My experience working in civil service...

Relacklabrudder

Ya, when my bro was working for AVA, weekend also must work. Cos the fish market/polutry/pig/various raw meat processing/import places are still operating. They take turns to work weekends. This will go on until one day SG dont import raw meat, which I dont think will happen. [laugh]

Even MP also have to work on weekends("walking the ground") and late into the night(MP session n block visit).

not only that, i recently saw this on the void deck notice board, MP being the tour guide, bring residents to somewhere in Malaysia iirc. must go back and see if the notice is still up..

MP beri bz these days..

think also depends on job function

alot of civil service roles are very specific with no equilvalent in the private sector. eg policy making or teaching etc.

for those e.g finance, tax, HR etc should not be a big issue to find roles in the private sector. esp for some roles which might have dealings with the regulatory side. i know some banks likes ppl from MAS  for e.g compliance roles etc.

My friend worked @ MAS for his first job. He couldn't find a suitable finance job when he came back from his studies.

Moved on later after a few years.

It's a very long burn. The GE duty takes like almost 12 hours.

More like 20 plus hours for those in charge of polling station in the day and counting at night

Thanks for the good read. Sounds like the current lot is leading us into a bleak future. So there must be a bunch of these in the parliament right now?

X2sA-awzunex9858664.jpg

What Philip says is so real.  and i have personally seen it in my previous workplace.  The emperor is isolated with middle staffers who only feed him with what they want him to know, while the poor lowly workers are dealing with sh1t. 

I like it when he said about where are the civil servants in the CPF and SMRT problems came up?  the poor ministers are the ones doing the talking.  Where are the bloody CEOs and chairmen?

What talk you?

CEO of SPH is ex perm sec of LKY le.  Haloooooooo

ST already have digital for 5 - 6 years already.

What taxpayer $$$?

SPH is paying me dividend every year le.

@Davodtch

You think the CEO is involved in the day-to-day running? Unless he has several cones.  He is only a figure head. He wears at least 13 hats.

Alan is currently on the boards of Singapore Press Holdings Ltd and its subsidiaries including SPH REIT Management Pte Ltd.

He is also a Director of Singapore Press Holdings Foundation Limited, MediaCorp TV Holdings Pte Ltd, MediaCorp Press Ltd, Lan Ting Holdings Pte Ltd, Pavilion Energy Pte Ltd and Pavilion Gas Pte Ltd.

He is the Chairman of the Land Transport Authority of Singapore, External Review Panel for SAF Safety and the Singapore-China Foundation. He is also a member of the Public Service Commission (PSC) and the Singapore Symphony Orchestra Council. He chaired the Council that revised the Code of Corporate Governance in 2012.

Go and google search who is the ex SAF General who is involved in the day-to-day running of SPH.

lol find it very funny that people who don't work in the civil service only criticize the bosses are just people who listen to the bootlickers.

But the people i know who work in the civil service don't seem to badmouth most of their superiors leh.

Even my wife who worked at a basic position would admit her bosses are probably more capable than her barring some usual black sheep.

Must be very disillusioning for the AOs and Perm secs right... Everyday come into work see their gong tao of a boss ...   [laugh]

lol find it very funny that people who don't work in the civil service only criticize the bosses are just people who listen to the bootlickers.

But the people i know who work in the civil service don't seem to badmouth most of their superiors leh.

Even my wife who worked at a basic position would admit her bosses are probably more capable than her barring some usual black sheep.

Must be very disillusioning for the AOs and Perm secs right... Everyday come into work see their gong tao of a boss ...   [laugh]

I base my ideas of what civil service is like from my exp in the army and what my relatives in the civil service feel (wife, mother).

It's a bureaucracy lor.

I dont know, whenever I hear people working until 10-11pm daily, I know that guy is very unproductive. Maybe security officer on 12 hours shift can match him.

whether you choose to staybor leave your job depend very much on you. although you maybe financially burden and need that job badly, if it dont works out, it is still better to move on.

there are pros and cons being civil servant. Philip Yeo is not referring to the average civil servant. those do not depend just on their monthly pay to be millionaire. then we need to go into another debate on declaration of personal assets. hahaha

@Davodtch

You think the CEO is involved in the day-to-day running? Unless he has several cones.  He is only a figure head. He wears at least 13 hats.

Alan is currently on the boards of Singapore Press Holdings Ltd and its subsidiaries including SPH REIT Management Pte Ltd.

He is also a Director of Singapore Press Holdings Foundation Limited, MediaCorp TV Holdings Pte Ltd, MediaCorp Press Ltd, Lan Ting Holdings Pte Ltd, Pavilion Energy Pte Ltd and Pavilion Gas Pte Ltd.

He is the Chairman of the Land Transport Authority of Singapore, External Review Panel for SAF Safety and the Singapore-China Foundation. He is also a member of the Public Service Commission (PSC) and the Singapore Symphony Orchestra Council. He chaired the Council that revised the Code of Corporate Governance in 2012.

Go and google search who is the ex SAF General who is involved in the day-to-day running of SPH.

Sure boh?

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/sph-appoints-two-deputy/2911980.html

This 2 also not le.

I see the number of ppl in their CC for an email, I sian liao.  [crazy]

For my side, CC is FYI only. Read and trash it. If need my action, put me in the To.

I dont know, whenever I hear people working until 10-11pm daily, I know that guy is very unproductive. Maybe security officer on 12 hours shift can match him.

whether you choose to staybor leave your job depend very much on you. although you maybe financially burden and need that job badly, if it dont works out, it is still better to move on.

Yup. Everyone must be very productive. Finish work and go home at 6 o'clock. Those who finish late are not productive.

Yup.

not only that, i recently saw this on the void deck notice board, MP being the tour guide, bring residents to somewhere in Malaysia iirc. must go back and see if the notice is still up..

MP beri bz these days..

You mean this?

limei-400x400-eng.tmb-thumb400.jpg400x400-cansyd-desmond-tan.tmb-thumb400.

MP need more business, wait kena voted out how? :XD:

You mean this?

limei-400x400-eng.tmb-thumb400.jpg400x400-cansyd-desmond-tan.tmb-thumb400.

MP need more business, wait kena voted out how? :XD:

hahahaha... not the tv production la.. at least i dont think i saw that.. should be some RC organised nearby trips.. let me go back home to take some pix then post

See. Told you so, that SPH is slow in going digital. Never optimise on google ad word search. You can't even find the honcho's name online. Haha

sO WHO IS HE?

hahahaha... not the tv production la.. at least i dont think i saw that.. should be some RC organised nearby trips.. let me go back home to take some pix then post

Aiya, no need to dig, just replace the faces with your MP can liao :grin: