2001 BMW E46 M3 GTR for me anytime.

Best driving machine [;)]

er... M3 GTR u can find meh? Only 10 Worldwide le

27374692_xmtmT-L.jpg

er... M3 GTR u can find meh? Only 10 Worldwide le

And judging from your pic, one of them consperm is in the Middle East. [laugh]

I've driven the new BMW 740, very nice to accelerate and comfortable. But to say fun, not very fun. Too much mechanics and electronics. Handling a bit loose?

I always thought the XC90 is a fun car to drive, excellent handling and quite a bit of power despite the weight. Then, the Impreza Really Slow model, makes driving a bit more fun with the challenges in overtaking and kupping corners.

I agree with one of the bros that the MX5 will be a hoot to drive, though I am also wishing to test my mettle with the Fairlady and Silvia. My childhood dreams. [laugh]

So sad nobody mentioned them.

What's definition of fun to drive? I have quite a number of people telling me before that the past generation Alfas are most fun to drive. Some also say BMWs offer driving pleasure. Is that equivalent to fun too?

what's your definition of fun to drive? I'm just going to make some assumptions that you are looking for something not in the bread and butter category, "affordable" and not in the supercar range.

I would also narrow it down to a 2-seater roadster because this is a range of cars for driving pleasure/lifestyle.

S2000 is very fun to drive and you get space, practicality and quality that the MX5 or MR-S doesn't give you.

If you have more cash and have a flexible body, then the Elise/Exige is a good choice.

Other options include Z4, SLK and TT.

If you want something more exotic and have a lot of money to burn, then Caterham 7 (street legal) or Ariel Atom (for track only).

Out of all listed here, I feel the Elise has the best handling and it also has the supercar feel/look to it. The only problem is that its not the easiest to get in and out of. It may be ok for the first month, or half a year, but it can get tiresome if it's your daily driver.

what's your definition of fun to drive? I'm just going to make some assumptions that you are looking for something not in the bread and butter category, "affordable" and not in the supercar range.

I would also narrow it down to a 2-seater roadster because this is a range of cars for driving pleasure/lifestyle.

S2000 is very fun to drive and you get space, practicality and quality that the MX5 or MR-S doesn't give you.

If you have more cash and have a flexible body, then the Elise/Exige is a good choice.

Other options include Z4, SLK and TT.

If you want something more exotic and have a lot of money to burn, then Caterham 7 (street legal) or Ariel Atom (for track only).

Out of all listed here, I feel the Elise has the best handling and it also has the supercar feel/look to it. The only problem is that its not the easiest to get in and out of. It may be ok for the first month, or half a year, but it can get tiresome if it's your daily driver.

Or the XC90 for the untuned Noble engine feel! [laugh]

Its one of the few times I've heard anyone describe a slushbox-equipped car as "fun".

boxster w/ pdk is quite fun wat

I believe PDK is a dual clutch transmission, whereas I meant torque-converter gearboxes when I said slushbox.

tbh some of the BMW slushbox cars are pretty good. Esp. the new slushboxes

To be fair, I haven't driven those newer BMW slushboxes, but the old-style boxes cannot compare to DSG/PDK. Although I know that torque converters could be "packed" to give a snappier response at the expense of refinement. But those are aftermarket.

As far as I'm concerned, though, fun involves car with a decent power to weight ratio, FR (if FF, it must be tailhappy), and a manual gearbox for control over your gears. It is also very satisfying to heel and toe a downshift.

Picking a car from the current available crop:

Lotus Elise/Exige

MX-5

Megane RS (no one mentioned this one yet)

Edited by Macrosszero

Dun waste time lah.

B&B car u tell ppl fun to drive ?

Ur first car is it ?

haha. nice try. not my first car...

if u have not driven, then how you know leh? dun tell me, based on hearsay ah...

to be honest, I have driven many 1.5/1.6 bread-&-butter cars like altis, sunny, slyphy etc and I'd still think mz3 still the most fun to drive in its segment.

it just has that x-factor which has to be experienced when having driven it.

TS din mention powerful car as the needs, right? [laugh]

Oh please. A car that is so underpowered its acceleration feels lethargic is fun? Yes. A car doesnt have to be powerful to be fun but the weight to power ratio has to be decent for it to have agility. I have driven a Mazda 3, but have you driven any other car other than a Mazda 3?

U wanna talk about cheap car with good handling and holding ability that is cheap? The Swift Sport trumps the Mazda easily yet no one mentions it in this thread because at the end of the day, its still far from most fun.

of course, I have driven cars such as altis, slyphy, sunny, getz, a4 etc but when I go back to driving such cars after driving the mz3, I just find something missing in the drive although power is not one of them. Even the more premium a4 doesn't give the feel.

perhaps, it is the drive/steering feel and handling feel which is probably one of the best in its price segment. Something hard to describe in words [laugh]

it's also the sturdiness when taking corners confidently or the beautiful interior/exterior which adds to the occasion of the drive.

I'd think swift sports is a worthy contender but unfortunately, it falls short in practicality, esp the crampy feel and lack of boot space.

I have taken swift sports before and it's definitely cramped even for 1.7m tall guy, not to mention low headroom and small boot space.

No doubt, it wins in power but for handling wise, I'd say it's up to people to comment.

Not_sure_if_serious.jpg

+1

Sounds like a Mazda salesperson, or someone with very VERY weird tastes or definition of fun. Or just someone who hasn't actually driven anything else other than a Mazda 3 before and just posting for the sake of it. With such an argument, you could even take out the engine from the Mazda 3 and he'd still find it fun. Heck, maybe just sitting in a Mazda 3 is fun for him. [rolleyes]

Edited by Requiemdk

I heard cayman are very fun to drive. I may be looking for one in future.

But practical & nice to drive, why not get the new 3 series? I think even the 328 are quite good.