IT Show 2012

LMFAO

60Hz is a hard cap on many monitors. in the world of liquid crystal displays, refresh rate is actually an engineered feature to emulate the inherent time sweep character of cathode ray tubes. it is just like Toyota engineers engineered the CVT Gearbox to capture a jerking effect characteristic of conventional torque converter auto trabsmission boxes.

in reality, there is no flicker because the LCD relies on a conventional fluorescent tube to provide backlighting as compared to CRT using the bombardment of electrons from electron guns onto phosphorous screens which then causes fluorescence.

in other words, there is no gain to be had in setting at a higher refresh rate becausrc all that is changing is the individual crystal/pixel element. in fact, when you set to 120Hz, what happens is that the display inserts a blank image for every half second interval after a real frame which shows for half a second. you don't actually gain twice the refresh rate.

then what about those to watch nvidia 3d vision?

the uncap upto 120Hz?

cannot be right?

so how to "unlock" the cap?

by then you already print enough of it to make it worth liao lor.

by you see the printer is so cheap, the definition of worth it can be different.

a.) recouped savings = cost of printer itself

2.) recouped savings = money saved from otherwise buying original cartridges

In any case, you can make it "worth" in less than a year. Problem is are you okay with changing printer every half a year or even yearly? If yes okay lor. I am using my laser printer into its 5th year. Still going strong.

then what about those to watch nvidia 3d vision?

the uncap upto 120Hz?

cannot be right?

so how to "unlock" the cap?

the cap is hardware limitation set within monitor itself. I don't think you can do much about it. the question which i already posed to you is why you feel 1920 x 1080p @ 60Hz is different from 1920 x 1080p @120Hz.

isnt higher refresh rates better?

Edited by Mllcg

actually printer manufacturers intentionally make a loss on the printer cos they want to make money from the ink cartridges. same goes for sony and the ps3 player.

you can choose to buy third party ink cartridges but how long can your ink print heads and/or nozzles last? Unless you go for properly reverse engineered cartridges where the manufacturers take care to swap out wear and tear components of the cartridges before selling ie reconditioned cartridges instead of refilled ones.

my 2 cents.

ya, its true... last time i used 3rd party.. not too long after that the printer or head or whatever malfunctioned. can't print properly.

i checked out the canon print cartridges.. black over $30 and color over $40.

hp cartridges are like $5 more expensive but printer itself is just $65. just some ink nia... so expensive..

in the end, took the canon.

by you see the printer is so cheap, the definition of worth it can be different.

a.) recouped savings = cost of printer itself

2.) recouped savings = money saved from otherwise buying original cartridges

In any case, you can make it "worth" in less than a year. Problem is are you okay with changing printer every half a year or even yearly? If yes okay lor. I am using my laser printer into its 5th year. Still going strong.

guess what, I had been using my inkjet for 10 years on those 3rd party ink that I got from sum Lim square. No issue. 1 full bottle of ink cost around $10.00 and the printer reliablity aren't that bad.

BTW, i am not using those that use exisiting catridge to recycle.

anyway i had since move on to drum type (think its called laser printer right?? cannot remember the sub-cat) and using original powder.

Edited by Joseph22

guess what, I had been using my inkjet for 10 years on those 3rd party ink that I got from sum Lim square. No issue. 1 full bottle of ink cost around $10.00 and the printer reliablity aren't that bad.

anyway i had since move on to drum type (think its called laser printer right?? cannot remember the sub-cat) and using original powder.

my guess is that you print pretty often. leave the printer idle for a month or more and see what happens. the print nozzle chokes and printhead gets clogged. perhaps printer mileage varies with different brands. mine was a canon pixma ip1000.

mine current printer is a monochrome laser from fuji xerox. am lucky as it is essentially a rebadged brother printer. am able to use brother x64 drivers when i migrated to win 7 x64. also brother toners are more plentiful and cheaper compared to fuji xerox. however, i am using a remanufactured which costs 58/toner.

my older inkjets keep leaking when use 3rd party ink. but 3rd party ink has improved since then.

Anyway i rather print less at home and more at other places *cough cough* :D

my guess is that you print pretty often. leave the printer idle for a month or more and see what happens. the print nozzle chokes and printhead gets clogged. perhaps printer mileage varies with different brands. mine was a canon pixma ip1000.

mine current printer is a monochrome laser from fuji xerox. am lucky as it is essentially a rebadged brother printer. am able to use brother x64 drivers when i migrated to win 7 x64. also brother toners are more plentiful and cheaper compared to fuji xerox. however, i am using a remanufactured which costs 58/toner.

you only need 3rd party printer if U print often mah. If not, its better to go for original.

Today newspaper say Apple distributors not allow to give discount on ipad. They very sianz <_<

I don't think they ever give discount anyway

Got. If you are travelling out of SG, you can buy apple stuff without gst! [sly]

Which country? [rolleyes]

i go oversea but they more expensive... cause got VAT 17%

no lah, i mean buy the ipad from changi airport transit area shop. they sell ipad w/o gst