Car was broken into and thief made off with..

Moredhel

Knn ppl lost things liao you add oil to fire say ppl dumb...

why did you have to say that?...

hey, at least i gave a positive note telling him that he still can quickly make a police report and submit for claim leh..........

Sorry to hear of such a thing happening. You should just call your car insurance agent to assist you in submitting a claim AFTER you've made a police report. When reporting, give a detailed inventory of stolen items from your car and their estimated value (which you may base on purchase price) and year of purchase. It would really have helped if you called the police IMMEDIATELY upon discovering the theft, as they would send a finger-print extraction team to dust your car for prints. Next time, take a taxi to work instead :)

Do keep us posted of your insurance claim outcome, as we could all learn from this.

[;)]

Expensive lesson I would say. Police have been putting up banners in many carparks warning drivers not to put valuable stuffs in their cars. And yet ppl still do it.

Police report I think is one thing, another is to proof the items you say were in the car were in fact in the car, as well as their values. Those may be tough.

Hope the matter is resolved satisfactorily and soon.

Dear Bros,

am facing this problem for the first time and would appreciate any advice regarding this issue.

Car was broken into while parked at the multi-storey carpark. Time frame should be Sunday morning 2.30am till this morning 8am.

Problem is that the alarm seems to be deactivated and there are no signs of forced entry.

Hence I would like to seek bros advice regarding the following issues:

1) Is this claimable under vehicle insurance?

2) If so, how do I go about filing a claims?

Would appreciate any advice. Thanks!

wah lau fcuk sia... bro try to see remember if anyone knows about the money in your car... dont know if it will be of any help but... haiz....

for 2nd hand cars sometimes really have to becareful about duplicate alarms.... even shops when you send your car for service etc... when someone duplicates your car alarm (can be done in seconds anyone can do it) then the spare alarm at home will not work... this is one way of knowing if someone has duplicated your car alarm....

if it was a sunny OEM alarm system by Tan Cheong (models before 2005), and if there was a AD master key used, your alarm would have been activated... say the guy push the button below deactivate the alarm you with see the red light constant on instead of blinking when you went in your car this morning....

really sorry to hear about this... guess your 1st step is to report police and then inform your insurance and see what can be done if it covers... but i think need to prove car got broken into at least...

good luck bro.

yeah, if he got all the time to do that.....

normally thiefs only can spend 1 or 2 mins to take whatever he can, then he had to run off...

you talk machiam you car thief ah?.... or you police?.... [laugh]

hey, at least i gave a positive note telling him that he still can quickly make a police report and submit for claim leh..........

...you know like i slap someone and say sorry pain anot?.... [laugh]

you talk machiam you car thief ah?.... or you police?.... [laugh]

nope, i think like a thief, thats all........

it doesnt need a PhD degree to think like a thief, right?

nope, i think like a thief, thats all........

it doesnt need a PhD degree to think like a thief, right?

you are not a thief how in the world you gonna think like a thief?.....

for you maybe you scared get caught so act fast and run...

maybe this thief is intoxicated or very experienced (no sign of break in leh) so he take his own sweet time and act calm so not suspucious mah...

tsk tsk...

true for me too...cash card about less than 20..coupons also dun have alot...think the most expensive inside may be the spare tyre...

the most expensive item in my car is my pair of smelly soccer boots worth $70 two years ago

Aiyo, thief see my car, he won't be interested lah. Double confirm. Haha

Another thing, alot of drivers never die before. Many like to leave their gps mounted on the windscreen.

I see alot in my home car park..... Tsk Tsk Tsk

If kena break in, I would say "deserve it"

Aiyo, thief see my car, he won't be interested lah. Double confirm. Haha

Another thing, alot of drivers never die before. Many like to leave their gps mounted on the windscreen.

I see alot in my home car park..... Tsk Tsk Tsk

If kena break in, I would say "deserve it"

yah agreed... my plc also many cars leave their GPS on the dash/windscreen....

actually also must thank them lah... so lesser chance to target my car... i hope... [:/]

Sorry to hear that. Nobody deserved to have their car broken into!..

Many years ago, my car was broken into as well..window kena smashed, Although I did not lose anything, my unfortunate colleague just bought a new printer and have it in my boot. Gone!...Worse, when the police nabbed the thief and recover the items, I have everything back except that printer.....

Unsure about why my car was targetted.

The GPS was like 2-3 years ago technology and in fact a white elephant in the car.

Just accompanied my relative to MBS hence had extra cash in the car. My fault, I admit, that I forgot to remove the cash, resulting in the sway sway extra loss, or targetted loss?

Other than the old GPS set and car cam, there's nothing displayed and IU has a cover. Think quite common items.

Unsure why I was targeted unless thief tailed me all the way from MBS but mine is just a common 1.6, why not target the bmw7s instead?

Unsure about why my car was targetted.

The GPS was like 2-3 years ago technology and in fact a white elephant in the car.

Just accompanied my relative to MBS hence had extra cash in the car. My fault, I admit, that I forgot to remove the cash, resulting in the sway sway extra loss, or targetted loss?

Other than the old GPS set and car cam, there's nothing displayed and IU has a cover. Think quite common items.

Unsure why I was targeted unless thief tailed me all the way from MBS but mine is just a common 1.6, why not target the bmw7s instead?

BMWs no master key one...

I think it's not about what car you drive, but how sure the thieves are that the car has $. It's the same logic with cashcard, those exposed in IU I think have higher chance of being taken, because the thief knows for sure will get an IU. So even if you drive normal 1.6, if the thief in MBS already aim you plus know for sure you have cash left in car, that is a 'fatter' target than say a Maserati that the thief doesn't know have cash or not. Only situation when the make of the car matters is when the fella is stealing the car.

$2.4K????

oh man, sorry to say that you are dumb.........

u still can claim, just quickly made a poice report first

eh , dont think can claim ..... it is at ur own cost.....unless additional insurance plan

Edited by Lanevomax