Arch1984 4th Gear December 22, 2016 Share December 22, 2016 Actually the thread would have died long time ago if not for ppl coming in to defend. Which attracted all the posts abt experiences of their fren's dsg, etc. Dont see much owners posting abt their own dsg problems here and asking for solutions. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 22, 2016 Share December 22, 2016 Actually the thread would have died long time ago if not for ppl coming in to defend. Which attracted all the posts abt experiences of their fren's dsg, etc. Dont see much owners posting abt their own dsg problems here and asking for solutions. yeah , exactly, the more u say there is no hidden gold here, the more ppl wanna dig right lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic December 22, 2016 Share December 22, 2016 (edited) It is your kind of attitude that have provoked these diehard fans into action, sad to say. Tell me, what have we not known about DSG issues over this course of 5 long years that people need to bring it up again and again? To rub salt? to tear wound? to remind people of their pain, that you cannot stand people having some fun with their life when they own a ride with dry DSG? That they must be sobbing and regretting everyday of their life till the day the source of the suffering is gone? This is called WICKEDNESS, and certainly not welcomed here or anywhere. Guys, before you want to post anything, if you have nothing better to add, something breakthrough or new knowledge, please exercise restraint and just whisper them to yourselves. Pat yourself on your shoulders that you have been wise and never succumb to the pull of the monster. Lets not come here trying to pick a fight over nothing. Lets be bigger-hearted than this. If not, this thread will be locked up pretty soon. Cheers. It's very clear that some are here to genuinely share useful information and it's even clearer who are the ones who are here to only stir shit. Some people find solace on the internet by stirring shit to fill up their unfulfilling and mundane lives unfortunately. Edited December 22, 2016 by Jellandross 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged December 22, 2016 Share December 22, 2016 Actually the thread would have died long time ago if not for ppl coming in to defend. Which attracted all the posts abt experiences of their fren's dsg, etc. Dont see much owners posting abt their own dsg problems here and asking for solutions. One hard truth is resale value concern i believe, more so if affected by hearsay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear December 22, 2016 Share December 22, 2016 Wah. This thread still alive and around. I am one of the DSG "dry clutch" owners. Simi kangtao? "Dry clutch" already rectified? Sure or not? Wait long long. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 22, 2016 Share December 22, 2016 Wah. This thread still alive and around. I am one of the DSG "dry clutch" owners. Simi kangtao? "Dry clutch" already rectified? Sure or not? Wait long long. Bro, I thought yours is one of the few that experience little problem? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnny86 4th Gear December 23, 2016 Share December 23, 2016 Does A3 have a better implementation of the DQ200 then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear December 23, 2016 Share December 23, 2016 Why don't you try posting in vezel thread and say to the owners that their new vezel still have killer airbags as the issue has not been resolved (airbag incident still happening a few months ago) and see what kind if response you gonna get. Do the same in altis thread and tell them the uncontrolled acceleration has not been resolved. And Toyota cannot be trusted as they tried to hide the issue. what you trying to prove here? All cars have issues. You are just 0.00001% of the Audi car population in Singapore. You dare to say confirm A3 no issue? Even Lexus used to have melted dashboard, so what? People say VW has issue then be it lor. Keep defending like you are the CEO of Audi or VW group for what. If they really so good, people will flock to buy. Just like the recent launch of A3 1.0 TFSI, I heard a few of my colleagues went ahead and book. Should I call them dumb because it is dry clutch? Or should I say they stupid cause there's no replacement for displacement? Many people in the world lah, just go on with your life, you say 1 time DSG is good is enough, don't need to keep repeating everywhere DSG is good and it never fail. The truth is, it ever fail. If you can show proof they have change the material for DSG to ensure it everlasting, then bring out proof to show. Then it will be a fruitful discussion and perhaps can convince more people to buy "your" brand and put more cars on the road and people will think Audi is like Toyota, so reliable due to the fact many Audi on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic December 23, 2016 Share December 23, 2016 (edited) what you trying to prove here? All cars have issues. You are just 0.00001% of the Audi car population in Singapore. You dare to say confirm A3 no issue? Even Lexus used to have melted dashboard, so what? People say VW has issue then be it lor. Keep defending like you are the CEO of Audi or VW group for what. If they really so good, people will flock to buy. Just like the recent launch of A3 1.0 TFSI, I heard a few of my colleagues went ahead and book. Should I call them dumb because it is dry clutch? Or should I say they stupid cause there's no replacement for displacement? Many people in the world lah, just go on with your life, you say 1 time DSG is good is enough, don't need to keep repeating everywhere DSG is good and it never fail. The truth is, it ever fail. If you can show proof they have change the material for DSG to ensure it everlasting, then bring out proof to show. Then it will be a fruitful discussion and perhaps can convince more people to buy "your" brand and put more cars on the road and people will think Audi is like Toyota, so reliable due to the fact many Audi on the road. in his mind, he is the "designer" of the DSG!! everyone here has hurt his pride to say the product he has "designed" is shit. ignore such people la. you cannot criticize whatever they own or buy. even the toilet paper he buys he will defend it like hell. Edited December 23, 2016 by Mkl22 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear December 23, 2016 Share December 23, 2016 in his mind, he is the designer of the DSG!! everyone here has hurt his pride to say the product he has "designed" is shit. Don't like that say leh. I also own a few pieces of shit leh. Just that it is less problem shit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lycanthrope 4th Gear December 23, 2016 Share December 23, 2016 (edited) agreed ....they sounds like a certain political party smashing another political party Discussion on real life experiences , nothing to do with statistics nor data used to own a 2012 touran .. when it started to jerk , issues not resolve , quickly sold it off . The phobia of waiting for the big thing to happen was just too great. Aiya, I don't feel anyone means to rub salt into anyone's wounds. If they feel wounded by those words, it can't be helped.Just wanna say it again, highlighting real issues, or real experiences, doesn't mean it's spreading FUD.We are dealing with real issues and eexperiences with the 7 speed dry clutch. I believe many come in good faith to describe what they encountered, so that potential buyers can make their own choice. And yet they are being labelled as fear mongerers, blanketed by comments that's something like "i don't have any issues with my gearbox at xx km, so it's problem free and you are spreading FUD"My previous post was just being sarcastic to those overdefensive folks. Edited December 23, 2016 by Lycanthrope Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear December 23, 2016 Share December 23, 2016 what you trying to prove here? All cars have issues. You are just 0.00001% of the Audi car population in Singapore. You dare to say confirm A3 no issue? Even Lexus used to have melted dashboard, so what? People say VW has issue then be it lor. Keep defending like you are the CEO of Audi or VW group for what. If they really so good, people will flock to buy. Just like the recent launch of A3 1.0 TFSI, I heard a few of my colleagues went ahead and book. Should I call them dumb because it is dry clutch? Or should I say they stupid cause there's no replacement for displacement? Many people in the world lah, just go on with your life, you say 1 time DSG is good is enough, don't need to keep repeating everywhere DSG is good and it never fail. The truth is, it ever fail. If you can show proof they have change the material for DSG to ensure it everlasting, then bring out proof to show. Then it will be a fruitful discussion and perhaps can convince more people to buy "your" brand and put more cars on the road and people will think Audi is like Toyota, so reliable due to the fact many Audi on the road. Nonsense. Which posts of mine said dsg won't break down or is more reliable than the rest or is the best? Please show me. In fact you guys are one who are trying your darnest to prove dsg is the most unreliable/always breakdown by throwing sh*t without any facts whatsoever other than regurgitating all the unproven hearsays or inventing conspiracy theories or extrapolating from past events. If you want I can scan this thread and show you those posts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear December 23, 2016 Share December 23, 2016 YAWN ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lycanthrope 4th Gear December 23, 2016 Share December 23, 2016 can sense the undertaker is coming in soon .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear December 23, 2016 Share December 23, 2016 (edited) Want to know about the problem with 7 speed DSG, just go to VAGSG forum and read up. My friend who owns a Mk 5 Jetta which is 5 years old now have 3 clutch pack change and 2 mechatronics change so far. He is still driving the car. He even bought a 2nd car which is another VW with again 7 speed DSG. He knows about the problem but is willing to risk it. So to each his own. One of the more recent threads about DSG failure below: http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=100198 Edited December 23, 2016 by Protege Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear December 23, 2016 Share December 23, 2016 Actually the thread would have died long time ago if not for ppl coming in to defend. Which attracted all the posts abt experiences of their fren's dsg, etc. Dont see much owners posting abt their own dsg problems here and asking for solutions. No problems, ask for what solution? Snake oil solution? Want to know about the problem with 7 speed DSG, just go to VAGSG forum and read up. My friend who owns a Mk 5 Jetta which is 5 years old now have 3 clutch pack change and 2 mechatronics change so far. He is still driving the car. He even bought a 2nd car which is another VW with again 7 speed DSG. He knows about the problem but is willing to risk it. So to each his own. One of the more recent threads about DSG failure below: http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=100198 Repeat and repeat until rusty liao. 5 years ago is 2011~2012. That was when the synthetic oil problem was. Those year cars, just avoid lah. Because after oil change, maybe the MU already damaged. Maybe some other parts also damaged. He buy back the same type of gearbox, please ask him to come here 5 years later and report if his car still breaks down or not. We'll have one more data point to verify against. what you trying to prove here? All cars have issues. You are just 0.00001% of the Audi car population in Singapore. You dare to say confirm A3 no issue? Even Lexus used to have melted dashboard, so what? People say VW has issue then be it lor. Keep defending like you are the CEO of Audi or VW group for what. If they really so good, people will flock to buy. Just like the recent launch of A3 1.0 TFSI, I heard a few of my colleagues went ahead and book. Should I call them dumb because it is dry clutch? Or should I say they stupid cause there's no replacement for displacement? Many people in the world lah, just go on with your life, you say 1 time DSG is good is enough, don't need to keep repeating everywhere DSG is good and it never fail. The truth is, it ever fail. If you can show proof they have change the material for DSG to ensure it everlasting, then bring out proof to show. Then it will be a fruitful discussion and perhaps can convince more people to buy "your" brand and put more cars on the road and people will think Audi is like Toyota, so reliable due to the fact many Audi on the road. All I can say is, you can shut up and nobody will say you are mute. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskc 5th Gear December 23, 2016 Share December 23, 2016 I went to testdrive jetta 1.5 years ago when vw claimed that the mineral oil solved its gearbox problem. I was willing to park 10k aside for the gearbox for future problem. They had 5 years warranty for the affected gearboxes back then and had just reduced back to 3 years. I told the vw sales guy that I wanted 5 years warranty on the jetta gearbox if he wants me to sign and wanted him to show to me they are confident of their gearbox (not guarantee that it won't fail). His answer was astonishing, saying that it is precisely that vw is confident that it reduced the warranty to 3 years. Crap. I told him that I am even willing to pay 1~2k extra to have extended warranty to 5 years on the gearbox. Point here is I want a shared risk taking with vw. He took ages (many days) to "speak" to his manager...so much so on their confidence on their gearbox. I gave up and signed with another AD. This is my story...not hearsay. Just another data point for bros here. Cheers. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear December 23, 2016 Share December 23, 2016 Aiya, I don't feel anyone means to rub salt into anyone's wounds. If they feel wounded by those words, it can't be helped. Just wanna say it again, highlighting real issues, or real experiences, doesn't mean it's spreading FUD. We are dealing with real issues and eexperiences with the 7 speed dry clutch. I believe many come in good faith to describe what they encountered, so that potential buyers can make their own choice. And yet they are being labelled as fear mongerers, blanketed by comments that's something like "i don't have any issues with my gearbox at xx km, so it's problem free and you are spreading FUD" My previous post was just being sarcastic to those overdefensive folks. The problem is a large number of people here aren't having "real experiences". All hearsay, like their uncle's brother's friend's sister's girlfriend's illegitimate son's friend had a DSG that broke down. Like I said, if there are actual current owners with issues, feel free to share. I will also try to see how I can help if the problem is genuine. I'm not going to beat a person and say "eh, you say your car spoil, fark off lah, don't come here". We are all friendly people. We are all car enthusiasts. We all very sayang our car. Of course if people come and say your car is a piece of shit, you not angry? I went to testdrive jetta 1.5 years ago when vw claimed that the mineral oil solved its gearbox problem. I was willing to park 10k aside for the gearbox for future problem. They had 5 years warranty for the affected gearboxes back then and had just reduced back to 3 years. I told the vw sales guy that I wanted 5 years warranty on the jetta gearbox if he wants me to sign and wanted him to show to me they are confident of their gearbox (not guarantee that it won't fail). His answer was astonishing, saying that it is precisely that vw is confident that it reduced the warranty to 3 years. Crap. I told him that I am even willing to pay 1~2k extra to have extended warranty to 5 years on the gearbox. Point here is I want a shared risk taking with vw. He took ages (many days) to "speak" to his manager...so much so on their confidence on their gearbox. I gave up and signed with another AD. This is my story...not hearsay. Just another data point for bros here. Cheers. Your datapoint is useless because you didn't own the car to be able to provide data. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...