IT Show 2012

LMFAO

are you able to tell the difference between 20 fps and 25 fps? if framerate is your utmost concern, go for a graphics card with GPU(s) that have many pipelines and preferably overclocked. Your priority is getting the GPU to draw as many polygons in a timeframe.

if image quality is your concern, go for a graphics card which has many pixel and vertex shader units.

20 and 25 not that obvious.. but 20 and 30 i can tell very much. problem is the game i play have high graphic requirement at certain period.. and usually critical for victory...

Dawn of war 2 when all out crash, supreme commander for fast zooming in and out (this one need good CPU too).

like i mention 4870 is sufficent. problem come when i playing games that need lower rest. the normal cable is not fast enough to render over to lower res setting so i was thinking of HDMI solution. some how my main port and the Adaptor dont match up well due to wear and tear.. [:p]

20 and 25 not that obvious.. but 20 and 30 i can tell very much. problem is the game i play have high graphic requirement at certain period.. and usually critical for victory...

Dawn of war 2 when all out crash, supreme commander for fast zooming in and out (this one need good CPU too).

like i mention 4870 is sufficent. problem come when i playing games that need lower rest. the normal cable is not fast enough to render over to lower res setting so i was thinking of HDMI solution. some how my main port and the Adaptor dont match up well due to wear and tear.. [:p]

max human eye can see is 60fps.

anything else is cosmetic.

just numbers to make u feel good

max human eye can see is 60fps.

anything else is cosmetic.

just numbers to make u feel good

yeah... but if normal FPS is 25 or 30. during main battle crash. the FPS drop it less than 1FPS liao...

lol.

my 100+FPS drop to 30 during WOW raids

lol.

my 100+FPS drop to 30 during WOW raids

Wow raids is okay,,, but for RTS drop to 1 mean i losing that battle lor [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

the normal cable is not fast enough to render over to lower res setting so i was thinking of HDMI solution. some how my main port and the Adaptor dont match up well due to wear and tear.. [:p]

what is normal cable?

DVI is as good as HDMI when it comes to carrying digitised signals meant for display.

If you are talking about "main battle clashes", that sort of stress loading the HD4870 definitely cannot tahan at max settings liao. you need SLi or Crossfire if you want smoothness + maxed out settings for such intense scenes.

what is normal cable?

DVI is as good as HDMI when it comes to carrying digitised signals meant for display.

just ask u.

until now i still dont understand this.

how come the higher resolution u set, the refresh rate cannot go higher?

if i set my monitor to a lower resolution, i can set up to 75/80Hz.

but if i go higher, its locked at 60Hz/29Hz

just ask u.

until now i still dont understand this.

how come the higher resolution u set, the refresh rate cannot go higher?

if i set my monitor to a lower resolution, i can set up to 75/80Hz.

but if i go higher, its locked at 60Hz/29Hz

Because is V Sync is enabled and capping is at 60Hz to prevent tearing. This is also true for Android displays.

what about multi-function printers? last time i got mine for less than $100 at the show..after having a hard time squeezing with people and not able to find carpark lots.. dun wanna go thru that again if the savings isn't good :wacko:

today passed by harvey norman, saw a canon multi-function photo-color pixma (whatever that means) printer selling for $75, down from earlier discounted price $99.

so.. bochap IT show.. just grab leow [laugh]

Because is V Sync is enabled and capping is at 60Hz to prevent tearing. This is also true for Android displays.

i disabled v sync.

but why cant i activate the option of higher refresh rates at higher resolutions?

what bad does tearing do?

what is normal cable?

yeah DVI.. no it wasnt as good or at least that is what i experience. or maybe because my sam sung SA350 more suitable for HDMI bah.

i have problem when i rendering over to games that run on low res. yeah i do play some old games over dosbox.

If you are talking about "main battle clashes", that sort of stress loading the HD4870 definitely cannot tahan at max settings liao. you need SLi or Crossfire if you want smoothness + maxed out settings for such intense scenes.

yeah... that is why i thinking of upgrading [laugh]

i disabled v sync.

but why cant i activate the option of higher refresh rates at higher resolutions?

what bad does tearing do?

60Hz is a hard cap on many monitors. in the world of liquid crystal displays, refresh rate is actually an engineered feature to emulate the inherent time sweep character of cathode ray tubes. it is just like Toyota engineers engineered the CVT Gearbox to capture a jerking effect characteristic of conventional torque converter auto trabsmission boxes.

in reality, there is no flicker because the LCD relies on a conventional fluorescent tube to provide backlighting as compared to CRT using the bombardment of electrons from electron guns onto phosphorous screens which then causes fluorescence.

in other words, there is no gain to be had in setting at a higher refresh rate becausrc all that is changing is the individual crystal/pixel element. in fact, when you set to 120Hz, what happens is that the display inserts a blank image for every half second interval after a real frame which shows for half a second. you don't actually gain twice the refresh rate.

today passed by harvey norman, saw a canon multi-function photo-color pixma (whatever that means) printer selling for $75, down from earlier discounted price $99.

so.. bochap IT show.. just grab leow [laugh]

actually printer manufacturers intentionally make a loss on the printer cos they want to make money from the ink cartridges. same goes for sony and the ps3 player.

you can choose to buy third party ink cartridges but how long can your ink print heads and/or nozzles last? Unless you go for properly reverse engineered cartridges where the manufacturers take care to swap out wear and tear components of the cartridges before selling ie reconditioned cartridges instead of refilled ones.

my 2 cents.

actually printer manufacturers intentionally make a loss on the printer cos they want to make money from the ink cartridges. same goes for sony and the ps3 player.

you can choose to buy third party ink cartridges but how long can your ink print heads and/or nozzles last? Unless you go for properly reverse engineered cartridges where the manufacturers take care to swap out wear and tear components of the cartridges before selling ie reconditioned cartridges instead of refilled ones.

my 2 cents.

by then you already print enough of it to make it worth liao lor.