Yeshe Turbocharged September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 lol. u all still throw... fren fren lah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 you sure you saw a complete yao jiu as in fourteen cards all 1 or 9 ??! i played over 30 years of mj withe the most exprienced players, frankly, i have yet to see once. not da si xi also. my grandma she played for over half a century also never see before. now she throw tiles her hand trembling. lol. i gamed before... my personal glories of 23 years include five 13-yao, one ren hu, one xiao si xi, three da xiao yuan (14 winning tiles one), one zi yi she, one pure 1-9, two qing yi she ping hu... still looking for tian hu, jiu lian bao deng and 18 luo han... after that retire for good! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 i gamed before... my personal glories of 23 years include five 13-yao, one ren hu, one xiao si xi, three da xiao yuan (14 winning tiles one), one zi yi she, one pure 1-9, two qing yi she ping hu... still looking for tian hu, jiu lian bao deng and 18 luo han... after that retire for good! u got di hu before? still got 4 winds one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strudel- 1st Gear September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 (edited) I only want shi ba luo han da si xi! Edited September 3, 2011 by Strudel- Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wasted 1st Gear September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 I only want shi ba luo han da si xi! wah bro can game such a hand i will be scared! like got "peng you" assisting!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 i have seen all sorts of players, the type who lose a few hundred only start to throw chips and bang table, the type who take the game very personal as if is settling some feud, the type who throw tiles when you are looking away, the type who twist their wrist and place the tile on the table so that you wont be able to tell what tile she throw, and some despicable one who calling peng hu and when pull flower, keep inside one. recently played with one group got one super lao jiao, the other leg told me, when wash tiles must not flip open the tiles, cos the lao jiao will remember the position of the tiles one. wah !! the best types of players are those who can lose graciously and pay up steadfastly, and keep quiet throughout the game and only comment after each game. this type is few and rare. if anyone belongs to this category and wants to play mahjong, pm me. this one can catch, same penalty as zha hu. but once do that... basically can stop playing liao, sure fan lian one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 not all 大牌 is got tai one no la, only got tai then call 大牌. thats why 4 tai bao 大牌, no tai ones (wrong directions) no bao cos not win as 5 tai. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizardofzzz 1st Gear September 4, 2011 Share September 4, 2011 Precisely!! On table only 2 tai then i throw west which give him extra 1 tai and the da pai 1,9 and according to their rule they say I kana bao! The more i tink the more dulan..hahaha I argue saying then in this case 1/2 colour also got "bao" lo cos its also 2 tai ma! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 4, 2011 Share September 4, 2011 To prevent any unpleasant arguments over the table, it is always good to seek the consensus of the winning ways especially with players you have never met before or first time playing with folks you know. The house rules clarification part will help to prevent the unfortunate zha hu situation. As a matter of fact, I was playing with my wife, father-in-law and my nanny over the weekend. This is the first time my nanny was playing with us and though I tried to explain the house rules as clearly as I can, the one thing I had overlooked was gai hu. I believe many of us do not subscribe to the gai hu aka 0 fan because of the ease of gaming and also no pride in winning. In addition how do you count winnings for a 0 fan situation? So when my nanny tried to game once like that we were all flabbergasted. Despite both my father-in-law and myself explaining to her nicely about it, she refused to bulge and said that her neighbors considered a legitimate win. We did not bao her and let her continue playing even though she was clearly upset. So do set out the rules ( not really possible but do try to cover as many as you can) in evey game you play with a stranger... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear September 4, 2011 Share September 4, 2011 btw, if u DO za hu, how much must u pay the other 3 parties? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 4, 2011 Share September 4, 2011 Just nice finish a game and this thread is active. I just got "bao" for "大牌 一 , 九" I was like wtf! since when this one got "Bao" 一 , 九 yes but 大牌 一 , 九 only 2 tai where got "bao" Keep inisting that i pay all...Damm dulan AM I wrong?? Different place different rules... Is good to confirm rules before game start Like ours 大牌一九 is only 1 extra fold Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 4, 2011 Share September 4, 2011 btw, if u DO za hu, how much must u pay the other 3 parties? Max, according to the limit you set. e.g. If max is $40 for 5 doubles, the zha hu fella has to pay the other 3 players $40 each. Normally local players set at 5 doubles but some do up to 8-9 doubles but from 5 doubles onwards add $20-40 per fan instead of the usual counting from 1-5 doubles. Those MJ games portrayed in the movies normally set no limit which is quite scary... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged September 4, 2011 Share September 4, 2011 no la, only got tai then call 大牌. thats why 4 tai bao 大牌, no tai ones (wrong directions) no bao cos not win as 5 tai. not true, lets say u got 4 tai on table and bao big tile. someone throw "west" which doesnt have tai but the player win half color. the player who throw will also kena bao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged September 4, 2011 Share September 4, 2011 btw, if u DO za hu, how much must u pay the other 3 parties? usually pay 5 double to all 3 players Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_cow 3rd Gear September 4, 2011 Share September 4, 2011 Different place different rules... Is good to confirm rules before game start Like ours 大牌一九 is only 1 extra fold yah is best to clarify, i played with 1 fren insist got bao and is max limit, while play with another say no such thing. general rule of MCF bros here, like tt got bao? on the table 3 x 1 bamboo, 3 x 9 wan, 3 x north ( no flower or animal ) hidden tiles 2 x 1 circle, 2 x west if got player throw 1 circle or 1 west got bao him? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_cow 3rd Gear September 4, 2011 Share September 4, 2011 not true, lets say u got 4 tai on table and bao big tile. someone throw "west" which doesnt have tai but the player win half color. the player who throw will also kena bao. like tt oso got bao ah? hmm... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged September 4, 2011 Share September 4, 2011 yah is best to clarify, i played with 1 fren insist got bao and is max limit, while play with another say no such thing. general rule of MCF bros here, like tt got bao? on the table 3 x 1 bamboo, 3 x 9 wan, 3 x north ( no flower or animal ) hidden tiles 2 x 1 circle, 2 x west if got player throw 1 circle or 1 west got bao him? no bao, unless if bao "fresh" cards at the last 7 cards Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_cow 3rd Gear September 4, 2011 Share September 4, 2011 Max, according to the limit you set. e.g. If max is $40 for 5 doubles, the zha hu fella has to pay the other 3 players $40 each. Normally local players set at 5 doubles but some do up to 8-9 doubles but from 5 doubles onwards add $20-40 per fan instead of the usual counting from 1-5 doubles. Those MJ games portrayed in the movies normally set no limit which is quite scary... any mahjong professor here can tell me how many doubles for all the big combis if no limit? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...