Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 please don't speed in the residential areas. ---- Aug 3, 2011 Man appeals against driving ban after fatal accident Phang Say Lang, 54, pleaded guilty in May to causing the death of Chen Chunyu (above) as a result of failing to keep a proper lookout while driving along Boon Lay Way on Sept 18, 2009. -- PHOTO: NONSPH A BUSINESSMAN who has paid an $8,000 fine for negligently causing the death of a nine-year-old pedestrian in a 2009 road traffic accident is appealing against his five-year driving ban. The appeal will be heard in the High Court on a date to be fixed. Phang Say Lang, 54, pleaded guilty in May to causing the death of Chen Chunyu as a result of failing to keep a proper lookout while driving along Boon Lay Way on Sept 18, 2009. The Primary 2 pupil was on his way to school in pouring rain when he was hit by Phang's Lexus. The boy was seriously injured and died in hospital six days later. The court heard he had stepped onto the road in front of a bus stop, heading for his school on the other side. The point at which he crossed was more than 130m from the nearest pedestrian crossing, at the junction of Boon Lay Way and Corporation Road. In his grounds of judgment last month, District Judge Roy Neighbour said there was no doubt that the mishap was the result of Phang's failure to keep a proper lookout for the boy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 I'm surprised that this driver still has the heart to drive, appealing against his driving ban. Maybe after paying the fine already makes him feel better about it? Regardless, the boy also make a mistake by crossing a dangerous road without relying on the pedestrian crossing. Why is the nearest pedestrian crossing 130m from the bus stop which is conveniently across the road from the school?? Asking for accident to happen, this kind of design... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear August 3, 2011 Author Share August 3, 2011 I'm surprised that this driver still has the heart to drive, appealing against his driving ban. Maybe after paying the fine already makes him feel better about it? Regardless, the boy also make a mistake by crossing a dangerous road without relying on the pedestrian crossing. Why is the nearest pedestrian crossing 130m from the bus stop which is conveniently across the road from the school?? Asking for accident to happen, this kind of design... as you said it looks like bad design, a young kid who's rushing to school in the pouring rain. but mistake or not i don't think you can kill someone that easily if you are driving around 50km/h and slowing down in hazardous conditions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy-T 1st Gear August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 just 1 question, why the parents let him a primary 2 student go to school by himself when raining ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear August 3, 2011 Author Share August 3, 2011 At 50kph death is more likely than serious injury. slowing down under hazardous conditions. and don't speed in the school zones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xabi_alonso 2nd Gear August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 Lexus... can claim it's tree branch? but seriously, how come no jail term? and driver still have cheek to appeal! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda-6 1st Gear August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 This is the problem with Singapore's Road Law, u kill an innocent child and all this MF gets is a $8000/= fine (peanuts to someone who can driev a Lexus) and a 5 year ban, what f..ed up logic is this? Should throw him in jail for 3 months and ban him from driving for life. Also the parents should be compensated...hope they sued this b------d of a dickhead..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pchmj Clutched August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 just 1 question, why the parents let him a primary 2 student go to school by himself when raining ? Maybe you can't understand poor families. I used to take care of myself since primary 2 or 3 (can't remember exact), family is poor and uneducated so both parents working as hawkers. I had to go school and breakfast/lunch all by myself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 well, yesterday a pri school kids seeing me approaching, still dash across the street. lucky i was only traveling at 55km/h, jammed brake like hell! I was like, WTF! Last week, there was a similar school kid kana bang for dashing across the same street, lucky he only bruises... I am not saying that the above driver is not at fault as i was not a witness but most of the time, drivers are blamed for the death of idiot jay walkers/dashers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 Maybe you can't understand poor families. I used to take care of myself since primary 2 or 3 (can't remember exact), family is poor and uneducated so both parents working as hawkers. I had to go school and breakfast/lunch all by myself. *pats*.. i use to have classmates like urself.. having to deal with everyting on their own.. anyways, it wasn't an "intentional" killing.. so.. driver got away with small punishment.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pltang Clutched August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 I think it's common for primary school kids to go school alone, rain or shine... and also common for ppl to cross roads despite pedestrian crossings, especially when it rains, all one wants is get to destination quick... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 (edited) My place have hell a lot of idiot jay walkers. The worst of the lot are those adutls with earphones plug in. They just give one look on your in-coming car and continue slowly jay walk across the road. They dont care whether you are slowing down or not. )*&(^$#$*^(O(&*%#@#.......bloody hell. Edited August 3, 2011 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 knn...if he drive with care n 50-60km/hr...dun think the poor kid will die.. near school and down pour somemore..... he should count his FARKING blessing the fine only $8k n ban 5 yrs from driving...should ban for 20yrs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 My place have hell a lot of idiot jay walkers. The worst of the lot are those adutls with earphones plug in. They just give one look on your in-coming car and continue slowly jay walk across the road. They dont care whether you are slowing down or not. )*&(^$#$*^(O(&*%#@#.......bloody hell. everywhere there's jaywalkers....but if we "LONG" them...we suay lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 Primary Two is 8 years old oreddy. That's old enough to walk yourself to school. I certainly was walking to school at that age. Is not about poor oor not poor - my kid is in P1, I am ok with her taking herself to school now (but mum won't allow) and I don't think I qualify as poor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 7:15 just now and uncle riding a bicycle hit by a car while crossing zebra crossing at kje exit to brickland road. this uncle always cycle across this zebra crossing and the corner to cck is really a blind spot! driver will kana cialat cialat but he is not entirely at fault... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 The thing is kids are still young and not mature enough to pass sound judgement. Esp when they are less than 10 years old. It's like a kid will ignore whatever reasoning the parents give if they desire something like a toy. So when they cross the road, don't be surprise alot of them think they are faster than the cars. They fail to calculate that sense of speed from the car. I had an incident before. I was driving out of the carpark to the main road. This two kids, an older sister and a younger brother around 6 to 10 years old, where at the roadside. They saw me and stopped walking as I drove on. I was thinking "Okay, these kids saw me" so I carried on. It was a major 2 lane road without no crossing so natural people will wait till the car passes before crossing right? As I was about to pass them the younger brother suddenly DASH! out to cross the road. I was startled and braked hard. I was barely 5 meters as I see the sister screamed at her brother and the brother still smiling at me as he dashed acrossed... The sister quickly ran across and scolded his brother, still smiling like it's something fun. Can see the sister almost freak out. I tell you, the kid's a loose cannon....but he's a kid, if anything goes wrong no amount of excuse will clear me.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear August 3, 2011 Share August 3, 2011 7:15 just now and uncle riding a bicycle hit by a car while crossing zebra crossing at kje exit to brickland road. this uncle always cycle across this zebra crossing and the corner to cck is really a blind spot! driver will kana cialat cialat but he is not entirely at fault... sorry to be mean..but in the first place...how can he cycle on a zebra crossing ? serve him right...but poor driver... even if u want to cycle..u should stop and push the bike across... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...