Kangadrool Supersonic July 20, 2015 Share July 20, 2015 (edited) Sometimes, cannot say worth it or not 'cos we can't predict the future and nobody has the crystal ball. As long as when one is at the peak, (s)he earns big bucks, (s)he should also provision for disasters/downfalls ahead. If one can save 50% of what they earn when they were kingpins, life shouldn't be that bad even when down. Saving 50% should be easy for these people since most don't spend a single cent to work as perks are well covered, e.g. car, golf club memberships, golf equipment, etc and those greedy ones will claim all kind of expenses under company's account - lunches, dinners, entertainment, tours, etc etc.... even traffic summons also claim. In fact, one could easily save 90% of the pay. Some adventurous ones will even earn extra coffee $$$ in envelopes on a regular basis. I know a person who became ceo in early forties spending a large proportion of his time away from his family climbing up that ladderthen he was out of job after a few years after becoming ceo because the company kena hostile takeoverWorth it?😂 Edited July 20, 2015 by Kangadrool ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 20, 2015 Share July 20, 2015 Those who know me will attest after my life-changing event back then in 2003/4, things then looked good as my career was peaking and things seemed very bright. After that onset and recovery, thinking of climbing up to D/C level was no more for me as the focus was on health and thus focussed on what i did best and settled back to what my passion was. That was a blessing as now I can go the distance as well as earning a decent wage that will take me thru to retirement and beyond. Well in a way, i won't really face the displacement that is felt by these PMETs. Fast rise, and equally fast fall Yes, we chiong and attain the highest level, but there seems to be a sacrifice and sometimes, best to take stock of what we really see as important. I'm glad that I did and am contented with it, and never looked back. Although circumstances have put it upon me, I look at it as a blessing and that every day I get up is indeed a bonus as far as I am concerned.. Peace all and indeed i feel sorry for the PMETs that have been displaced. It is indeed a cruel world. Now I know why the strawberries have ingrained in them the strong concept of work-life 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 20, 2015 Share July 20, 2015 (edited) 20-30 ... scare cannot find a good job 30-40 ... scare cannot climb up the corporate ladder 40-50 ... scare fall down from the ladder 50-60 ... scare being made redundant rat race is sibei tired race ... die don't race ... die faster Edited July 20, 2015 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 20, 2015 Share July 20, 2015 20-30 ... scare cannot find a good job 30-40 ... scare cannot climb up the corporate ladder 40-50 ... scare fall down from the ladder 50-60 ... scare being made redundant rat race is sibei tired race ... die don't race ... die faster die...see me...hahahaha Poor chap...that's why the company must be sizable and too huge for other companies to swallow I have a very good friend, became ceo of a subsidiary of a conglomerate before he was 40, and he has been going around acquiring other companies...makes it harder for others to acquire Tks for the note, and I'm glad that it kinda changed my overall life and tht am given the grace to reboot and still live. AS I say, things happen for a reason Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 20, 2015 Share July 20, 2015 have ordered this book ... no need ladder ... there is a lift straight to you ... die...see me...hahahaha Tks for the note, and I'm glad that it kinda changed my overall life and tht am given the grace to reboot and still live. AS I say, things happen for a reason 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 20, 2015 Share July 20, 2015 Now he has all the time to be with the family that he missed out? Nope children schooling So still gotta work Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged July 20, 2015 Share July 20, 2015 (edited) i doubt even if work 12 hr a day 26 days a month can really earn 7k the reporter and the ministers are all in la la land cabbie can earn abt $20-22/hr... do d maths n its possible most pple duno van drivers also earn alot if they work 26-30 days p mth... but its v tiring work Edited July 20, 2015 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 20, 2015 Share July 20, 2015 Sometimes, cannot say worth it or not 'cos we can't predict the future and nobody has the crystal ball. As long as when one is at the peak, (s)he earns big bucks, (s)he should also provision for disasters/downfalls ahead. If one can save 50% of what they earn when they were kingpins, life shouldn't be that bad even when down. Saving 50% should be easy for these people since most don't spend a single cent to work as perks are well covered, e.g. car, golf club memberships, golf equipment, etc and those greedy ones will claim all kind of expenses under company's account - lunches, dinners, entertainment, tours, etc etc.... even traffic summons also claim. In fact, one could easily save 90% of the pay. Some adventurous ones will even earn extra coffee $$$ in envelopes on a regular basis. If you are the chairman of the company with significant stake in the company which you have started and listed, would you allow your employed ceo to have all these extras? 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic July 20, 2015 Share July 20, 2015 Poor chap...that's why the company must be sizable and too huge for other companies to swallow I have a very good friend, became ceo of a subsidiary of a conglomerate before he was 40, and he has been going around acquiring other companies...makes it harder for others to acquire The bigger the company, the more redundancies and fats, and thus the easier it is to replace the CEO..... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged July 20, 2015 Share July 20, 2015 I know a person who became ceo in early forties spending a large proportion of his time away from his family climbing up that ladder then he was out of job after a few years after becoming ceo because the company kena hostile takeover Worth it? 😂 eh... he could have saved a few mills at if that's his career path. family should be financially safe. his resume should make him a target of head hunters too. worth it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 21, 2015 Share July 21, 2015 (edited) eh... he could have saved a few mills at if that's his career path. family should be financially safe. his resume should make him a target of head hunters too. worth it. A few millions? Go check out the pay bands of CEOs of local listed penny stock companies Head hunters? All I can say reality often hurts Edited July 21, 2015 by Enye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 21, 2015 Share July 21, 2015 wah ... qualcomm massive layoffs... all the semi con and chip sector sibei jialat... heard banking side also not doing well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 21, 2015 Share July 21, 2015 thought this is the norm. Today layoffs, tomorrow you still see their advertisements looking for vacancies to be filled. wah ... qualcomm massive layoffs... all the semi con and chip sector sibei jialat... heard banking side also not doing well 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged July 21, 2015 Share July 21, 2015 Good to be young and have dreams indeed By the time one turns 40 with family and kids to take care of, What extra energy, time and capital do we have to put into the sideline? Most will just forget it as the income from sideline would be quite insignificant given the time and effort compared to the regular day job If the sideline is lucrative, it would have become the person's full time job way before retrenchment even looms 😂 Well, if we're young and have no dreams, then it's scary too, no? I can only share from my perspective, and yes, when we're under 30, the world looks ripe for the picking. Reality will change when we're above 40 or 50 or even 60. So, why not make the full use of our time now, when we're under 30? And even if sideline is lucrative, it doesn't always mean it can be scaled in the manner that is easily replicated, without giving up some other aspects of our lives. So, some people might have a sideline (lucrative or not), but still look forward to a steady paycheck. If you are the chairman of the company with significant stake in the company which you have started and listed, would you allow your employed ceo to have all these extras? 😂 If the CEO is bringing in me more money year after year, why wouldn't I give him these perks? I'm paraphrasing here, but there's this line about two armies, one of lions led by a sheep, and another of sheep led by a lion. I know which I'd rather have. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 21, 2015 Share July 21, 2015 (edited) have ordered this book ... no need ladder ... there is a lift straight to you ... You might have wasted your money: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3166030/Debauched-banker-makes-Wolf-Wall-St-look-like-pussycat-tales-excess-Wayne-Rooney-threatening-sue-him.html That book looks like it may contain more fiction than American Psycho. Edited July 21, 2015 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear July 21, 2015 Share July 21, 2015 How to not fall when you've worked so hard and climbed so high for 2-3 decades? Easy. Don't climb. Just be happy with a 2K job for life. Then, even retrenched, go find another 2K job = no loss of face. Haha... Don't just rely on employer for salary ba. It's best to have a sideline income, either from teaching others about your hobby, or buying and selling stuff (there's so many ways to sell now that it's laughable if someone claims not to know HOW to go about selling stuff). That way, once your salary is 50% of your take home income, and your spending is based solely on your salary, even if you lose your job, still can be like MCF table wiper, go wipe table and still be relative financially secure. Yes. Agree with you. Nowadays, market is very volatile. Just look at Nokia. Where are they today? If anybody expects to do the same thing over and over again and continue, better think again. Converting one's interest / hobby into some small business is a good idea. But most people are lazy, so all think, think, think and never put to action. Keep your expenditure low, invest wisely and have an attitude to always learn new thing should go a long way. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged July 21, 2015 Share July 21, 2015 semicon and ecm industry is like that. downfall every few years. wah ... qualcomm massive layoffs... all the semi con and chip sector sibei jialat... heard banking side also not doing well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A_korusawa 5th Gear July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 DREAMs . . . this is only applicable to those whom have zero dependencies! when there's hope, there's dissappointment when there's dream, there's also nightmare if its an opportunity, it can be a risk too I have a fren whom came to me for lunch money, then showed me his rolexes the following weeks . . . as he ages, he still ask for help, but showed me his porche the following weeks . . . but when he's married with children, he becomes employed and showed me only his cpf...... grunting 'jialat, jialat . . . the morale here is . . . if you hit 40s with no dependencies, you are free to dream, side-lined, work yourself to the max, or enjoy yourself to the fullest . . . but if there is/are dependencies, then your so-called 'dream' gotta face realities, i.e. meet with their expectations, NOT yours! coz every single cents you owned, or would-be earning, and worst . . . expensed; part of them belongs to your dependencies!!! i. whether you tah bao nasi lemaks for your family while having a good times paying your frens in the clubs/pubs . . . ii. or finish the last strands of white porridge while leaving behind the main dishes of meats & fishes etc. to your loved ones which category i or ii do you belong too? then you will know should you continue to dream or wake up to earn that dream! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...