How problematic is VW's 7 speed DSG?

Kar_lover

One or two days being inconvenienced every few years is OK ; provided that you know which day that it will fail . Its the feeling driving around and with the though of not knowing when it will fail that is disturbing . Get stuck in causeway jam , the though comes , not a good feeling.

If your car really clocks 500,000 km in 2 years without any gb issue , tomorrow I go buy one immediately . If its a typo error and you actually meant 50,000 km , then its still to early to celebrate .

Who can give you such guarantee? Feeling it will fail? Because vw/dsg got bad reputation? You don't need such guarantee from supposedly reliable brands like Honda/Toyota? Did you forget people got killed/injured by airbags in Hondas and and uncontrollable acceleration in Toyotas. Both these brands have been found to deliberately concealing these defects. Many around the world are still waiting (and feeling anxiety of being injured) while waiting for Honda to fix the airbags.

Wow, ppl here are so defensive. Even assume I say something negative siah. Scary. Hahaha....

Sorry about that. Got carried away. Didn't see you were just making a motherhood statement. :)

Who can give you such guarantee? Feeling it will fail? Because vw/dsg got bad reputation? You don't need such guarantee from supposedly reliable brands like Honda/Toyota? Did you forget people got killed/injured by airbags in Hondas and and uncontrollable acceleration in Toyotas. Both these brands have been found to deliberately concealing these defects. Many around the world are still waiting (and feeling anxiety of being injured) while waiting for Honda to fix the airbags.

The fact remains that:

(1) the probability of failure of VW's 7-dry DSG is higher than most

Did I say equal? :p

I don't care how you want to use your own money. That's your prerogative. But I do care if you want to stick your opinion and tell me how I should or should not use money using FUD.

Of course lah, still have to say meh. My money of course I decide how to spend, I dun care whether you care about how I spend my money.

I also dun care about your opinion about my opinion about the 7 speed dry DSG, I have yet to change my view despite all your arguments. You are wasting your time with people like me. I also realise that I am wasting my time with people like you.

Have a good day 

Peace and cheers

Of course lah, still have to say meh. My money of course I decide how to spend, I dun care whether you care about how I spend my money.

I also dun care about your opinion about my opinion about the 7 speed dry DSG, I have yet to change my view despite all your arguments. You are wasting your time with people like me. I also realise that I am wasting my time with people like you.

Have a good day

Peace and cheers

I think got it the other way round. I am just reactive. I am just posting counter arguments to those who started the rumor mongering and FUD without any facts to backup (maybe an axe to grind) . Were you one of those? In fact those FUD postings (including yours) are making me waste my time.

You have any real statistics to backup your FUD? (not your imaginary or conjecture or from rumor mongers)

The probability of getting rain in the next hundred days is 100%.

The probability of a Toyota dropping dead in next 10min somewhere in the world is 100%.

The probability of anything failing is 100% over time.

What's your frame of reference? How about using relatives -be a bit pessimistic and say a few times less reliable than a slush box? So if a slush box has a 1 in 100 failure over 100000km then a few times of 1% (aka a few percent just in case you don't know math :) ) is still a very very acceptable risk. At least it doesn't justify making a mountain out of a molehill like what you did with all your FUDs :p

btw: my dsg has not failed yet in 2 years. You can't even get your shitty FUD right. Go get tuition first before trying for the FUD writer award.

Again into your thick skull, your 7-dry DSG is horse shit.

The fact is: There is known issues to the mechatronics for the DSG7 (dry). The breakdown rate is high enough to cause worry and we see mass gathering to protest. The failure is unpredictable and can be very spontaneous. There is no known method of prevention. Everyone on a DSG7 (dry) is at greater risk to have their vehicles breakdown. This is a fact we cannot deny no matter how we sugar coat the words to consumers. Contrary to those insisting this is fear mongering, they seem to be having difficulties coming to terms with the facts that have already taken place.

There are too many unanswered questions and you cannot expect consumers to offer blind faith. If you want to prove the problem is resolved, then release the field failure PPM since the failure took place, the 8D involved in the rectification of the problem, the ECN submitted by the external provider, the VDA6.1 audit report on the system of the involved external provider, 6.3 of the involved process that went wrong, 6.5 for the products audit reports... Release the involved PPAP (at level 3) to prove conformity otherwise, anything else is No Action Talk Only.

Therefore, the best solution is to shun the DSG7 dry (for DQ200). and if you have to go for the VW, go for the DSG6 (DQ250 Borg Warner) wet, or DSG7 (wet) DQ500

I think got it the other way round. I am just reactive. I am just posting counter arguments to those who started the rumor mongering and FUD without any facts to backup (maybe an axe to grind) . Were you one of those? In fact those FUD postings (including yours) are making me waste my time.

The fact is: There is known issues to the mechatronics for the DSG7 (dry). The breakdown rate is high enough to cause worry and we see mass gathering to protest. The failure is unpredictable and can be very spontaneous. There is no known method of prevention. Everyone on a DSG7 (dry) is at greater risk to have their vehicles breakdown. This is a fact we cannot deny no matter how we sugar coat the words to consumers. Contrary to those insisting this is fear mongering, they seem to be having difficulties coming to terms with the facts that have already taken place.

There are too many unanswered questions and you cannot expect consumers to offer blind faith. If you want to prove the problem is resolved, then release the field failure PPM since the failure took place, the 8D involved in the rectification of the problem, the ECN submitted by the external provider, the VDA6.1 audit report on the system of the involved external provider, 6.3 of the involved process that went wrong, 6.5 for the products audit reports... Release the involved PPAP (at level 3) to prove conformity otherwise, anything else is No Action Talk Only.

Therefore, the best solution is to shun the DSG7 dry (for DQ200). and if you have to go for the VW, go for the DSG6 (DQ250 Borg Warner) wet, or DSG7 (wet) DQ500

This thread reminds me of the Note 7 thread in Xda. Relac bros... DSG 7spd dry got bigger than normal problem is well known.. or else this thread won't even be started. But our threshold level different. Some are more affected, some not so much. So the problem affects us differently. So be more objective (or subjective? Can never get it right), anyway, you guys get what I meant.

You from Germany? Relax lah.

It is a fact DSG is giving problem in the past. It is also not very much talk about on DSG dry of today. Don't need to be so defensive. 50k mileage is still very young for a gearbox. It may not fail now, but if it fail at 100k, it is also consider pre-mature death. Because gearbox supposed to be built to last(less the clutch).

Well, I do agree that DSG is a very good technology, I have owned 3 different DSG gearbox cars. It shifted smoothly and the engine is super good, responsive and achieve good mileage for the amount of HP and torque. But if you ask me, do I fear my gearbox spoil one day. I can tell you yes, if it show "gearbox malfunction, please drive to workshop", I'll go crazy. Even if I earn 10k a month, suddenly I need to pay 4k or 5k to replace the gearbox component, it is no joke.

So my conclusion is, don't need to get so worked up and defend like you own VW/Audi/Porsche. Unless you say they sell well, you get commission.

You have any real statistics to backup your FUD? (not your imaginary or conjecture or from rumor mongers)

The probability of getting rain in the next hundred days is 100%.

The probability of a Toyota dropping dead in next 10min somewhere in the world is 100%.

The probability of anything failing is 100% over time.

What's your frame of reference? How about using relatives -be a bit pessimistic and say a few times less reliable than a slush box? So if a slush box has a 1 in 100 failure over 100000km then a few times of 1% (aka a few percent just in case you don't know math :) ) is still a very very acceptable risk. At least it doesn't justify making a mountain out of a molehill like what you did with all your FUDs :p

btw: my dsg has not failed yet in 2 years. You can't even get your shitty FUD right. Go get tuition first before trying for the FUD writer award.

Who can produce actual stats? I think vagsg threads n relevant overseas forums r reasonable enuf to gain some good info on dsg.

I have frens owning vw rides w mu, clutch, gb n even engine issues. N it's also valid that some dealers do not take in vw group brand cars or take in at near paper value wc I've purposely asked. So does that mean i cant share here?

I also know jap airbag issue, vw emission scandal.. I also condemn such unethical behavior. But the issue is no one kept defending / justifying those issues.

Who can produce actual stats? I think vagsg threads n relevant overseas forums r reasonable enuf to gain some good info on dsg.

I have frens owning vw rides w mu, clutch, gb n even engine issues. N it's also valid that some dealers do not take in vw group brand cars or take in at near paper value wc I've purposely asked. So does that mean i cant share here?

I also know jap airbag issue, vw emission scandal.. I also condemn such unethical behavior. But the issue is no one kept defending / justifying those issues.

Fuelsaver: You're spot on man!

Fuelsaver: You're spot on man! ðð¼

You've hit the nail right in the head.

It's all about this mindless defence that many VW-neutral MCFers will not and cannot accept.

I think ha, he works for VCS, or PA ð

Oredi the golden rule ma - agree to disagree. Unless my England fail..

If you (referring in general) can't produce facts but yet you post like it is the facts to scare that's rumor mongering and FUD. Which is worse? Those who started the rumor/FUD or those who try to dispel them with plausible conjectures?

If on certain other topics those who started these rumors / FUDs would have the authority stomping on their throats.

What if some said -"Honda and Toyota are the most dangerous brands which can kill you due to killer airbags and stuck accelerator. You buy you die". . What would you do?

Edited by zerobim08