sell off as I downgrade from an mpv to a small hatchback. Yes I also miss the vw drive but frankly speaking I believe my non vw new small car will drive better as turbocharge and dual clutch as well. It is definitely not jap or Korean car as Boring drive. if I drive a golf and dsg mu fail like my touran, I may have cont to drive the golf but since my wife does not like me fetching other ppl except family, a sedan is more practical. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...