En0203 2nd Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 not farnee, the nights of frustration with bootloops and all. should be fine just restore backup will do - another beauty of android back to ur A9 and A15 power consumption, no doubt that A15 is more power hungry but shouldn't a die shrink to 32 / 28 nm solve the issue? I would expect the new A15 to have better power efficiency. such is the reason why ip5 has better battery life than the 4S it seems ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 Can't be helped lah, 4.3 vs 3.5. Even with amoled (unless you most of the stuff you see is black). but the new 4" on IP still manage 6 hrs as claimed! that is only slightly smaller than 4.3. that is pretty impressive. I am pretty sure android can't do it even with background services turned off. never tried before though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 P.S. No issues with back on my Nexus (stock Google firmware, no root). When I hit back it loads from memory. bro u meant to say JB no longer reloads the previous page when u hit he back button? That is a good news! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 should be fine just restore backup will do - another beauty of android back to ur A9 and A15 power consumption, no doubt that A15 is more power hungry but shouldn't a die shrink to 32 / 28 nm solve the issue? I would expect the new A15 to have better power efficiency. such is the reason why ip5 has better battery life than the 4S it seems i think there are more parameters that impact on power draw, core vs core. Impossible to compare on a single parameter on ceteri paribus basis. Even synthetic benchmarks might not accurately reflect that. Only real life tests will. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 I believe he was referring to moving forward in the browser and then back again to a previous page. Thus far no issues on JB. The thing with the governor scales is that it seems to make JB a lil less smooth. Besides I'm trying to think from a lay person's viewpoint rather than a techie's. i see. i have no problems with viewing previous pages on Opera Mobile if we are talking about one page back only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 well finally got mine delivered by singtel. good thing was not in a rush. so easy, the guy just come deliver, i activate the sim at home and just keep using after restoring backup ... everything exactly as it was as i migrated from old phone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 but the new 4" on IP still manage 6 hrs as claimed! that is only slightly smaller than 4.3. that is pretty impressive. I am pretty sure android can't do it even with background services turned off. never tried before though Thats the thing with a one trick pony. When you screen is on, it does one thing at a time. That being said I did get 5hrs screen on with 30+% batt left from full after an additional 2 hours of stand-by when I ran some tests. It has a 1750mah unit. Everything else ran as per normal just no calls coz it was at night while I slept. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 well finally got mine delivered by singtel. good thing was not in a rush. so easy, the guy just come deliver, i activate the sim at home and just keep using after restoring backup ... everything exactly as it was as i migrated from old phone. when do you think the apps can be ready for the 4" screen? now like 90% not ready Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 bro u meant to say JB no longer reloads the previous page when u hit he back button? That is a good news! It doesnt refresh It reloads from memory Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 (edited) bottomline is nowadays not many iphone users in Singapore. Frankly all the people queue up on launch day is for resale to CHINA market. look around you, how many iphone 5 do you see? Fact of life is in the more developed countries like US and Singapore, Android dominates the market. It is only in places like CHINA which iphone is still popular. To some of my friends in China, iphone is desirable mainly because it is hard to get.... duh.... The people you see using iphones are mainly aunties.... seriously.... just look around you in singapore next time. Ultimately, do you want to be associated with a phone used by China/aunties? Basically, iOS is for people who do not know what they want in a phone. So they just choose iOS because there is only one model :) For andriod, you can choose which phone you like. I chose the Galaxy note for its super sized screen because I web surf a lot. To me the screen is invaluable and far outweighs minor things like slightly fast response of the iOS. I mean, Galaxy Note is not laggy to me already and improvements in that area is basically useless to me. Edited October 9, 2012 by Wind30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 well finally got mine delivered by singtel. good thing was not in a rush. so easy, the guy just come deliver, i activate the sim at home and just keep using after restoring backup ... everything exactly as it was as i migrated from old phone. Congrats! Best moment of owning a phone is when you unbox it for the first time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 when do you think the apps can be ready for the 4" screen? now like 90% not ready yup. even my game has not been updated for 4" screen. probably wont do it as well (or think of what to use the extra real estate for .. maybe move the menu there.). adding more graphics (cos of diff resolution) will only cause apps to bloat up ... im personally ok with most apps remaining with the black border. (unless its daily apps like whatsapp etc, then of course, would prefer 4") Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 Congrats! Best moment of owning a phone is when you unbox it for the first time ah? no le.. not for me. iphone5 was not exciting .. i upgraded cos the 4 damn slow ... buay tahan waiting. hoping to take advantage of LTE tho. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 Thats the thing with a one trick pony. When you screen is on, it does one thing at a time. That being said I did get 5hrs screen on with 30+% batt left from full after an additional 2 hours of stand-by when I ran some tests. It has a 1750mah unit. Everything else ran as per normal just no calls coz it was at night while I slept. 5 hrs screen on with 30% left? How did you manage that? On wifi I suppose? No way you can get that on our lousy 3.5G! The next project roadrunner is going to be crucial! Having said that, the next Nexus will be from LG, will you bite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 i think there are more parameters that impact on power draw, core vs core. Impossible to compare on a single parameter on ceteri paribus basis. Even synthetic benchmarks might not accurately reflect that. Only real life tests will. Real life battery performance I only trust iOS, never android Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 ah? no le.. not for me. iphone5 was not exciting .. i upgraded cos the 4 damn slow ... buay tahan waiting. hoping to take advantage of LTE tho. Really? 4 where got slow. My bro is still happily using his 4. I am trying to psycho him to get the 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 bottomline is nowadays not many iphone users in Singapore. Frankly all the people queue up on launch day is for resale to CHINA market. look around you, how many iphone 5 do you see? Fact of life is in the more developed countries like US and Singapore, Android dominates the market. It is only in places like CHINA which iphone is still popular. To some of my friends in China, iphone is desirable mainly because it is hard to get.... duh.... The people you see using iphones are mainly aunties.... seriously.... just look around you in singapore next time. Ultimately, do you want to be associated with a phone used by China/aunties? Basically, iOS is for people who do not know what they want in a phone. So they just choose iOS because there is only one model :) For andriod, you can choose which phone you like. I chose the Galaxy note for its super sized screen because I web surf a lot. To me the screen is invaluable and far outweighs minor things like slightly fast response of the iOS. I mean, Galaxy Note is not laggy to me already and improvements in that area is basically useless to me. 4 of my colleagues. 2 of my employees. few of my clients have already. my office neighbor today also using? come on la bro ... i dont think you know what you are talking about. back it up with hard facts. dont say *all* the people. dont say aunties - when im working in a high powered environment and all of my clients are using iphones. not only that - but your posts show your EXTREME narrow mindedness ... so now only china aunties have iphones? if i dont question you for choosing android, who are you to compare me to others by my choice? should i compare you by your car since im pretty sure i drive a more expensive one? its preference. everyone is entitled to an opinion, NOT a bias like yours. i've followed this thread for a while .. and yours is literally the first post ive read that is plain stupid. take off your blinders, for the love of God. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 5 hrs screen on with 30% left? How did you manage that? On wifi I suppose? No way you can get that on our lousy 3.5G! The next project roadrunner is going to be crucial! Having said that, the next Nexus will be from LG, will you bite? put link here leh. Serious anot Google, get LG to construct. pui pui pui! :angry: ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...