Jobless 39-year-old NTU Engineer, nw pt librarian $4/hr

Relacklabrudder

More like... CANNOT GROW OLD (>40YO) IN SINGAPORE. [laugh]

The first thing every employer called me after seeing my resume is to ask this evergreen question: When is your birthday? Not that they wanted to give me a birthday present, but to let me listen to the sound of silence... [furious]

cannot climb too high? [sweatdrop]

Edited by Kangadrool

cannot climb too high? [sweatdrop]

These ppl r in wrong job lah. Simi GM n all?

They shld come into MCF to seek career advice. All the bros here know that the big buck$$ is in table wiping. -_-

The first thing every employer called me after seeing my resume is to ask this evergreen question: When is your birthday? Not that they wanted to give me a birthday present, but to let me listen to the sound of silence... [furious]

can dun tell them your birth year and age meh?

Just dun mention your age when you hit 50. When you go for job interview lie about your age and act less experienced. It's weird isn't it?

how to hide your age?

What I meant is, after honestly telling them my honoured age, I hear nothing from them since = sound of silence.

can dun tell them your birth year and age meh?

What I meant is, after honestly telling them my honoured age, I hear nothing from them since = sound of silence.

i see, you never put that in your CV .

If putted, what do you think?

At least no put, they call means they interested in my profile, etc etc... Then, the hard truth when they know my age.

From here, I will also know who is discriminating.

Actually, they should make it a law that no age, sex, salary expectation and last drawn be mentioned until last round of interview. That is, all those data collection when you fill up before interview should not be there in the first place.

I had went through so many interviews and only 2 companies don't need and don't ask for this. Landed a job in one of two. So why can't others?

i see, you never put that in your CV .

Edited by Kangadrool

the most vulnerable group ... [sweatdrop]

the only way out is property agent, insurance agent, taxi driver, become hawker?

above all are so called "self employed" ...

no company wants to hire old & highly trained staff even you take 1/5 of your last drawn salary or just accept what is offer as market rate ... but always kena labelled as "over-qualify"

over-qualify good what ... as long as not over-paid ... no?

Highly trained, middle-aged and out of work

The 55-year-old, who used to earn more than $25,000 a month, now has to settle for commissions of about $3,000 from his current job as a property agent.

A former general manager in the oil and gas industry, he used to draw a salary of about $15,000 a month. These days, Mr Long, 58, takes eight months to earn that much as a taxi driver.

can be hawker, crane operator, teacher

will keep your recommendations for reference

thank you sir

no wonder recently my company start having these talks / exercises directed at those over 40 - me included; ... its as if telling us -"your time is up ... anytime now..."

maybe can set up website advertsing also [grin]

will keep your recommendations for reference

thank you sir

maybe can set up website advertsing also [grin]

taxi.png?w=640

Few takers for crane operator jobs paying up to $7,000

More local crane operators needed as BTO programme is ramped up: Khaw

THE pay can be as much as $7,000 a month, yet the risks associated with operating cranes from high up seem to be deterring people from signing up.

So much so that National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan yesterday pointed out that more local crane operators are needed to cope with the ramped up number of Build-to-Order (BTO) flats in the pipeline.

Half of the 3,600 active operators now are Singaporeans, he wrote on his blog.

"But we need more, a few hundred more, as we ramp up our BTO programme," he added. "This is a good job with attractive remuneration."

Few takers for crane operator jobs paying up to $7,000

More local crane operators needed as BTO programme is ramped up: Khaw

THE pay can be as much as $7,000 a month, yet the risks associated with operating cranes from high up seem to be deterring people from signing up.

So much so that National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan yesterday pointed out that more local crane operators are needed to cope with the ramped up number of Build-to-Order (BTO) flats in the pipeline.

Half of the 3,600 active operators now are Singaporeans, he wrote on his blog.

"But we need more, a few hundred more, as we ramp up our BTO programme," he added. "This is a good job with attractive remuneration."

ok so now we know why so much leakages in Punggol - want to do Lego flats??, just join like that with crane

they don't call it "waterway terraces" for nothing ... you want water, you get water. Huat ah !!!