1 step forward, a dozen backwards

So_nice

No doubt this is a breakthru for sg political landscape and for wp. Pap definitely has a lot of rethinking to do despite a "victorious" front. They know they are screwed.

Moving forward, either pap transform internally or external voters will transform them in GE2016. Of course, they will continue to change the GE playing field which is a shame for "first world country".

Social media and younger voters has helped alot and put every contestant under public scrutiny. For OP, they seriously have to do more ground work and consolidate their parties. It's clear that WP as a brand name commands a lot of respect! Screw ups like RP forgot national pledge is not acceptable. NSP rely on Nicole for publicity is also overdone.

Eventually, election is both an emotional and pragmatic process. Simply hating WKS, MBT, TPL to the guts is not a strategy for OP to win.

I believe we will reach a 2 party parliament soon. The social media and WP will put PAP under a lot of heavy accountability and transparency.

Take heart singaporeans! Don't give up on this land!

if J.B. Jeyaretnam was alive today...

he would be happy and proud to see Worker's party's results...

and if he saw what happened to RP... he would R.I.P instantly....

if J.B. Jeyaretnam was alive today...

he would be happy and proud to see Worker's party's results...

and if he saw what happened to RP... he would R.I.P instantly....

Don't say that la...I think he would be proud of his son Kenneth.

Don't forget this is a virgin election for RP. Their results are already not bad. There is actually a lot of logistic work behind just to campaign and with their little experience, they already did that quite well. At least you don't see them 35 seconds late or banners falling off stage.

What is important is that RP has given the people a choice to vote and that has enable our people to progress towards a more democratic society.

Come one lah..PP lost by 114 votes...that sitoh win is pure luck lah...

Not to mention the void votes-----244

Come one lah..PP lost by 114 votes...that sitoh win is pure luck lah...

Seems like theres a rumour going around, if they count the overseas voters, the winning margin drops down to 78..

Don't say that la...I think he would be proud of his son Kenneth.

Don't forget this is a virgin election for RP. Their results are already not bad. There is actually a lot of logistic work behind just to campaign and with their little experience, they already did that quite well. At least you don't see them 35 seconds late or banners falling off stage.

What is important is that RP has given the people a choice to vote and that has enable our people to progress towards a more democratic society.

i meant it as a joke... [;)]

thought i see nothing in Kenneth resembling his dad, i respect his courage and all...

and i seriously think that forgetting the national pledge is unforgiveable... i have not recite it in donkey years... but i can still do it at 1st try... but then i guess the pressure of the big crowd makes a hell of a difference...

but just for the record i voted opposition... [:)]

to the FCUKERS who didnt vote for Mr Chiam... knn if you so like PAP why dont early early move out of Potong Pasir to else where got the upgradings you all want?... This Potong Pasir 27yrs liao Mr Chiam and his people serving... Singpore already not enough opposition to speak up in parliment... and now less/no voices from SPP... the PAP will continue to have the power to enforce rules and regulations to their advantage... KNS ALL IDIOTS TO VOTE PAP FOR POTONG PASIR... PUI....

Seems like theres a rumour going around, if they count the overseas voters, the winning margin drops down to 78..

Sitoh doesnt win PP, it's Chiam that loses it.

Sitoh didn't invite any of heavy weight pappy to help him in rally, he didn't even need to criticise his opponent for this rally & no upgrading promises.....and yet still win PP.

I'm just surprise that he only manage to win by such small margin.....

Sitoh doesnt win PP, it's Chiam that loses it.

Sitoh didn't invite any of heavy weight pappy to help him in rally, he didn't even need to criticise his opponent for this rally & no upgrading promises.....and yet still win PP.

I'm just surprise that he only manage to win by such small margin.....

come on... sito won because the idiots who voted for him were taken in by the years of threat of the pap not throwing in enough funds for potong pasir...

any prick would know this...

you live in potong pasir?... i have been to Chiam see tong's rallies since the 90s....

actually thats an interesting topic... I was wondering how they counted the overseas votes. Which constituency do the overseas votes represent?

Potong Pasir may cease to exist. Probably disappear into Bishan, Toa Payoh, Moulmein, Kallang or another newly formed GRC.

Even if Potong Pasir remains per its current boundaries, it may see much infrastructure investment by the Temasek linked companies (CapitaMall) or the PAP-controlled Stat Boards (Libraries, Swimming Complex, etc). By the time 5 years are up, the residents there would have been addicted to all the new stuff going on in their neighbourhood and they become just like the rest of 60% of Singkies in their slumber. Getting fcuked in the arse is no problem if got library and swimming pool, understand?

Potong Pasir may cease to exist. Probably disappear into Bishan, Toa Payoh, Moulmein, Kallang or another newly formed GRC.

Even if Potong Pasir remains per its current boundaries, it may see much infrastructure investment by the Temasek linked companies (CapitaMall) or the PAP-controlled Stat Boards (Libraries, Swimming Complex, etc). By the time 5 years are up, the residents there would have been addicted to all the new stuff going on in their neighbourhood and they become just like the rest of 60% of Singkies in their slumber. Getting fcuked in the arse is no problem if got library and swimming pool, understand?

which is why i said we took 1 step forward but actual fact, a dozen backwards. having GRC is not enough. having 1 more area under a leader whom loves and serves the pple is more important.

if Mr Chiam stays at PP, I have no doubts he will definitely win again...

but for the good of democracy, he decided to step out together with WP and contest in Bishan-TP where his chance to win was relatively limited

i really admire him for that, and 43% was really a good result

at his age, it was a bold move for him, though it ended sadly, but at least it was 轰轰烈烈 enough

4 words to describe Mr Chiam... 老骥伏枥 志在千里 烈士暮年 壮心不已

kudos to him [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

i believe that next GE there will no longer have a SMC call potong pasir .

think it will merge with bishan-topayoh soon [:(]

if Mr Chiam stays at PP, I have no doubts he will definitely win again...

but for the good of democracy, he decided to step out together with WP and contest in Bishan-TP where his chance to win was relatively limited

i really admire him for that, and 43% was really a good result

at his age, it was a bold move for him, though it ended sadly, but at least it was 轰轰烈烈 enough

4 words to describe Mr Chiam... 老骥伏枥 志在千里 烈士暮年 壮心不已

kudos to him [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

There is a saying that if you never try, you never know.

It is better to try and then fail, than to never try and die wondering the outcome.

There is a saying that if you never try, you never know.

It is better to try and then fail, than to never try and die wondering the outcome.

too true. I think Chiam made a good call at the time, even though unfortunately it did not work out favourably.

I just came back from a driver-thru Potong Pasir. I've stayed in that estate for 10 years in the 80's thru 90's. It's a very cosy 'island' and no different from many of the HDB estates around the country. It's got a kopitiams, CC, open space with fields, nurseries, a JC, good amenities, and it's clean and green. So at least superficially I would say, as well run as any PAP-held constituency.

So it's a bit sad and disappointing for me personally that there's not more support given to Mrs Chiam this GE. And Mr Chiam didn't 'abandon' PP residents for greater glory, so yes, this tie round I'm indeed disappointed with the voters in PP.

Heard that the Town council in PP and Hougang collect lesser CC fees as compared to those under PAP, is that true? If yes, then did PP residents just voted for an increase in CC fees?

tats why i salute mr chiam. i wonder if we can find another person as committed as he does.

hope LTK can hold his head high and fight for the rights of singaporeans.