How problematic is VW's 7 speed DSG?

Kar_lover

so it is the traffic jams, hot weather or humid weather? that you dont expeience in germany. btw, VW was also very popular in China.

Hot and humid weather with stop and go traffic conditions is what initially triggered the overheating. But a new gearbox oil has solved that problem. It is however still advisable to use manual mode and first gear under the aforementioned exceptional conditions. That's the case for all dual clutch transmission in general, ie also apply to dual clutch Kia, Ford, Audi etc

I was stuck in a very jialat traffic jam at Tuas check point5 years ago. I passed Singapore check point and stuck in middle of bridge from 3pm till 10.30pm then reached Malaysia side check point in start and stop traffic. I was driving a 8 year old Kia Carens and using normal transmission gear and it survived through this ordeal! Only the aircon is blowing hot and cold air.

Saw 2 audi and 1 bmw broke down along the way due to overheating.

I was stuck in a very jialat traffic jam at Tuas check point5 years ago. I passed Singapore check point and stuck in middle of bridge from 3pm till 10.30pm then reached Malaysia side check point in start and stop traffic. I was driving a 8 year old Kia Carens and using normal transmission gear and it survived through this ordeal! Only the aircon is blowing hot and cold air.

Saw 2 audi and 1 bmw broke down along the way due to overheating.

I saw 1 Toyota broke down at Tuas checkpoint on Saturday.

Ya correct, nobody is at fault, all blame climate , it is climate fault. Hehehe global warming fault. Hehe

How come other car makes never blame the weather or traffic jams ah?

All non-VW engines and non-DSG transmissions usually work fine in the hot tropics with traffic jams leh ... Mercedes Benz, Honda, Toyota/Lexus, Nissan, Hyundai ... the list goes on ...

How come other car makes never blame the weather or traffic jams ah?

All non-VW engines and non-DSG transmissions usually work fine in the hot tropics with traffic jams leh ... Mercedes Benz, Honda, Toyota/Lexus, Nissan, Hyundai ... the list goes on ...

1) VW engines brake down in hot climate? The most recent examples of cars going up in flames in Sg were Hyundai, Mercedes, BMW, if I remember the pictures correctly.

2) VW dual clutch gearboxes were problematic early on because VW failed to do sufficient testing. They introduced a product prematurely. The current generation DSG don't have the overheating problem. (Even on this forum, I haven't seen any problems relating to OVERHEATED DSG post 2012, ie after VW introduced their fix. Please prove me wrong. Of course, VW customer service failed miserably dealing with the initial issue, damaging the brand in this part if the world for a while to come.)

3) Meanwhile other dual clutch gearboxes seem to have the overheating issue. Someone posted on the forum here that their 2016 Carens got the gearbox overheating warning during causeway jam.

Brand name damaged down the drain oredi ... due to DSG unreliability over many years and the diesel cheating case.

Nothing can do about it, to turn things around.

A day late and a dollar short ...

Condemn case lah

Brand name damaged down the drain oredi ... due to DSG unreliability over many years and the diesel cheating case.

Nothing can do about it, to turn things around.

A day late and a dollar short ...

Condemn case lah

2) VW dual clutch gearboxes were problematic early on because VW failed to do sufficient testing. They introduced a product prematurely. The current generation DSG don't have the overheating problem. (Even on this forum, I haven't seen any problems relating to OVERHEATED DSG post 2012, ie after VW introduced their fix. Please prove me wrong. Of course, VW customer service failed miserably dealing with the initial issue, damaging the brand in this part if the world for a while to come.)

srsly?

read this then: http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=100198

Not only DSG problematic, VW engines too!

More ...

http://vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=103343

MU failures still not resolved ...

http://vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=102986

DSG gearbox issues still rampant in current models:

http://vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=102630

Clutch problems still there in 2016 ...

http://vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=101176

More owners' experiences of Mechatronics failure ...

http://vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=102222

Edited by merc280v6

More ...

Hi bro, you may like to read the content of the post first instead of just doing bulk search and posting the links trying to push your point.

Give you a hint why you are barking up the wrong tree: "in 2016 killer airbags issue is not solved and affecting millions of honda"

I also heard that used car dealers are very scared to take in VW cars for trade-in. Usually low-ball offers at zero body value for >3 year old cars (i.e. just the residual COE and prorata PARF).

More ...

Hi Merc280,

Can you share with us which VW are you driving and bad experience you have with VW cars? Thanks

Hi Merc280,

Can you share with us which VW are you driving and bad experience you have with VW cars? Thanks

driving a VW jetta, 2012 mfg

change 3 clutch and 1 mu, car in close to 4 years old now

go figure.

driving a VW jetta, 2012 mfg

change 3 clutch and 1 mu, car in close to 4 years old now

go figure.

Wah! You must be whacking your car like sh!t man!

3 clutch + 1 mu replaced in 4 years is sure no "role model" for any car make or model

You seem to be very attuned with the current used car market for Volkswagen huh?

Are you a used car dealer? If not, I would like to know which Volkswagen model you are currently driving? Perhaps we can share tips on how to drive right' to extend the lifespan of the entire drivetrain.

I also heard that used car dealers are very scared to take in VW cars for trade-in. Usually low-ball offers at zero body value for >3 year old cars (i.e. just the residual COE and prorata PARF).